We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our anniversary trip to San Diego and Vegas. The hotel is getting a bit dated in terms of decor, but the staff and management are obviously trying very hard to do the best they can with what they've got. There is a bit of a 'motel' feel to the place, but the rooms are a good size, the location is excellent, and the staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

With it being the last couple of nights of our trip, and our actual anniversary, I'd exchanged a few emails with Angela to arrange some bubbles for us that evening and the nearby JRDN restaurant to be booked. Both were arranged, although it did need a little double checking as Angela wasn't working while we were there, and it didn't seem apparent that anybody else knew about it. That said, on check in we were upgraded for both nights - it did involve us needing to move rooms, but this was sorted out by the hotel staff, and was handled seamlessly, so top marks for that! :)

Both rooms we stayed in were well appointed, a good size and comfortable, however the decor is a little dark for the beach location. Some brighter colours would help the place feel a bit lighter. The rooms did have ipod docks and pretty large flat screen TVs, and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Having a computer on each floor is a nice touch, and a printer was extremely useful for printing off vouchers for nearby attractions/airline tickets etc.

Some of the rooms could have been noisy being by the road, but we certainly didn't have any problems on that front. It was particuarly nice having a balcony on the first night to have a bottle of wine, and eat a huge pizza from nearby 'Amore' overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the ocean if you can... They charge a premium typiclally though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    317
    75
    40
    29
See reviews for
684
681
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Pacific Terrace during Spring break with our two children. The hotel has a relaxed beachy feeling and is much nicer than the outside would indicate. We loved the decor and the view from our balcony was lovely. My favorite thing was sitting each evening on the balcony with a glass of wine, listening to the ocean, feeling the breeze and seeing the outline of the palm trees and tiki torches against the sky. Our room was on the second floor just above the pool area. Even though there were a lot of families at the hotel, the pool was never crowded or noisy. The beach is beautiful here. We had just driven down from Santa Monica where the beaches were crowded and dirty. We really enjoyed walking on the promenade each morning and evening and the hotel supplied us with bikes too. The hotel breakfast was good and the kids loved the cookies each evening. The only downside to our visit was the house keeping service. Our room was skipped 3 out of the 4 days we were there- even after we let the front desk know- it still didn't get done. We would have to call down in the evening after being out all day to get fresh towels and coffee. One time while we were out to dinner someone put some clean towels on our vanity but left all the dirty towels on the floor and the dirty water glasses on the table. The front desk seemed unconcerned. In addition, one evening when my son got out of bed to use the bathroom a piece of the door frame fell off the wall and almost hit him in the head. Needless to say it startled all of us awake. We told the front desk the next morning and asked them to fix this and check to see if the rest of the door frame was secure- upon our return to the hotel that evening it was still laying on the floor and not fixed until the following day after repeated requests. The hotel is convenient to the beach and to Seaworld and I am glad we tried a stay at Pacific Beach. However, having traveled to San Diego several times, I feel there are other places I might consider for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromthebluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel used to be one of my favorites in San Diego, because of its beach front location & close proximity to the airport, zoo, Coronado, etc. All the amenities that made it "special" are gone, i.e., continental breakfast, wine & cheese reception, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, etc. Breakfast now cost $14. Parking is an additional $22/day. Stayed in an ocean front room for (4) nights in May. The room was dusty & the carpet was dirty. The maid service was very inconsistent. Had to make daily request for more toiletries & linens. The shower leaked water. The room definitely showed signs of needing some remodeling. It gets expensive for meals unless you request a microwave or book a junior suite. The charge-back restaurants that deliver add-on 18%. I agree with other reviewers that the front desk & bellmen were friendly. You can get that at an Embassy Suites Hotel for $100/night less!

Room Tip: Request a microwave or book a junior suite so you can eat in some meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here recently for our anniversary and it was lovely! The location is fabulous, right on the beach and within walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. They have a well made and reasonably priced breakfast buffet, great pool and hot tub, and beautiful ocean views. Although the hotel itself is a bit older it's very well kept and, to my surprise, the jungle theme decor was actually quite charming. My husband and I booked a couples massage and both were excellent. The massages are done in the fitness room by the garage which does not allow for great soundproofing. However, for a small additional fee they will do them in your room. Overall this is a great hotel that lives up to it's great reputation. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks Stephanie M. for the great review and thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. It's great to hear we lived up to our reputation and we hope to see you for many more anniversaries to come.
All the best from the Pacific Terrace Team!
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. We stayed a total of 5 nights in 2 weeks.
We came in April and was offered a full ocean view room overlooking pool. Loved the view and it was nice, we did hear a baby cry in room next to ours until 12am but I guess they felt since we had little ones we wouldn't mind the noise. A little insight "my kids sleep and not cry through out the night since they've been born." So that did bother me a little bit!
Second stay came with all 5 if my kids ranging from teenage to infant. My children are all well exposed to hotel stays and are very respectable to others and their quiet feet we teach. Anyway the second stay was disappointed at first they charged me more for my stay then last time and our room was in a hard location to lug stroller, carrier and the luggage for all the kids. The ice maker was out and we had to travel to the complete opposite of hotel for ice.
After being in our room and settling in all our clothes, luggage and food we discovered the carpeting was soaking wet by the bathroom, I also went to lay baby down for nap and the large decor pillow on bed was full if oils and black stains "gross". The comforter was also torn and I could see my 20 month old putting his finger and digging the stuffing out. So after that I felt I should call front desk Rachel answered apologized and sent up complimentary bottle of wine? That's ok but the room was in clear need of repair. Service showed up to look at water told us they be back with blower to dry floor, he never returned. Room service showed to replace pillow and comforter and she apologized, I just explained to her maybe it was rushed! But we had been waiting since 1245pm and it was ready at 245pm so not sure if the people who stayed their before us was just too ruff on the room.
Call back down to the desk while the older ones where at beach and talked to a Joe. He was AWESOME! He switched us rooms to a larger room not exactly where I wanted to be but it was nice! He also had Dan help with are luggage and transfer he was Great,too!! We finished out our Thurs to Sunday stay and we had a wonderful time!! Thank you Joe (supervisor) Angela M. And Dan Thomas. You all made our stay feel "top notch" and we appreciate what you did!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandRSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are very sorry your stay got off on a rocky start but so happy that our team was quickly able to turn it around. We have addressed all of the housekeeping items you mentioned and thank you again for letting us know. Joe, Dan, Angela M. and the entire team are looking forward to having you back for another great Pacific Terrace experience in the future.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff at this hotel are fantastic, everyone we had dealings with were lovely. The room was very nice, however we booked a full ocean view room and we were on the side of the hotel, when i questioned the room I was told they considered this a full ocean view. However the view was still nice and i was assured it was a quite part of the hotel, which it was for the 1st night. 2nd night a group of blokes booked the 2 room next to us and the noise was not great, also they smoked on their balconies and partied out there too. They werent as bad as they could have been but had to be told to quieten down repeatedly as the slammed in and out of each others rooms. Also pipe noise from bathroom upstairs was v v loud too.

This said the staff were very considerate and did offer us another room on the other side of the hotel which was also considered a full ocean view which had a full view of the hotel next doors car park so we stayed put and the staff made sure we were disturbed as little as possible.

The hotel is in an area that i would liken to Bondi , not our bag and thats one of the reasons we wouldnt recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get the 3rd floor ( top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyS_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings to Sydney! Thank you for staying with us while visiting San Diego. I am so sorry to hear about the noise you encountered with other guests. I am happy to hear the staff was responsive with offering an alternate and only wish we had had more options to move you to. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and made it home safely.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want a beautiful property, privacy, great staff, and right on the beach. The pool/hot tub area is surrounded by glass for your privacy, the grounds are meticulously maintained, the staff is friendly & helpful. Great restaurants at reasonable prices all within walking distance. We'll be back to this property for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms give you the best view of both the ocean & pool area. However, even the partia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blebish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Greetings to you in Las Vegas! We are sure getting your type of weather here today- hot. Thank you for the great review of the location, staff and grounds. You are only a few hours away so we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#1 of 281 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing