We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $361/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$262
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$209
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$205
$183
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites(La Jolla)
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$292
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$313
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$292
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,172)
Filter reviews
2,172 results
Traveler rating
1,646
364
88
44
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,646
364
88
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull ocean viewocean frontboogie boardssand toysbeach chairssmall hoteljunior suitela jollapool areahear the wavesturn down serviceboard walkview roomhot tubfirst floorcrystal pierunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
1,324 - 1,329 of 2,172 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Everything about this hotel is first rate. Each employee we encountered was friendly, professional and strived to please. The pool was comfortably warm and very clean with ample chairs and lounges. You can walk from the hotel to many very good restaurants and shopping. There is definately something for every age, from children to seniors. The fresh cookies in the evening were great and I must say, we had the best coffee of all at the hotel. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are very handy to the pool which would be great if you have children. The second and third floor rooms have wonderful views of the ocean and boardwalk.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just spent at week at the Pacific Terrace hotel. It was wonderful-, great service, staff is the friendliest and most accommodating. Right on the boardwalk and beach which was nice for walks to local restaurants. Beautiful view of beach and surfers from our balcony. Enjoyed riding bikes down the boardwalk and poking around the beach shops. Enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet and the evening cocktail hour. Delicious smoothies for the children. Getting to local sites was easy. Special thanks to McGarrity Harney and Andres. unfortunately weather was too cool to enjoy the beach although the pool was heated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SudburyJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Greetings to you in Massachusetts!
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your week with us. Our smoothies have definitely been a hit with our younger guests. Thanks for mentioning McGarrity and Andres, they are both customer service extraordinaires and will enjoy reading your post. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and really had a great time. We had a room on the third floor with a full ocean view. The room had a kitchenette and a table to eat at. There was also a balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The hotel has a nice layout which made it seem as if there was no one next to you. In the evenings it was nice to watch the sunset from the balcony. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They were very responsive and had lots of great advice for nearby eateries. The hotel was so close to the beach and was easy to walk to. They also have beach chairs and umbrellas that you can rent. They have an outdoor shower with warm water to rinse off after coming back from the beach. The hotel offers room service, but it’s not 24 hours and it’s from a nearby restaurant. They also have breakfast, but we didn’t try it. Location: The hotel seemed to be in a “young” part of town, but it wasn’t rowdy. My husband and I were traveling with our two kids and it felt safe. It isn’t close to downtown San Diego, but when you’re standing there looking at the ocean from your room it didn’t really matter. It was wonderful to open the patio door in the evening and just listen to the ocean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinCari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The breakfast is VERY good (we had the AAA rate which made it a really good deal). They loan out chairs and sand toys to take to the beach which is right out the back door. It's walking distance from many restauants and is close to the zoo. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Needmorefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked adjoining rooms on the non-ocean side of the hotel. While we only had a glimpse of the water, the rooms were plenty big and clean. The breakfast was better than most buffets. Getting to Sea World was an easy ten minute drive. Downtown was about 15 minutes (no traffic).

The staff was really great. We were cheerfully greeted every time we walked in or out of the hotel.

Only a walking path separates the pool from the cliff that the ocean is just beyond. Tall glass walls allow for a stunning view, but you still feel the breeze on a colder day.

There is bar service at the pool. Order a smoothie for the kids to make them feel special. For dinner, think ahead as there aren't that many great options close by.

All around great experience.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room on a higher floor that directly faces the ocean. You'll love the view, morning, midday, and night!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindfulday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews