We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location right on the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
232 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great location right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel is about as close to the beach as you can get without being directly on the sand. You have to like the active crowds and boardwalk scene to stay here since there is near constant activity surrounding the hotel. We had a family suite that accommodated 5 people pretty well. The buffet breakfast was good and very affordable. The hotel also supplies free drinks and snacks throughout the day. A washer and dryer are on site for laundry. Parking is self parking in a safe, gated garage for just $20 per day. All in all a good experience and would go back.

Room Tip: First floor rooms can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOWestonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    327
    79
    41
    30
See reviews for
723
715
39
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

this hotel is ok but way too expensive. you have to pay for parking. The room was huge but the bathroom tiny! paid over $400 for one night....there is not even a jacuzzi in the room....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aarcher888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

The photos online don't do this hotel justice. This is a very casual area of San Diego...not at all upscale. The location on the beach, however, is spectacular. Be sure to book a room with a full ocean view. Youbwon't be disappointed. We spent hours on our balcony just watching the waves and the surfers right out front.

As others have said, the staff here is phenomenal. They not only fulfill every need, they anticipate your needs before you realize you need it! Katherine and Angela at the concierge desk are amazing and incredibly professional.

Unfortunately, there is no restaurant on the premises. However, they offer a wonderful breakfast buffet (not free), and there are many reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance.

We wouldnstay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knitloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit with us and for your wonderful comments about our team and specifically the concierges. Angela M. and Katherine are so knowledgeable and never seem to run out of helpful tips and ideal suggestions no matter what the question is.
On your next visit if you decide to stay in one night we have our room service menu and it's actually available all day out at the pool for you as well. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Pacific Terrace is an excellent hotel, highly recommended. The rooms are immaculate, the staff amazingly friendly, and the beachfront location cannot be topped. Breakfast in the Carribean Lounge is well worth the cost and very covenient. Pacific Beach itself is a surfer area with many bars, clubs, and tattoo parlors, and a younger crowd that my family was not comfortable around at night. It was a bit difficult to find family oriented restaurants without driving so plan accordingly. The Firehouse and Tony Roma's were very good however. My 13 year old loved Fatburger, 2 blocks away. The beach is very nice and right in front of the hotel. Our oceanfront room view was just off the front corner of the building, we did have a lot of street view, a bit disappointing, but still a spectacular view. All the major SD attractions are only about 15 minutes away, and this was very convenient. The on site pool is very small and we did not use it. $20/night parking seems unnecessary with the room rates but it is very secure. Overall, highly recommended for families, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottgNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We read lots of great things about the Pacific Terrace before staying there for two nights the last week of June. The good news is that it lived up to its promise. The staff was more than friendly, the room was very comfortable and the location was ideal. A small reason behind our choosing this hotel was because they rented bikes on the property. We were briefly disappointed when we learned they were out of bikes when we checked at the front desk around noon. However, we were pleased when Rachel at the front desk directed us to a rental company just a couple blocks down the beach where we were able to rent for an even lower price than the hotel offered, thanks to a coupon she gave us. We didn't mind the walk to the rental location since we were already planning a long ride and a little warm-up walk wouldn't hurt. At the bike rental place, we were on our way in under 5 minutes. We also got a recommendation from Paul for a Mexican restaurant in Old Town, plus a coupon for a free appetizer. The food was great!

On the downside, just minor points. There were lipstick marks on one of the glasses in our room, but otherwise the room was impeccable. Don't expect much from the excercise room. We checked it out, but decided against it. Choose a long bike ride if you want to get in some exercise.

The pool was nice and but most lounge chairs were taken when we chose to visit around happy hour. However, we had a room on the first floor that was just steps from the pool and were happy when they brought our drink order to our patio where we were taking in the view. The pool water was bath water warm.

Overall, we'd definitely return. Next time we'll choose an ocean view room (there were none avaiable when we booked) and that will only improve the experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FightOnAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTHSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Pacific Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Bike rides down the boardwalk and visiting Old Town are both fun and popular things to do and I will be sure to thank Rachel and Paul for taking good care of you. We look forward to your next visit and yes, the ocean view room is the way to go if they are available.
Angela Hansen
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles,CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

tons of things to do for the family, beach is beautiful, pool is nice. recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraPasoRobles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We've been going to this hotel for at least 6 nears now and plan on staying there for future get-a-ways. Location is great! Right on the boardwalk, beautiful views of the ocean. Excellent pool. Staff is awesome, very clean and breakfast is good, wish they offered more pastries, though, as they did in the past. Hot cooked oatmeal would be really good, too, instead of instant oatmeal. Also, more rooms offered with kitchenettes would be awesome, as we love taking the grandkids there. The master suites are the only rooms with full kitchens and they are really nice rooms, but they are a little too pricey for our budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamanana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#16 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,893 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Terrace Hotel

Property: Pacific Terrace Hotel
Address: 610 Diamond Street, San Diego, CA 92109-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#6 Family Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Terrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront, 4-diamond hotel between Sea World and La Jolla, offering jacuzzi suites, honeymoon suites, and family suites. Luxury accommodations and award winning service. A Tripadvisor favorite! Heated oceanfront pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Terrace San Diego
Hotel Pacific Terrace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing