We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking hotel right on Pacific Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cracking hotel right on Pacific Beach”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October and wish we could have stayed here for another few. Lovely pool/jacuzzi overlooking the ocean on Pacific Beach. The rooms were nice and big with a very nice en-suite. Front desk staff and cleaning staff couldn't have been friendlier and we will stay here from now on when visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overmarsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,507
    343
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
777
745
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed in a full ocean view room with a beautiful view of the pacific ocean. Nice room with great looking furnishings. Only drawback if you leave the patio door open the air conditioning shuts down. The do go green at this hotel. Not impressed with the breakfast room, can be improved. If you eat outside their is a fly problem.If you drive or rent a car pay the 22.00 dollar parking a night, since their is very little parking available. It is underground and you can come and go as you please, it is also secured. You can walk to many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Pay for the full ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Terrace Hotel the first weekend in October (2012). We had stellar weather and the hotel was really wonderful. The location is perfect - right on the boardwalk, only about a 30 second walk to the beach. The pool and hotel grounds are well maintained. There are plenty of places to walk to while you are here and the main attractions are very close - Sea World was only about 10 mins away. We stayed in 2 different rooms (I booked last minute and that's all they had for us). I would definitely recommend the suites over the regular rooms - they are much larger and that made it more comfortable for us. The full ocean view was awesome, too. This is a small boutique hotel, so they don't have their own restaurant - but, my husband and I both agreed they did a great job with breakfast. Having breakfast at the hotel was very convenient. Lastly, the staff really made the biggest impression on us - they are all very friendly (and sincere about it!) and they do everything to help accommodate your needs. I will recommend this hotel to my friends and we will return to this hotel when we visit San Diego, again!

Room Tip: Room 217 was a great suite with a view. It's above the pool, but if you close your doors there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in a partial ocean view room. The room itself was very nice, spacious and well appointed. The bed was new and one of the sleep number beds which can be adjusted differently on each side - we did not bother. Nice seating area with sofa and chairs and a desk area. The in room wifi is included, but was a little weak. There was a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and dishes provided, which was nice to have for snacks and light breakfast items. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. Parking is in their garage and was not included - we paid since parking is very limited and hard to find near the beach.
Beach toys are also provided complementary; however, they were all out when we asked. One nice touch is to have public computers available on each floor near the elevators instead of at a central business center; however they were frequently down when we were there and we could not print our boarding passes.
The hotel is located on a bluff right above the beach and has wonderful ocean views. The pool is small but fine. Beach chairs and cabanas are also included, which is nice. The first night the pool area was out of towels and chair covers, with no linens being refreshed.
You could see a bit of the ocean and the pier from our little deck, but you also saw the parking lot next door and most of the ocean view was blocked by a tree directly in front of the deck. Sadly, the tree did not keep out the noise and activity of the neighborhood characters in the parking lot. The public restroom is next door and it tended to be the congregation area for homeless and drug users. I understand the hotel management is not responsible for this, but at about $600 a night (with a discount), that is not the scenery or noise I want.
And that’s the problem with the hotel – it’s a nice hotel, but it’s still in Pacific Beach - I kept thinking that for the same amount of money I could be staying at the Ritz in Princeville, Hawaii instead. And the little glitches become annoying at this price point, making it a not great value. I would love this hotel at about half of what they charge – but at this price, it’s just not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Kkhart,
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel and the Pacific Beach area. We rarely run out of anything but I will look further into the items you mentioned. Our internet disruption around the property and guest kiosk was resolved by the telephone company and I apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. We appreciate your honesty and your perspective and will put your feedback to good use.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Entirely impressive hotel. Stayed for four nights with a family of five. Staff are excellent - with attention to small detail. Rooms are very clean and well equipped. We stayed in a Junior Ocean View - which included two queens and a single, which was on the smaller side for a family of five, bit larger rooms are available. location is excellent - really close to the beach, with fabulous ocean views. Breakfast near the well maintained pool and spa was an extra charge, but was excellent - can even accommodate some specific requests. We hired beach equipment as well ($5 for a boogie board for a day). No dinner restaurant on premises, but many local restaurants nearby and many provide a fast delivery service. Pool very nice - some with shaded cabanas. Would recommend to others and would definitely stay again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a full ocean view room - the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent staff, excellent view, excellent everything! After breaking up our trip between multiple hotels, I was happily relieved we saved the best for last. This will be the only hotel we stay in when we come to San Diego from now on. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The view was everything we had hoped for with a full ocean view that lined perfectly for the sunsets during our stay. Also being right next to the ocean (with only a sidewalk separating the hotel from the beach) allowed us to enjoy the beautiful sounds of the ocean waves crashing on the beach as we slept at night. The balcony for our room was large enough for me and my family to comfortably enjoy the sunsets without feeling crowed at all. My only advice is this, make sure to pay the extra money for a full ocean view, it is definitely worth it. Also my husband and I didn't realize when we booked our room that the hotel's best rooms are only available by contacting the hotel directly. When we booked our room(through a third party site) we thought we were reserving one of the best rooms they had available, only to find out afterward that the hotel offers a series of suites as well. We definitely plan on upgrading to one of the suites for our next stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the full ocean view 3rd floor if possible. Contact the hotel directly if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_love_cali4nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello in Las Vegas!
We are so happy you included us in your recent trip to San Diego. We do get some incredible sunsets throughout the year and I am glad you and your family were able to catch some. With so few suites and Jr. Suites we don’t have enough availability to offer them to the many travel agents and travel websites. All of our available rooms will always be listed on our website and of course, we thoroughly enjoy talking with our guests on the telephone or via email. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparta, nj
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was so impressed with this hotel and, mostly, the incredible kindness and attentivenessof the staff there. From the moment we checked in, the staff could not have been more accommodating. And always with a smile.

Regarding syle and cleanliness - over the top! So clean with such a beautiful view. Located where you could walk to everything.

I really can't say enough of how much I (we) enjoyed staying here. The entire staff was so welcoming, it would be impossible not to have a wonderful, positive experiene.

Room Tip: I originally requested the top floor (for some reason I always do that), but in this case, the 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
945 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#23 of 278 in San Diego
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing