We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea view paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here in January for a couple of nights before ending our Californian holiday & heading back to London. It's a perfect location & the rooms are spacious & comfortable with fantastic views. Fabulous for sunsets from your balcony & watching the early morning surfers get started. We've stayed here before & that time I remember watching the pelicans flying by in the evenings as they make their way to their roosts.

The people that work in the hotel are consistently lovely. My advice - book it - you will have a great time. Perfect for relaxing, coastal walks, peace & quiet but also close to walk to restaurants & shops if you want.

Room Tip: Go for a full sea view balcony room - pay the extra - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great place if you are staying in San Diego.. we weren't planning on staying here. It was a last minute decision that I do not regret! Couldn't of worked out better for us. Our original hotel somehow double booked and we found out we didn't have a reservation that was actually confirmed! Pacific Terrace was a great location and perfect with or without kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here just one night in January, split the middle up on a 8 night Palm Springs stay to see the beach and get away from the desert, we're glad we did!!

We booked an Oceanfront room, called ahead and got a discount because it was a Wednesday night stay, the sales person was very nice and helpful. Give it a try if you are staying mid-week.

The hotel is airy and intimate, not too big or too small, open air in the hallways at the rear, nice even in the winter. The rooms are huge imo, two queen beds, sitting area, wet bar, large bathroom and nice large terrace overlooking the beach and the pier. I loved the pier, I thought it might be an eye sore but it was not at all, it was nice to have, snapped great pictures of surfers from the pier... Wonderful sunset pictures folks, just wonderful.

The hotel pool and hot tub area is a nice size, clean and a good place to people watch as they stroll by the hotel on the pathway. Take a bike ride with the complimentary bikes or just walk until your heart it content, literally for miles without leaving the beach!

Breakfast was acceptable, could be improved, mostly free buffet quality for less than $7/person. The only thing to improve upon...

Would stay here again if back in San Diego, great location for beach, restaurants and relaxing!

Room Tip: Ocean Front - 2nd or 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsl82899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a find! Directly on the beach, and a small and friendly hotel with a pool, hot tub, parking and great balconies. Apprehensive about booking to stay here - we were more than pleased at this hotel's level of service, comfort and location.

This part of San Diego is for beach and surf lovers...it is breezy, fresh and perfect for sunsets. Staff here were really friendly, and helpful. We upgraded to a superior suite with two balconies and an amazing beach view. Was worth it... jacuzzi tub, big living room with kitchenette and ample closets. What a view at sunset too...

Restaurant is just for breakfast, and kind of disappointing - so, just stock up with groceries and enjoy your room kitchenette. Pool was heated, and jacuzzi is small but right on the edge of the main pool. Valet parking available and secure. Open plan courtyard with rooms around the pool - go for the beach view rooms at the end..quiet and private.

Room Tip: larger suites w/ beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here sight unseen after bailing on a very disappointing hotel, and were a bit nervous. We shouldn't have been. Everything was wonderful. We were given a very fair rate to help defray the cost of switching hotels mid-trip, our room was spectacular (with a wonderful ocean view), and the service couldn't have been better. Jut blocks from great restaurants (check out La Perla!) and feet from the beach. The Pacific Terrace saved our vacation!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewskiletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the moment you check in to the moment you check out, the service and accommodations are first class. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable; the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. We stayed in the junior suite with a king bed and the room was spacious and well-apportioned. The kitchen area has a sink, refrigerator, microwave, small coffee maker, toaster, and basic utensils, plates, cups, glasses. In addition to the coffee maker and coffee provided in the room, there is complementary coffee (Starbucks) available in the lobby in the mornings. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is better than average and offers a wide variety of choices. There is a laundry room available for guests who need to wash/dry clothing while there. The fitness center is small, but has a treadmill, stationary bike, elliptical, nautilus, and free weights. The hotel restaurant provides breakfast only; however, you are within walking distance of many excellent dining choices and room service is provided by two local restaurants (we ordered from Bare Back Grill and the food arrived quickly and was excellent). I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The "partial" view in room 302 is almost entirely obstructed by a large palm tree. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfcitymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

In 2007, a visit to the West Coast proved glorious. Pacific Terrace hotel, found on trip advisor, was all it was reviewed to be. The rooms are cozy and clean, although getting slightly in need for a rework, the staff is warm and helpful (especially when I requested needing the down pillows and comforters removed from my room--- sniffle sneeze achoo) Additionally, the pool area is welcoming along with a hot tub that calls your name. It is surrounded by clear 'fencing' so you can enjoy the ocean day or evening as you soothe yourself in water. At night, fire torches are light to create a soft ambiance. The breakfast is OK, not great, not terrible. GABRIELLE treated my 2.5 year old son like royalty when he was craving cookies! Like a king I tell you! She was the kindest staff member I would say!
A very good rating comes because we made a special request on the rate due to this 2012 trip for a price adjustment as we were there due to the death of my brother-in-law. Five years prior this is where we all stayed, my brother-in-law, sister-in-law, husband, and I. We loved the stay then and when we had to unexpectedly and so sadly had to return for his funeral, we decided to stay at PTH for a couple days and have my sister-in-law come over with to reminisce. The manager at the time lacked all possible compassion, firstly, and secondly, did not really support a price reduction. That I felt was immature and lacked some basic human connection.

I wouldn't stay here again, only because I'm older- this hotel caters very much to a younger crowd I would say. Pacific Beach itself is full of college students. Being a mother opened my eyes to things I wouldn't seek again from this AREA not necessarily this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcrMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,013 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $199 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing