We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-style hotel, good location but noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #133 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old-style hotel, good location but noisy.”
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This was an old hotel which had some style. Staff were pleasant and fairly helpful, and our suite was a good size and comfortable. The furniture and bathroom were a bit dated, but were clean and the facilities were adequate.
It was good to have access to the roof terrace at any time. Breakfast was fairly limited though, and the use of flimsy paper cups and plates seemed a bit cheap and nasty - and also dangerous, as eating on the terrace was often very breezy. (By the way, despite what the hotel staff say, the roof is NOT a good place from which to view Fourth of July fireworks!)
The hotel is in a good position for trams and buses, but unfortunately also for night-clubs, and we found sleeping difficult.
In spite of the criticisms we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Use of the roof terrace
  • Disliked — Paper cups and plates
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredteacherstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    245
    74
    39
    20
See reviews for
79
273
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

Stayed in the Gaslamp Plaza for 2 nights in June 2007. Family of 4 including 2 teenage daughters. The specific type of suite we had booked in February with 2 bathrooms (because of 3 girls) was not available upon arrival because the people staying there before us "decided to stay longer." Never heard that excuse before, but that was the explanation. We had confirmed this same suite just 2 days prior to be sure it was available. They did offer other alternatives and we did finally decide to stay in a suite at a discounted rate, but only with one bathroom. They also offered a bottle of wine.

The hotel is in a great location. Glad we stayed in town. The hotel is historic, so if you are looking for a modern hotel with amenities, this is not the place. It is dated, dark hallways and small rooms, but clean. The street noise level can be an issue with lots of bars around, but fortunately we were on one of the highest floors. The rooftop was a nice place to go sit or have breakfast, but the food was very basic (coffee, juice, 2 dry cereal choices and either donuts or muffins and bagels. No fruit or warm options but just enough.

To give you some comparison, we did stay in an Embassy Suites and a Homewood Suites during this same trip in other parts of California. The Gaslamp does not match up to these hotels. I don't think my family would stay here again, but, if you are looking for very basic accomodations in a good location at a price less than the big chains, this might suit your needs. We would likely stay at the Embassy Suites, Hyatt or Omni next time.

If you do visit San Diego and you like Italian food, you do have to visit Filippis. I had read all the great reviews, so we decided to try it. My family about left when we walked up and saw it, but once you walk thru the market area in the front, there is a nice, very casual restaurant with great pasta or pizza.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank honesttripreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester,va.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Stayed for six nights in mid-May. Only five miles from the airport. Disn't rent or feel the need for a car. Great location in Gaslamp, close to resturants,bars, Petco Park(walked to a ballgame). Just my wife and I, so plenty of room in the studio. Older building with character. Rooms clean and well kept. On the tenth floor, so little problem with street noise.

Merry was great, and tipped us off to the "senior Citizen bus pass". took the buses and trolley's to Coronado Beach, Old Town, Balboa Park.

San Diego Zoo great for the day. Whether was OK, "Grey May", no sun but comfortable for walking and siteseing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Pool, limited continental breakfast offering
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich,VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

I stayed only one night due to sheduling details, but I enjoyed my stay very much. Check in was quick and they have a friendly helpful staff manning it. The suite was a king on the sixth floor, high enough to not be bothered by traffic noise. The suite was clean and comfortable. The doors have the old fashion doorhandles and the bathroom had real faccets and a real porcelin tub that you hardly ever see any more. This is any old building that was fixed up but kept the favor of the time it was build. The rooftop patio is a great place to chill out at the end of the day and to start your day with their breakfast. Nothing special but a good quick start breakfast. I called done for extra coffee for the coffeemaker in my room and I had hardly hung up the phone and someone was at the door with the coffee. It was that quick, he must have answered the phone from the elevator. Now it does not have a pool ,whirlpool or any of the other amenties that the other hotel have but it makes up for it in atmosphere and the view from the rooftop patio. All in all you could spend more and get alot less in the Gaslamp district. It is right in the middle of everything.

  • Liked — Roof top patio
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bea54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I selected the Gaslamp Plaza Suites for its location and price as I was to be in town for just one night and traveling solo. I booked the smallest single and the room was indeed small, but fully appointed and quite comfortable and quiet. It wouldn't be big enough for 2 people.

The wireless internet (for a fee) had a strong signal. The room included a microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, desk. The window must have looked out on the alley/air shaft, but I like to sleep in the DARK, so that was fine.

The main door to this corner room had a frosted glass front. Unfortunately, that did provide more light into the room than I like (although it was situated down a small alcove across from the bathroom so it was only indirect light). That was helpful as there was no nightlight for the bathroom.

The room was very quiet.

I went upstairs to the rooftop terrace for the view and also for the included continental breakfast. The breakfast items were underwhelming, no better than at any cheap chain. But it was free and there was coffee, so I was happy enough.

The location is super for visiting or touring San Diego. I would definitely stay here again. For the price, I got everything I wanted in a hotel for a quick trip for as a base for touring.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — My single was a very small room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank aboutwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

We stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites from 3/3 to 3/9. The hotel is a
bit old, room was ok, outdated & old style. We had the junior suite which was too much room for us. Only had queen bed. If you want a king you will need to stay in a studio, we should have done that instead of the suite. Our room # was 608 which was great as no noise at night, that is the busy time in the district. The hotel is a perfect location, walk a few blocks to the Convention Center to catch the trams, ferry to Coronado Island and visit the Seaport. Getting around is very easy. The Gaslamp District is only a handful of blocks surrounded by restaurants & a mall down the block. Reminds me of a nicer, cleaner Manhattan but we did notice a lot of homeless people and some blocks are a little seedy. This was one of the cheapest hotels I could find that was right in the district so we didnt need to rent a car, $179 per night for 2 people and we stayed there off season. Now that I have visited San Diego, I would have stayed in the Marriott or Hyatt, much nicer and right along the Bay even thought more money (tram stops in front of these hotels and convention center). Staff at the Gaslamp hotel were nice, friendly, young. You have a restaurant downstairs which we did not eat at and internet access in the room but downside is you have to pay for it. Cost us $20 for the time we stayed. All in all I would say the hotel is nothing great, not really my taste but it was clean & served its purpose.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rickki6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Our stay at Gaslamp Plaza Suites had highs and lows, but overall this is a reasonable value for a downtown stay.

The Suites are wonderfully located for shopping and dining in the Gaslamp District. The rooms are updated, clean, relatively spacious if a bit oddly laid out, probably due to the state of planning in 1913 when it was built. Continental breakfast is include on the 10th floor rooftop, both inside and outdoors, although the facility has a worn look. The room price, at a couple of notches lower than the typical downtown hotel, made it somewhat attractive.

On the downside, the desk staff seemed a bit dazed and confused about their duties. Calling for different services, which in most other hotels direct connects you to the valet or room service or housekeeping, will likely get you whoever is sitting at the front desk and it is potluck as to whether or not your wish will be communicated! Parking is atrociously expensive, but you have the option of self-parking within a block or two. Lastly, rooms facing 5th or E street may suffer from some late night noise from the clubs at street level.

Not a bad place to stay, and particularly if you value a convenient downtown location. Stay away if you can't deal with the downside issues mentioned above though.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — Sloppy service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jpahter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 278 in San Diego
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
1,379 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing