We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #116 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm a history buff so that the hotel's history alone made me like the hotel. This building was San Diego's first skyscraper. This building started off as a bank and then became an office building before becoming a hotel in 1988. You can feel the building's history while walking through the halls to your room. The doors to your room look like old office doors with a mail slot on the side (the slots obviously cannot be opened anymore). The suites you stay in were once offices in the 1940s and 50s. The room themselves are spacious. The kitchen area is practical but i never use them (why would you want to cook while on vacation?). You get a microwave, a mini fridge and all the utensils/silverware you need to get you through the week. You have a pullout couch in the living area that would come in handy if you have a bigger family. The free rooftop continental breakfast will give you enough energy to get your day started. The location of the hotel is awesome. You have great access to great food and bars nearby. El Indio restaurant is a short 10 minutes drive. The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is definitely a great stay in the Gaslamp district.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OCTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed all the history about the Gaslamp Plaza Suites. We try to take good care of this 'old lady" and make sure we preserve the historical pieces while still providing a nice and comfortable stay for our guests.
We look forward having you stay with us again.
Welcome Back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

As u may have guessed absolutely love the location in gas lamp. Bars restaurants various venues all in very close walking distance including shopping at the Horton Plaza.
This is more or less a boutique hotel, San Diegos original sky scraper when built in the early 1900s.
Rooms are comfortable and clean.
Guest services are excellent. No pool but again remember this us a 100 plus yr old hotel with upgrades.
A great spot is up on the roof, open from 0700-2300 hrs daily with a Continental morning breakfast.
Wifi is sketchy unless u are on the roof and valet parking is pricey at 30.00 pee night.
My suggestion if u are flying in, cab it and walk n make use of the trolley.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here over a very busy weekend in San Diego and found this place to be the most reasonably priced. I was so impressed with the rooms! Everything was nice and new in them, and they were very spacious. I felt very comfortable here and would stay here again. My trip was for a conference at the convention center and it was a short 10-15 minute walk there. The hotel is also close to many restaurants and shops. I hate walking around late at night, so this was ideal because it was at most a 15minute walk to dinner or shopping. This hotel also includes breakfast, which is really coffee and pastries, but the roof top terrace makes it very nice!

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor. It wasn't too loud, but it is in the middle of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HCal427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your input and hope to see you back as guest of the Gaslamp Plaza Suites again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Nice hotel, with parking facilities in a central position, close to the shopping centre and walking distance to the Padres home ground. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast on the roof top was enjoyable, with a good variety to choose from. The budget rooms are small, with a standard size bed, making the room a little cramped. The window looked onto another wall, so no view at all. However, in all an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a larger, less cramped room, if staying longer than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Missy301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel! Just walking around the floors and liking at the cool architecture and amazing materials and historic elements is so cool. The rooms are really nice, although they lose points for older bed frames that squeaked every time I moved. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is really good - within walking distance of food, services, entertainment, and Horton Plaza. The bar nearby gets really loud, as does street traffic so ask for a high floor in the back. Breakfast is ok, and the rooftop is awesome!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank EventSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I love staying here for a quick trip to Gaslamp. The valet parking is $30, which seems expensive, but really isn't for San Diego. The hotel is also centrally located so we pretty much just walk everywhere once we get there. Breakfast may not be the best, but the view from the roof is really cool. The marble and brass in the hotel are gorgeous. The only downside (but its a historic hotel, so we get it) are the thin windows. A homeless man walking down the street at 2 am screaming "this is my street" is very easily heard through the windows - as are sirens and car horns. If you want quiet, go somewhere else (as in - not in Gaslamp).

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NotthatMelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay! The staff is friendly and very helpful. We had a room on the 9th floor with a view over the bay. The 4th of July fireworks display we could view from the roof - spectacular! The area is busy, so a bit noisy, but so convenient for trolley rides (2 blocks away), it is near to Petco Park, the Convention Centre and so many eateries to choose from. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

We can only say THANK YOU for such a wonderful review and Welcome Back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#78 of 286 in San Diego
1,457 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#145 of 286 in San Diego
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
The Horton Grand Hotel
#73 of 286 in San Diego
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $107 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing