We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position for San Diego life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #125 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Walking down Broadway to 5th Street was easy when arriving at the station, then one road down to E Street.
The reception was excellent, the room was refurbished but retained the styling of the 1920's. All hall ways and lift have the same style. A very comfortable hotel, continental breakfast is on the top floor with wonderful views across the city. Early mornings in full sun made the start of the day worth getting up for.
The postition in the Gas Lamp district was great for getting about. Walking into the shop and cafe area was good for just wandering about. then down the end of 5th street to the Convention Centre or back up to Broadway and back past the station to the dock area.
Trams and buses made getting around very easy - worth visiting - ferry to Coronado and the hotel, Old Town, Balboa Park. it's a great city to visit

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eckingtonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Gaslamp Plaza Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 591 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was full of charm and character. It was previously an office building and the new owners maintained many of the old building's fixtures. The check in staff were friendly and the valet service was quick. The room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The view from the rooftop is stunning and the space is perfect to relax and read. The location is at the top of the Gaslamp area and there is a large assortment of restaurants to frequent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I believe some people will love this hotel or hate it. Those who love it will appreciate the décor. Those who hate it will say it is old. I am not sure about all the suites but mine has 2 full bathrooms. The bedroom is separated and connected to the living room by a hallway. Each room (bedroom and living room)has one large television screen. The mattresses are firm but comfortable. I love the fact that convenience stores and the shopping mall are close. Minimal staff to help but they try hard. The rooftop has a gorgeous view of the city and you have this view every morning for breakfast.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

...and I live in Vegas and travel quite often..... I am not one to post reviews, but I have to in this instance. Bottom line is anyone who would stay anywhere else in San Diego would regret it..... The hotel itself......the detail that has gone into every aspect of the decor is extravagant.....marble walls, tile floors, even the ceiling is trimmed out....very much a boutique/Dick Tracy/prohibition look....ever been able to say the pics of a place are not accurate? In this case they are or do not do the place justice...very clean and authentic..... there is a patio deck on the roof with a breathtaking view of the city and the harbor....no wear or tear anywhere in the room.... little things like near-instant hot water from the faucet, a high pressure shower head that someone 6' 3" would not have to crouch to get under, flat screen wall mounted tv with free premium channels, not only a microwave and fridge but also dishes, stemware and utensils.... The service was also excellent. Their concierge service gave several great recommendations and even directly scheduled a dinner cruise...with a substantial discount..... everyone was friendly and extremely helpful.... The location....... 5th and E.......right where you want to be......restaurants, shopping, convention center, trolley etc...all right outside the hotel. We never needed the car after valeting it when we arrived. I will never stay anywhere else again in San Diego. Anyone who would post a negative review about this hotel is lying or has an ulterior motive........

Room Tip: the mini-suites....the pics do not do them justice.......
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank YOU. We cannot get a better review and recommendation than this. We so look forward having you come back and stay with us. Looking forward seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The property was beautifully maintained. The staff was always friendly and proud of their work. It really make you feel good about your choice of lodging. Sean and mary at the desk were true professionals. All the housekeeping staff was great to work with. A great hotel in a fantastic area of San Diego We will refer to friends and family. Can't wait to return soon

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was awesome! We got a great price and loved the room. Great location, close to restaurants and the convention center. The room was clean and comfortable. I loved the sitting area next to the big window. The hotel is very old and has a lot of the original marble, which is beautiful. Breakfast was disappointing, nothing hot to eat. Staff was nice. I accidentally left my watch, and housekeeping turned it in so I could get it back. Impressed with the honesty. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryd827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

I am happy we could assist you in getting your watch back. We do have an excellent housekeeping department, thank you for recognizing their hard work and honesty. We do look forward having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at this hotel late last night (I'm staying here on business) and was greeted at the front door by a uniformed security guard, which was my first red flag. As I was waiting what seemed like forever to complete the check-in process I was almost defeaned by the music coming from the nightclub downstairs. When I finally got to my room, the nightmare continued. This place hasn't been decorated since 1986, there's a musty smell and the polyester sheets on the supremely uncomfortable sheets left me itchy all over. The bathrooms are incredibly old and in dire need of updating. Also, there is no mini-bar, room service or gym. Whoever gave this dump high ratings previously clearly travels very little. This is easily one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in (and I travel frequently on business) and I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yasamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear guest,
As always, I appreciate when a guest gives us feed back, both good and bad. This since we strive to make sure all of our guests are enjoying their stay with us. I am sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. You arrived on St. Patrick's Day when the Gaslamp Quarter Association were hosting a St. Patrick's Day block party. There was a stage close to our hotel so the music could be heard from there. The night club in our building was not open that day. Our location is in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter and due to the amount of people expected for this block party, we wanted to make sure our guests were well taken care of and had therefore staffed with a security guard in our lobby.
This building is a historical landmark, listed in the National register for historical places, and we are preserving the building accordingly. All of our rooms have been completely remodeled. The last two floors were finished just 4 weeks ago. Once again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but I do hope you enjoyed your visit to San Diego in general.
If there is anything I can do for you, please contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#140 of 278 in San Diego
216 reviews
The Horton Grand Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
857 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $121 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing