We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$279
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$262
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$359
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$255
$249
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$351
$329
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$1,128
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$1,128
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $359/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,175)
Filter reviews
2,175 results
Traveler rating
1,649
365
87
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,649
365
87
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull ocean viewocean frontboogie boardssand toysbeach chairssmall hoteljunior suitela jollapool areahear the wavesturn down serviceboard walkview roomhot tubfirst floorcrystal pierunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,269 - 1,274 of 2,175 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our family has been coming to this hotel for years. The location is excellent and the staff are incredibly friendly and accomodating! The accomodations are perfect and we are always pleased with our stay. We will definately continue to stay at this hotel for all of our trips to San Diego!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shanna0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first time the week of 8/20 for 4 nights and I just had to write a review because this hotel is the best, hands-down. We stayed in a beautiful junior suite overlooking the pool area. This place has the feel of a family-owned hotel, the service was impeccable. And the location was beautiful, overlooking the beach. Any time we called for anything, they catered to our every need! Joe who worked at the front desk was awesome ("true story")!! When we left the hotel and were on the highway, my cell phone was ringing and it was the hotel calling to tell us that my husband had left his wedding ring in the room, the cleaning lady had found it and so they called us immediately and we were able to go back and get it. The hotel is very close to Sea World and you can literally go back to the hotel, go for a swim and head back to the park later in the day - this proved to be a real benefit, especially with a young son! I will definitely be staying here in the future and will recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jon811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Jon811 and family,
I’m so happy you chose the Pacific Terrace Hotel for your San Diego vacation and we're all delighted you loved every aspect of it. I would especially like to thank you on behalf of the staff, as reviews like this motivate them even more.
We wish you all the best from San Diego and thank you for this terrific review.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was our fourth time back to Pacific Terrace and again everything was fantastic.

We had a junior suite with one King Bed and a Sofa Sleeper. We had five individuals so we also asked for the additional cot which was a single blow up mattress. In hind site we probably would have been better with an executive suite however we managed just fine with what we had.

Surprisingly the pull out and air bed were very comfortable.

We were very disappointed in the lack of a breakfast that was once a staple of the Pacific Terrace Hotel. The change over to a paid buffet was extremely disappointing. Furthermore, the 5pm wine hour I felt was another little perk which distinguished Pacific Terrace from the other hotels.

The service was amazing. We had a problem with our fan inside the bathroom and they fixed it within hours. Furthermore, we were by the pool and heard another guest ask if they had any limes. unfortunately the hotel had just run out. The guest service representative at the pool offered to go the pick some up during his break. Kudos to Dylan for offering that as a solution!

All the staff were extremely helpful and willing to make the stay as pleasant as possible.

All in all we will most definitely be returning and recommend this hotel to anyone considering this as an option, the view, the service, and the exceptional atmosphere couple to create one amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Full Ocean View is the way to go. Avoid the side of the hotel closest to Capri by the Sea as we found it extremely noisy on weekends if you had the door open to sleep to the sound of the Ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mat_Stiver-Balla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Terraces for 5 nights in August with our teenage kids, 16 and 13. The hotel was recommended by friends who were recommended by their travel agent. The location is great, being right on the beach and ocean. It is so nice to be able to just walk out the door and down some stairs to get to the beach. Our only disappointment with the location is that good quality casual dining seemed limited. There were a couple of restaurants we went too which were really good - highly recommend Bare Back Grill for burgers; Duck Dive was good and for cheesy, but fun dining, we went to Joes Crab Shack. The area seemed more of a party crowd at night - the restaurants became more like bars at night.
We had an ocean view room which was fabulous - we could sit on the porch and just watch the waves come in and the people pass by - there is a great view of the Crystal Pier.
The Staff were awesome! They met every need we had, from booking a town car or taxi, to providing us bikes for our trip to La Jolla, to recommending a restaurant, to hot water for tea after the restaurant was closed. Everyone was friendly and accomodating.
The breakfast is a nice convenience, but the food is average and doesn't change from day to day. After five days you got tired of the exact same things I guess. But it is nice to have it there and you can eat outside on the pool deck.
The rooms were nice - clean and comfortable, but nothing luxurious I wouldn't say. You definitely are paying for the service and the beach/ocean front location. We had issues with the shower doors ( I see someone else mentioned the same thing) - no matter how we tried to close them, there was always water leaking onto the floor and creating a large mess. The beds were comfortable and the room has a/c and a ceiling fan - we chose to open the door at night to hear the waves and sleep with the fan rather than a/c.
We took surf lessons while we were there, just down the beach from the hotel. We would highly recommend San Diego Surf School - our family of four did a private 1 1/2 hr lesson with 2 instructors who were awesome. We were then able to keep the wetsuits and surfboards for the day. Definitely the highlight of the trip!
We also rode bikes to La Jolla which was a great time - there is a lot of beautiful sights in La Jolla - beautiful beaches, homes, sea lions.
We enjoyed our time at the Pacific Terrace and would stay there again, although we think next time we would rent a house or condo if we could come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked the Pacific Terrace Hotel mainly from the positive reviews on Tripadvisor.com, and true to the word of most people that stayed there, it was excellent.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel, Joe and Dan assisted us with our bags, parking the hire car, and all information required for our room and amenities.
The room was large and had two king size looking beds, plus enough room for a travel cot/crib. There was also a 40" TV, plus a DVD player, safe, ironing facilities, coffee machine, fridge and fully loaded mini-bar.
The room led direct to the swimming pool and jacuzzi.......as well as amazing views of the beach.
Breakfast were "all you can eat" style, and there were plenty of choices for all the family.
The hotel had a "relaxed" style, with all staff willing to chat as well as being extremely helpful and friendly. Enrico, Angela(s), Dylan, Mcgarity plus all the other staff were always so happy to help.
We loved the atmosphere at the hotel, it was always relaxed and easy going. All the staff always wishing you a "good morning/afternoon/evening" whenever they saw you.
The hotel itself is in a great location....overlooking Pacific Beach. You can people watch all day if you want to. You are only 15 minutes drive away from the City, but there is still so much to do and see that is walking distance from the hotel. Defiantly hire a bike and cycle down the broad-walk to Mission Beach.
There is no dinner service at the hotel but they do have a "charge back" option with a few local restaurants. They can also help with ordering a take-away if needed.
The concierge desk were also very helpful, getting our tickets for tours of the island and the zoo, helping with directions, as well as making my birthday extra special :)
There is 24hr access to their gym, which is small, but loaded with all the main machines required. There is also a laundry room, a conference suit and a spa room as well.
One negative point about the room was that it wasn't that well lit, and the AC was a tad noisy.....but that is nothing when looking at the big picture.
Places eat at locally: Konos (go there for a big breakfast....but get there early), Naraya (great Thai food), Duck Dive (American grub with a fresh twist), JRDN (fine cuisine with great views), PB Ale House (get a table on the roof if possible), FireHouse (Try the wings!)

All-in-all San Diego was an amazing holiday for me and my young family, but it was made extra special thanks to all the great staff and the Pacific Terrace Hotel. Thank you guys. We will hopefully be back one day :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manmit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

What a wonderful review Manmit! Thank you and I am so glad to hear your experience lived up to your expectations from reading other reviews. You really took advantage of all the amenities here and our staff enjoyed doing what they do best so thank you for recognizing them. Your comments of the restaurants are right on and I’m glad you tried a little of everything in the Pacific Beach area. We are already working on lighting in the rooms and I will have our maintenance team look at the AC noise. Thank you again for staying with us and for writing about your stay and sharing it with other travelers.
Warm Regards,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews