We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, comfortable and the location is terrific.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #113 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I have just returned from a stay at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites and my stay there was great. The room was comfortable, clean, nicely appointed and equipped and the location in the Gaslamp Quarter is great. Close to Petco Park, the harbour, transportation to the Zoo, Balboa Park and Old Town and great shopping at Horton Plaza. Right in the midst of the Gaslamp Quarter. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful - including rooftop orientations for guests to the attractions of San Diego. Really wonderful.

About the only suggestion I would make is that the continental breakfast could be beefed up a little. A few more choices would certainly have been welcome. It is pretty basic and bland. How about adding some low carb choices like hard cooked eggs?

All in all, though, a very pleasant hotel stay and I will definitely choose it again when I return to San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 620 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights while my husband went to a conference at the Westin. The location is great for downtown. You can walk all over. The first night we had very small rooms on the 3rd floor. I had booked two rooms for our family of 5, each room with a double bed and a sofa bed. It was terribly noisy because of the street noise. So the next morning I talked to the staff and they moved us to the 8th and 7th floor. Then each room had 2 double beds and a sofa bed in a separate room with 2 bathrooms. That was perfect. The bathrooms are old, but they were okay on the upper floors, they were sort of yucky on the 3rd floor rooms. The lighting is very bad in the hotel, it is a little dim and the switches all seem to be in the wrong spots! The staff was great. I found a coupon for Legoland that got 4 of us in for a total of 63 dollars. I sent the front desk a pdf and they printed it off for me. I paid for the valet parking, but there is actually a parking lot next door to the hotel that would have been more than adequate for us. The rooftop breakfast was really nice. It was not upmarket, but the view was great. When I asked for hot cocoa for the kids they gave it to us.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We only stayed here for one night but we were very happy with our stay. The hotel is in the perfect location in the center of the Gaslamp district (which is very charming and has more restaurants, bars and shops than you could ever need). The hotel is spacious and maintains the antique feel of the location yet newly renovated. The room was very large with spacious sitting area, writing desk and wetbar as well as very large bathroom. Nice view over the street and very comfortable bed and pillows. Overall this was a great value and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

The first room we were showed $133.00 inclusive of tax was so tiny there was barely 18 inches of space between the wall and the bed on both sides. There was no desk to write at. It was very very dark with a small frosted window (3 feet by 4.5 feet). The doors to the hall are all a wooden frame of about 9 inches around with a 5 foot by 1.5 foot frosted glass insert. When we indicated this wouldn't do we were given another room which was brighter and larger but still quite dark and also with a glass door. The paint is a dark beige with gold and wine coloured borders throughout. They told us it was a historical building and therefore everthing was governed by the time period. The staff was very nice and tried to accomodate us by giving us the better room but it was much more expensive--$160.00. I am more interested in a bright clean room than in being in a historical landmark that is very dark and has old smells so for me the choice was very disappointing. If you are into history maybe it would be for you. The staff was very helpful and friendly. also the street noise was very loud and you could hear everything in the hall.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

Easy to find on the boundary of the Gaslamp District of San Diego but nevertheless within very easy walking distance of the restaurants and bars in the Gaslamp area.

Comfortable room but a bit full of furniture. Had a sink and basic kitchen facilities (this place is clearly a timeshare place). Bathroom clean and functional. Good view from the room over San Diego. Continental breakfast was very basic - one of the worst we had on our trip. Valet parking worked well. Helpful reception staff. One of the more expensive places we stayed at during our trip but we had better value at some cheaper places. Overall, do give this place consideration for location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheshirepen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

The city is only a short drive from the airport to the city so we soon arrived at the Gas Lamp Plaza on E Street and we were greeted by a lovely receptionist called Merry, she was most helpful and gave us lots of information about the city. All the recption staff were pleasant and helpful The rooms are not gigantic but they are adequate and very well looked after, the maid service was second to none. The building is a converted office block from the turn of the centuary but this only adds to its feeling. Lots of the original features have been retained and used in the building.
A complimentary breakfast is served on the rooftop every morning. It is not a big breakfast but enough to start the day.
Everyone was most helpful and pleasant and we would stay there again if going back to San Diego.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveleasy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

A perfect location (walk to Balboa Park, Petco Park, and the waterfront), great room, and loads of charm. We enjoy small, older hotels like this since they have so much character compared to the many large national chains in the area. I would suggest going up on the roof for the views, but not the breakfast (limited in selection and quality,,,the coffee was undrinkable.). Fortunately there are lots of fine restaurants in the area, so you won't go hungry. As for the street noise that has been mentioned in some reviews...why are you staying in the middle of the biggest nightlife area in a major city if you are concerned with noise?? We closed the windows and had a no issues with noise.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandgturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#76 of 286 in San Diego
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#148 of 286 in San Diego
219 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
The Horton Grand Hotel
#70 of 286 in San Diego
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $130 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing