We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Keating House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keating House
Ranked #7 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My daughter and I spent just an overnight in San Diego and stayed at the Keating House. We were welcomed by Ben and Doug, who gave us some wonderful, detailed info about places to go, eat, etc. Our room was the Music Room on the first floor and was very comfortable and nicely decorated. (A great little touch was the towel heater in the bathroom). Our breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed chatting with them and the other guests. Some people complained about the planes flying overhead but we barely heard any. (perhaps because we were on the first floor??) We would have loved to have been able to stay another night or more and when next in San Diego, will definitely stay at the Keating House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashaVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Keating House several times and will return. This is a nicely restored 1888 Victorian mansion furnished with eclectic antiques and decorations, but is not overdone or "cute." Our favorite room is the music room--great bathroom with a big tub, and the bed is very comfortable. Hosts Ben and Doug are very friendly and helpful, and know everything about San Diego. The breakfast is always nice, especially the fresh fruit and homemade bread. There are always interesting guests at breakfast. We enjoy sitting on the porch or in the garden. The B&B is within easy walking distance of Balboa Park, Little Italy, the Gaslamp District, and many good restaurants. We go once or twice a year to attend the excellent theater at the Old Globe in Balboa Park, and particularly like the summer Shakespeare festival.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 933JudyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Keating House for a couple of nights at the end of August and we loved it!
The owners are lovely and made sure we had all the info to make the most of our time in town. It was a pleasure spending time with them and the other guests over breakfast in the morning.
We stayed in the blue room and, although small, it was nice and clean (very high bed but comfortable, maybe a tiny small and short as we are used to a king size at home, but overall excellent). We loved the victorian features in the house.
Yes, the planes are litterally over your head and it was both scary when outside and noisiy inside, but this cannot be changed anywhere in San Diego.
Breakfast was really good too: fresh fruit, homemade frittatas, everything very yummy.
The location is in a safe and quiet neighborhood: we walked everywhere downtown and to the marina/port. There is a great diner around the corner and a couple of other excellents restaurants close to the park.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Positives:
Great breakfast (fresh/stewed fruit, home baked bread, home made jams, cereals, tea (big selection!), coffee, and a cooked entrée (usually eggs/frittata of some sort). Great start to the day.

The most comfortable beds we've slept in. Firm but soft. Feather pillows, what a luxury!

Ben and Doug provide a welcome orientation, taking out maps, suggesting places to see, how to get anywhere you want, the ups and downs of San Diego.

Negatives:
We stayed in the Lilac room. It was on the small side.
Planes in San Diego fly very low and it was hard to sleep with this noise, especially on the first night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ben and Doug at The Keating House helped make this a wonderful experience. The Keating house is a charming B&B with the perfect location for people that like to walk. It is perfectly located so that my wife and I could walk to places like Balboa Park, Little Italy and the Harbor. We also appreciated their being so accommodating, helpful, friendly and for cooking such a great breakfast. This was a cozy & pleasant experience for my wife and I to enjoy some time together.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend decided to try something different for memorial weekend. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and this was the most nostalgic way to experience San Diego. The inn keepers Ben & Doug are the reason this house is so inviting. The house itself is a vintage 1800's home extremely cozy and well maintained. Ben and Doug have mastered the details when it comes to making you feel as if you have been living here forever. The breakfasts are prepared fresh and the absence of tv's and computers invited great conversations with other guests and the inn-keepers. If you are looking to getaway and experience San Diego in a new way I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Ben and Doug really made the trip worthwhile. Not only are they great guys who are easy to talk to and personable, but their advice for restaurants and things to do was right on the money every time! Near san diego zoo, balboa park - within walking distance. Even changed plans at the end of the trip to go back to Keating House. Would go back without question.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#63 of 278 in San Diego
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keating House

Address: 2331 Second Ave., Between Juniper and Kalmia Sts., San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian B&B located within walking distance of downtown, Balboa Park, Zoo, little Italy, and harbor. All rooms have a private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keating House Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing