We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What noise?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #131 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What noise?”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our room was quaint and clean!..Its such a beautiful histori hotel. Complimentary continental breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the City.The staff was nice. Parking is $30, which is normal for any downtown hotel. Near lots of restaurants and trolley rides, really don't need a car.

Room Tip: corner units are nice. Didn't use the Swimming pool or Fitness center, so really can't rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGuynIslandGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please come back and see us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    243
    73
    39
    20
See reviews for
76
272
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Clean, historical hotel. The suite we ended up in was not a suite but more of a junior, micro, down-sized suite. But the sheets were clean and so was the bathroom. Roof-top is fun and the history the hotel has up is great. Parking is a bit pricey.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcnatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here about 15 years ago and loved it. I returned to San Diego and took my family to the hotel and it was a disappointment. There used to be a hot tub on the roof, but the hot tub is gone. The breakfast was terrible: Wonder bread toast, stale muffins, and bad coffee. The rooms are good and the location is great. Parking is $30 and internet is $12. Not such a great value when you add it all up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latinum001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear you and your family did not fully enjoy your most recent stay. We have done extensive remodeling of our rooms as well as rooftop area. Yes, the jacuzzi was removed about 10 years ago. We didn't have a lot of usage and decided to make a more open area instead for our guests to enjoy. Our contracted bakery delivers baked goods every night for us to serve during our continental breakfast in the morning. If you prefer a full american breakfast there are many excellent breakfast place close by. Once again, I am sorry you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to San Diego and CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms for our family. One was a one bedroom and it had sufficient space for two young men. It worked very welcome. The second was a studio. It was incredibly tiny. No table, no chairs, only space for one bedside table. The partial kitchens (in both) are very small. Don't plan to eat in your room. The hotel is wonderfully quirky and has lots of period features. The rooms were very clean and well supplied with bathroom materials. Staff were super. Friendly, knowledgable, San Diego enthusiasts. The location is in the very interesting gas lamp area. Lots of places to eat. Easy access via public transit to all points of interest. Breakfast on roof terrace limited but adequate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great place to stay, room was very clean, staff was very helpful, old world charm with modern amenities. Within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, and if you want a brisk walk, Sea Port Village.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, stairs were the fastest way to get up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RelaxedCouple92595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Welcome Back !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked a Studio apartment via RCI timeshare Points and we stayed for just 2 nights following a cruise.
The studio was very large with a lovely comfortable bed and a big window overlooking the street. We were on the third floor and the noise from the street at night was tremendous until the early hours of the morning. That was the only downside of the unit.
The studio had a small mini kitchen with microwave but no stove.
The bathroom room was enormous!!!
Breakfast on the Roof Terrace was excellent. What a lovely location!

Room Tip: Bring earplus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller_20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good facilities, nice staff, cool lifts, breakfast was fresh and ample. There is a nice roof seating area overlooking the city. Rooms are sufficient in size and clean. The room had a lounge area which was comfy. The location is perfect in the gaslamp district, this is where you want to be. The parking was confusing but I think that was San Diego in general with the parking. Would stay again if visiting the gaslamp district.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank m0rgank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear guest,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. San Diego is a wonderful place to visit and I hope you went back to England with fond memories. In regards to parking, I am sorry you found it confusing. If you or any other guest ever have any questions in regards to this, please don't hesitate to ask.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#141 of 279 in San Diego
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing