We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience in many ways !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great experience in many ways !”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

There could not be a better place to stay for lovers of beach culture , great restaurants and beautiful views of the ocean and distant hills of La Jolla . The staff had a genuine interest in "our days " and quickly established relationships with us . The 3 mile boardwalk was excellent running , walking and people watching . The rooms are amazing in decor and views , if overlooking the pool . The pool was open long hours and like the rest of the facility , has a casual , but well managed style . We were there for 7 days , and wished for 7 more .....2 of the best dining experiences are about a 20 minute walk away from the beach , through nice neighborhoods ( seafood and Italian )

Room Tip: 3rd floor oceanfront overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    343
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
771
742
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had gotten a last minute deal for a "non-view" room, but when we checked in, the room we were given DID have an ocean view if you were on your balcony or looking out the window (but not from the bed). However, we found that room to be too noisy due to the air conditioner machinery outside the back of that area, so we switched rooms to a "partial view" room (for a $30/night upgrade charge) on the other side of the hotel, which was nice and quiet. In the partial view room, you could see the ocean from anywhere in the room (except the bathroom).

I think that all of the rooms have some sort of view or something good about them (and if there is something you don't like, they seem happy to switch you into something that you like).

I really liked the decor. The windows had wooden shutters, and there were floral bedspreads and an overhead ceiling fan that gave the room a tropical feel to it. It was relaxing, and having a balcony was lovely, with the ocean waves rolling in and the surfers in view. There is a patio set, so you could eat out on the balcony.

The breakfast restaurant is on the main floor in the centre, and through it, you can get to the outdoor seating area and the pool (although there are also other entrances to the outside area -- you don't have to go through the restaurant in your beach wear). The restaurant does not serve lunch or dinner, but they do have some free drinks during the day for you to help yourself to (such as iced tea, lemonade, and chilled water), and in the afternoon between 5 and 6pm, they have free cookies both there and by the front reception desk. The front desk also provides free newspapers and loaner umbrellas if the weather looks inclement. Also, when we had leftovers from eating out, the restaurant staff reheated our food in their microwave, which was very nice of them.

I read a tip on trip advisor about parking which I found helpful and so am stating it again. Even though you could pay the hotel $22 a day for parking, it is really unnecessary, since there is a lot of free street parking very nearby. The street parking is well signed about which days and what times you cannot park there (eg. "No parking between 3am and 6am Thursdays for street cleaning"), and if the curb side is painted red, do not park there, but we never had to walk more than a block or two to get from our car to the hotel.

Our room had a mini-fridge and mini snack bar, both inside the bathroom (unusual, but probably makes the bedroom a little quieter). The bathroom was spacious and had a close-up mirror.

The one thing I didn't like was that the room designers didn't think about people stubbing their toes on the large bed frames or on the things stored under the counters in the bathroom. Use caution. We did find a cute little bed step ladder. (Unexpected.)

The gift shop on the main floor has long hours and some nice stuff for sale. Also, I can't finish the review without mentioning the excellent front desk staff, such as Angela Hansen (friendly and helpful) and McGarrity (professional and very helpful when we were switching rooms - she took us around herself to make sure we liked the new room, and offered us a choice). I do think that the management should consider hiring someone for the small jobs that crop up at a hotel, like the door to the ice room that won't stay shut, and other little things other reviewers mentioned in recent reviews, but nothing spoiled our enjoyment of our stay.

Oh, and by the way, the mattresses are very comfortable, the bedding is soft and pillows are plentiful. Get the turndown service for the yummy chocolates.

Room Tip: Room 227 had the hum of the A/C equipment in the background (nice ocean view from balcony). Room 125...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband & I stayed here recently for a week on our honeymoon. We loved everything about it! The ocen view from the room and the pool can't be beat! The rooms are always clean and the beds are comfortable. A kitchenette is available along with a coffee pot (with items refilled daily) and a toaster. The entire staff is friendly and helpful and willing to do anything to make your stay a pleasant one. In the restaurant - Marty even made a waffle for me - Thanks! One of the "perks" for us was being able to stay in a smaller more private hotel as opposed to the larger, "tourist filled" ones. We enjoyed the more "private" feel of getting to know some of the staff and meeting with the "locals" along the boardwork and neiboring shops and restaurants. We would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a "full ocean view" and try for the 3rd floor - to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our anniversary trip to San Diego and Vegas. The hotel is getting a bit dated in terms of decor, but the staff and management are obviously trying very hard to do the best they can with what they've got. There is a bit of a 'motel' feel to the place, but the rooms are a good size, the location is excellent, and the staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

With it being the last couple of nights of our trip, and our actual anniversary, I'd exchanged a few emails with Angela to arrange some bubbles for us that evening and the nearby JRDN restaurant to be booked. Both were arranged, although it did need a little double checking as Angela wasn't working while we were there, and it didn't seem apparent that anybody else knew about it. That said, on check in we were upgraded for both nights - it did involve us needing to move rooms, but this was sorted out by the hotel staff, and was handled seamlessly, so top marks for that! :)

Both rooms we stayed in were well appointed, a good size and comfortable, however the decor is a little dark for the beach location. Some brighter colours would help the place feel a bit lighter. The rooms did have ipod docks and pretty large flat screen TVs, and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Having a computer on each floor is a nice touch, and a printer was extremely useful for printing off vouchers for nearby attractions/airline tickets etc.

Some of the rooms could have been noisy being by the road, but we certainly didn't have any problems on that front. It was particuarly nice having a balcony on the first night to have a bottle of wine, and eat a huge pizza from nearby 'Amore' overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the ocean if you can... They charge a premium typiclally though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Pacific Terrace during Spring break with our two children. The hotel has a relaxed beachy feeling and is much nicer than the outside would indicate. We loved the decor and the view from our balcony was lovely. My favorite thing was sitting each evening on the balcony with a glass of wine, listening to the ocean, feeling the breeze and seeing the outline of the palm trees and tiki torches against the sky. Our room was on the second floor just above the pool area. Even though there were a lot of families at the hotel, the pool was never crowded or noisy. The beach is beautiful here. We had just driven down from Santa Monica where the beaches were crowded and dirty. We really enjoyed walking on the promenade each morning and evening and the hotel supplied us with bikes too. The hotel breakfast was good and the kids loved the cookies each evening. The only downside to our visit was the house keeping service. Our room was skipped 3 out of the 4 days we were there- even after we let the front desk know- it still didn't get done. We would have to call down in the evening after being out all day to get fresh towels and coffee. One time while we were out to dinner someone put some clean towels on our vanity but left all the dirty towels on the floor and the dirty water glasses on the table. The front desk seemed unconcerned. In addition, one evening when my son got out of bed to use the bathroom a piece of the door frame fell off the wall and almost hit him in the head. Needless to say it startled all of us awake. We told the front desk the next morning and asked them to fix this and check to see if the rest of the door frame was secure- upon our return to the hotel that evening it was still laying on the floor and not fixed until the following day after repeated requests. The hotel is convenient to the beach and to Seaworld and I am glad we tried a stay at Pacific Beach. However, having traveled to San Diego several times, I feel there are other places I might consider for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromthebluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel used to be one of my favorites in San Diego, because of its beach front location & close proximity to the airport, zoo, Coronado, etc. All the amenities that made it "special" are gone, i.e., continental breakfast, wine & cheese reception, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, etc. Breakfast now cost $14. Parking is an additional $22/day. Stayed in an ocean front room for (4) nights in May. The room was dusty & the carpet was dirty. The maid service was very inconsistent. Had to make daily request for more toiletries & linens. The shower leaked water. The room definitely showed signs of needing some remodeling. It gets expensive for meals unless you request a microwave or book a junior suite. The charge-back restaurants that deliver add-on 18%. I agree with other reviewers that the front desk & bellmen were friendly. You can get that at an Embassy Suites Hotel for $100/night less!

Room Tip: Request a microwave or book a junior suite so you can eat in some meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here recently for our anniversary and it was lovely! The location is fabulous, right on the beach and within walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. They have a well made and reasonably priced breakfast buffet, great pool and hot tub, and beautiful ocean views. Although the hotel itself is a bit older it's very well kept and, to my surprise, the jungle theme decor was actually quite charming. My husband and I booked a couples massage and both were excellent. The massages are done in the fitness room by the garage which does not allow for great soundproofing. However, for a small additional fee they will do them in your room. Overall this is a great hotel that lives up to it's great reputation. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks Stephanie M. for the great review and thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. It's great to hear we lived up to our reputation and we hope to see you for many more anniversaries to come.
All the best from the Pacific Terrace Team!
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,162 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
920 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing