We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Friendly staff, beautiful ocean views, clean rooms, close to restaurants. The list goes on and on. I definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvvalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    343
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
770
742
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in a second floor ocean view room which is definitely worth the extra money. The rooms have 2 double beds which are amazingly comfortable once you manage to clamber onto them - the heavy wooden frames around them are just at the right height for me to bang my shins every time I attempted to get on the bed.

The view of the ocean from the balcony is fabulous - we left the door open to fall asleep to the roar of the waves crashing against the beach. Our room was almost right in the centre of the hotel - which meant that we were over the top of the entrance to the pool - the balconies are great but they aren't very private or quiet - indeed when there are people in the pool, especially kids playing, it can be very noisy.

Service was reasonable - but not exceptional. When we booked we had a rate with a free glass of wine which didn't ever materialise - although to be honest we kept forgetting to mention it. There were a couple of other niggles which irritated - they ran out of the only decent beer they had in the bar - Sam Adams (they only did four different beers, one of which was a "lite") and 2 days later when we tried again for a beer they still hadn't got any (the bartender was a bit embarrassed and offered to pop down the shop!). The other niggle was that we asked about a late checkout - it was a quiet time so they agreed to an hour later than normal - 12noon, but if we wanted a 3pm checkout we would have to pay just under $100. We settled for 12noon.

Overall we really liked this hotel - its small and right beside the beach with a great view and we would probably go back if we ever return to San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Terrace in May 2011 and we are always comparing their service to other places we stay.
The front desk staff were awesome in helping us to get around (we had to get to Petco Park for a Padres game and they were spot in with their public transport suggestions), making restaurant suggestions and just being really friendly overall. We work in customer service, so we know how easy it is to just smile and be pleasant, but we are constantly surprised at how many businesses get it wrong. It is great to feel confident in the advice you are given in a city you don't know.
Room was spotless, loved the towel animals after each service.
While the location is a fair way out of San Diego proper, there are some great restaurants near by and a supermarket is within walking distance.

Room Tip: We splurged on an ocean view room......loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereissnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The location is fantastic with the ocean at your doorstep and long, beautiful walks a daily must. Restaurants are close, ranging from the inexpensive to the chic. And the hotel staff at the Pacific Terrace is just the best. They are accommodating, friendly, genuine and customer focused. I have already booked a return stay for next year. This is a wonderful, intimate property.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view, even if just a partial one. SPLURGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel overlooks Pacific Beach & Mission Beach (a surfer's paradise). The hotel rooms are beautifully furnished with Tommy Bahama furniture along with Tommy Bahama toiletries. The hotel sits right on the boardwalk and is only a short walk to great dining, shopping and entertainment. If you prefer downtown San Diego, it is a short 15 minute drive. The beds were very comfortable, the view is stunning. The staff went out of their way to assist you with any request. I could live here!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLunedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our USA honeymoon. We had a great time in San Diego and the hotel was in a great location. So close to the beach. The junior suite was beautiful & spacious. They do also provide a hot breakfast in their dining room for an extra charge. Only complaints were there is no proper room service and our suite was opposite an elevator which got a bit noisy in the morning. If I were to stay again I would specifically ask to not be placed near the elevator or dining room. Apart from that it was a great stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My first trip to southern California and this hotel had to be the best part! I want to specifically mention Enrico for his outstanding customer service and attentiveness, he made this stay that much more perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
917 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a sandy bluff overlooking the sparkling ocean, the Pacific Terrace Hotel provides Four Diamond, beachfront accommodations in the Pacific Beach area of San Diego. Kick off your shoes, settle into your balcony chair, sip a relaxing beverage, and look out over the amazing California coast.Treat yourself to a massage by the pool (charge),a bike ride down the boardwalk, or just get comfortable in our portable beach chairs, and sun umbrellas, out on the warm sand.Beach buckets and shovels, toys, boogie boards, and bikes are on hand and ready to entertain the kids (and grownups)! Located at the far north end of Pacific Beach's oceanfront boardwalk, our central San Diego hotel provides easy access to exceptional surfing, sailing, fishing and cycling. We're also just down the road from the city's world-renown attractions, including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo, La Jolla, Legoland, Torrey Pines State Beach, and just eight miles north of San Diego's International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing