We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful beachfront experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful beachfront experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The best hotel in Pacific Beach. Just spent a long birthday weekend - April 2013 - and had the best time. This hotel has a great location, walking distance to anything you would need. Right on the beach boardwalk... We stayed in room 315 and had fabulous views of the ocean as well as the pool area - it's beautiful at night with lighting and fire torches, and fire tables! The way the hotel is set back, there is virtually no noise. The staff was so accommodating. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because there are so many places in PB to eat that are a nice walk, but we heard it was very good. The room was super clean and very elegantly decorated. I loved it!
Great breakfast place is the Fig Tree Cafe... less than a mile away. World Famous is another. Only a short walk south on the boardwalk. Fun place to explore. Great Thai restaurant... Village Thai is a short walk from the hotel.
The hotel isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for and it is a great value for right on the beach! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coyoteblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    317
    75
    40
    29
See reviews for
684
682
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stopped for two days in Pacific Beach - walked in and were immediately enamoured with this 4* hotel which is relaxed and friendly. Rooms were lovely, spacious and very comfortable, we had a balcony with ocean view. At night we were able to keep the balcony door open and close the full length shutters, such a treat. Staff were fabulous, every one friendly and happy! The hotel is right on the beach and also has a pool and hot tub for those too chicken to brave the waves. We rented bikes and rode the sea wall , stoping for fish tacos en route (unfortunately we forget the name of the taco restaurant!). Hotel room has a (quiet) fridge and microwave, and large flat screen tv - who needs tv when you can sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and enjoy the beautiful moonlit ocean?

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room, it is only 3 storeys so you can hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jj-plateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We travel a lot and were very very happy with this hotel. Great views of the ocean. Easy walking distance to good restaurants. Staff were very friendly. They provided easy to follow directions to all our destinations. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenInedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Pacific Terrace was great. The rooms were beautiful, great views, very comfortable, clean and quiet (which in PB is saying a lot). The staff was amazing, very friendly, accommodating, offering services to our group without us asking. Walking along the shore walk it is clear that this is the most beautiful hotel in PB and right on the beach. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmosnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just got home after a week's stay at the Pacific Terrace Hotel. I selected this hotel based on all of the high ratings on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint! It is not a large hotel and has sort of a low profile along the coast line but it is a total GEM!

We stayed on the first floor in a family suite which was perfect for our family of four. The first night was somewhat rough as the people above us were partying till 4:30 am, dragging patio furniture around on their balcony and generally keeping us awake. I went to the front desk the next morning to inquire about potentially switching rooms and Diego (Night auditor?) was incredible and immediately offered up another suite of the other side of the hotel (room 120). It was identical to our first room except the ocean view and pool access were much better. We were thrilled. We packed up our bags, left for the zoo and when we came back everything was moved for us, including our food in the cabinets/fridge and hanging items in the closet.

There is plenty of space to store your clothing and items in the suite, we were very pleased with this. The vanity area in the bathroom is huge and there is a lot of room to spread your things out. Another small thing that's just a big plus in my mind. The shower doors swing out so yes, they do drip onto the floor when you step out, but it's not a big deal in my mind. They had a little clothes line in the shower as well for hanging wet suits, which again is a small detail but big convenience. It's things like this that make the PTH an excellent place to stay.

The beds were super comfortable! We all slept well; nice linens and very nice mattresses. The furniture scale is HUGE compared to the size of the rooms so that took a bit of getting used to. Maid services (including turn down service) were top notch, we used a lot of towels between the pool (heated to 82 degrees!), hot tub (102) and showering and it was always nice to come back to fresh towels in the room. The kids got a kick out of the animal towels and them tucking their stuffed animals into the bed or posing them in different places around the room.

We spend a lot of time at the pool despite the cool weather. The kids liked the lemonade in the Carribbean room as well as the 5 pm cookies. Drinks were 2 for 1 during happy hour but we had our own beers which we brought to the pool and no one objected. They have free beach toys available for the kids to play with, but no pool toys (balls/noodles, etc) so we went out and bought a few things.


The kids ate at the buffet twice ($8) but we elected not to. It looked really nice, and some good healthy food options were offered. Free Starbucks coffee in the lobby starting at 6 am, free apples and USA today every am in the lobby as well. Ralph's (on Mission Ave) is a great market to get cold cuts and other meal supplies. The family suites have a toaster, microwave, small fridge (don't get a gallon of milk like we did, it won't fit!), and a few plates/bowls/glasses. A cutting board would have been great as well as a few paper plates/napkins, but overall it was a well stocked mini-kitchen

Pacific Beach is a fun and eclectic neighborhood. Lots of runners, surfers, skateboarders, dog walkers, etc. There were more than a few homeless people around the area but it did not change the way we felt about staying in PB or at the PTH.

I recommend renting wetsuits and boogie boards at the place down the street (South Coast?) for a half day; we did so and had a blast. The water is cold but the wetsuit truly keeps you warm and it was a wonderful "California" experience! Also, we got bikes from the hotel and rode down to Mission Beach which was very fun. I was disappointed to learn that they charge $10 per bike for 2 hours. I had read other reviews on Tripadvisor that it was free to take them out (they certainly have plenty of them).

Parking is $22/day and though it's expensive, we paid it for the convenience and security factors.

Every single employee was friendly and accomodating. I highly recommend the Pacific Terrace Hotel to any family traveling to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the most beautiful place to stay in the area - we stayed in March in 2012 for our honeymoon as well as March 2013 for our first anniversary. No need for a car here. Several choices for shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Many different rooms but the ocean view or partial is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01sunnytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay! A friend and I just got back from staying here for two weeks. It was my first trip to California and it is one I will never forget. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean. I so enjoyed sitting out there every morning and evening. We were on the run a lot and after the first night this place was like our home away from home. The staff are all wonderful. I wish I could remember everyone's name but the one that stood out was Marty! I looked forward to going down to breakfast and seeing him there to greet us. He made us feel so welcome and I was sad to say goodbye. If I am lucky enough to get to California again this will be where I will stay. Thank you for everything and it was great to get to know you Marty!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsluka9091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#1 of 281 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing