We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with the Gas Lamp Plaza Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #110 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2005

Gas Lamp Plaza Suites were withing walking distance of about 90 percent of the things you wanted to do - tour buses etc., pick up there, and you are within walking distance of all sorts of wonderful restaurants. A continental breakfast is served each day that was very nice, and on Monday the "cruise director" took us for a walking tour around the area so we could get acclimated. Very helpful - wear comfortable shoes as it was quite a walk. Staff was very helpful and quite charming - we would go back in an instant. Do know it is an extremely old hotel, but refurbished nicely - rooms are not plush, but very comfortable.

Stayed: March 2005
10  Thank saddlebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 621 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2004

Awesome hotel, we enjoyed staying there rooms are clean and well kept, continental breakfast on top of the building, buetiful view, great staff very friendly, near the mall, near everything. I highly recommend this hotel we had such a great view and a great time. A++++ service.

8  Thank tishsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Littleton, CO
110
Reviewed October 16, 2004

At $169 a night, this hotel is VERY overpriced. It has a phenomenal location, and the street noise was not bad, but the property feels shabby. This hotel has none of the luxuries that a hotel in this price range should have. The front desk was not only messy, but the service was not professional. The elevators were dirty, and my room's carpet was old and very worn. The towels in the bathroom didn't match. The room's wet bar, fridge and microwave looked like something from a college dorm room. There also was no high-speed internet available in the rooms, which a hotel of this price range should offer. After one night, I checked out and moved to the Sheraton Suites up the hill.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2004

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon in September, 2004. Having stayed in Best Western hotels up to this point, it was a real joy to find the GPS had maintained the original design. The long corridors were reminiscent of the hotel in The Shining (!) and the glass doors to the rooms added an elegance to the decor. We were staying in one of the cheapest suites and although it was clean, had everything we needed and was well kept, it was a touch small. That didn't matter though as you're only there to sleep. Having breakfast on the roof was a real treat and we would also sit on the roof at night and watch the lights and sounds of San Diego with a drink in hand - we'd definitely stay here again.

7  Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2004

We stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza the last 5 days of August 2004 on a vacation to San Diego. We had an experience which definitely surpassed our expectations. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. Staff were rather informal, calling us by our first names, but were hospitable, knowledgeable of their city, and genuinely nice. But the best feature of this quality hotel is its LOCATION. We had some friends who met us in SD and they stayed in the Grand Manchester Hyatt. While they had a beautiful hotel and all the amenities, they couldn't believe we had such a good room ourselves, at a lower price, and in the middle of everything cool about downtown SD. Caution: if you're looking for a hotel for kids or elderly folks, this isn't a good choice. But if you like good clubs, music venues, great restaurants and real nightlife, I recommend Gaslamp Plaza.

7  Thank lucamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2004

Had a great 3 days at the hotel, valet was very curteous (thanks mike) and desk was equally helpfull thanks to all . Yes it is a little noisy but with double glass windows and a couple of margaritas sleeping was easy. breakfast was as described above. take a muffin or roll to your room, use the micro wave and you have a decent start to the day. What a location walk to Longs Drug at Horton Plaza for supplies ie beer, and check out all the activity around you. we enjoyed Ole Madrid, Napa Valley Grill, Ghiradellis, Buca de Bepo, all within 3 blocks. Will go back.

3  Thank whiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Aptos, CA
14
Reviewed July 16, 2004

Great staff. Clean, comfortable room. Close to everything! Horton Plaze is 1.5 blocks. Bus and trolley lines 1 block. The trolley takes you all around town and even right to the Mexican border. Walk or short bus ride to the Santa Fe station to take the Coaster up to Oceanside. You can walk or bus to Seaport Village or to the harbor for bay cruises or the ferry to Coronado. Easy bus ride to the zoo and museums in Balboa part. The Gaslamp Quarter has an amazing number of restaurants and clubs. You get the street noise you'd expect at any urban hotel (less than we experienced in San Francisco, though) but that included a street guitarist playing relaxing music across the street. I plan to stay at this hotel again.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#148 of 286 in San Diego
219 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#76 of 286 in San Diego
1,475 reviews
The Horton Grand Hotel
#67 of 286 in San Diego
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $131 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing