We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable rooms in the Gaslamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Ranked #127 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Affordable rooms in the Gaslamp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

A great downtown location, perfect for a night or two where you're not going to spend much time in the (very small) rooms except to sleep.

Breakfast (coffe, juice, pastries etc.) on the roof terrace is included.

Valet parking is $5 more than the adjacent self-park lot, but 6pm to 8am street parking is free, so only pay to park if you won't be moving the car first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    235
    71
    38
    19
See reviews for
76
263
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful 1-night staycation the first week of January 2013. We stayed in a bright and comfortable mini suite with a view over the Coronado bridge and the water. This gem is located smack in the middle of where you want to be when visiting The Gaslamp District. All great stores (such as Horton Plaza) and restaurants are just outside your doorstep. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly and very helpful staff. Before we knew it we were checked in and were also handed a long list of suggestions of great restaurants, bars and places to go.
The building itself is shabby chic European style with great details Over a century old original architecture and an absolutely amazing open air roof top terrace where we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast while basking in the sun.
We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We are very happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay-cation here in America's finest city. As you mentioned, our location is in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter where you can walk to 100's of restaurants as well as great shopping at Horton Plaza Shopping mall, located just a block away.
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We used a vacation exchange for the week of December 30, 2012 and accepted a hotel room rather than a suite. The room is very small, but large on comfort: great bed, good pillows, a mini kitchen with refrigerator, dishes, cups and glasses. The bathroom had the best shower/tub combo we've seen in awhile, including a tub-level seat/shelf. We slept very well, not hearing a single sound in the hotel and very little street noise, couldn't have been better.
The rooftop deck is a jewel and a nice way to enjoy the sunshine while having a simple continental breakfast. We can't compliment the staff enough for their efficient and friendly service. Beautiful city views both day and night reaching all the way to the water, the convention center and more. During the Christmas season the closeby US Grant Hotel was magnificent lit up with blue lights.
The hotel location is perfect for walking and with over 100 restaurants in the vicinity there's no excuse to not get out and explore. We even took advantage of a movie theater just a couple of blocks away. Our favorite find was the historic William Davis house, the oldest structure in San Diego. It's well worth the visit and don't miss the tributes outside to San Diego's favorite dog "Bum" who died in 1898.

Room Tip: We faced fifth street, eighth floor and were satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here and that you were able to celebrate New Years Eve with us. That you acknowledge our staff makes our job even more worthwhile. Thank you and Welcome back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The location in the Gaslamp Quarter was outstanding, nice sights, restaurants and shopping within an easy walk from the hotel. The decor of the hotel is unique, European, has character, but a little dark (lighting-wise). The room was fairly spacious, a nice living room area. One great feature is the open air rooftop breakfast area (although the small smoking section dampened the enjoyment - they should ban smoking here), a great view of San Diego, the complementary breakfast food was fairly good as well, a decent selection. The only negative (aside from no free Wifi) is the parking; if you have a car, expect to pay $30.00 for valet parking (can do a bit better in nearby lots/garages). The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Gaslamp Plaza Suites on a vacation time-share exchange week. The property is charming and well-maintained. Although the rooms are on the small side, fitting a century-old building, they are nicely furnished with modern amenities mentioned in other reviews. The hotel serves continental breakfast daily on the rooftop patio -- which is also a nice place to bring a bottle of wine at sunset.

The location is ideal for getting around San Diego. We had rented a car for the week, but probably didn't need it except for going up the coast one day. Parking at all Gaslamp Quarter hotels is pricey. Valet service here was the typical $30/day, but it was very convenient. We just texted our ticket # to the valet desk, and the friendly valets had our car ready by the time we reached the lobby.

Very minor complaints would be: 1) The large, hard pillows were only good for side-sleepers.The front desk staff instantly sent up another set of softer pillows. 2) The paid WiFi service would often force re-logins even with only a minute or two of inactivity.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Of particular note was Merry, who really lives up to her name. She gave a 1+ hour orientation speech on Monday AM, followed by a walking tour of restaurants and interesting places in the Gaslamp Quarter. Merry gave us many ideas for sight-seeing, helped with directions, and even gave us promo tickets to local events. She's reason enough to choose this hotel over another.

Room Tip: The Gaslamp Quarter is the entertainment district with many nightclubs and restaurants, so try for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baal727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a great stay here. The room was very clean. There was plenty of food at the breakfast. You get a great view of the area from the roof dining area.

Things we learned: The hotel is quiet but the street outside is not; especially on Friday and Saturday nights. (but you are in Gaslamp ) There is no laundry ( they will send your clothes out for dry cleaning ). No free internet and wireless only - cost for a week was reasonable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Valet for car is quick and accommodating. Kitchen area is fridge, microwave and sink - had plenty of plates, glass ware, silverware. However, the kitchen space is tight.

Once you get the hang of San Diego's one way streets, you can get around very quick.

Yes, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were up on the ninth floor - still heard street noise. ( but the people at night were very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in September for a week. We booked two one bedroom suites for five of us and everything was tremendous. The hotel had character unlike many of the major hotel chain ones.

The rooms were large and each had a fridge for keeping drinks cool. The front desk staff were always welcoming and it was nice to get a good morning/afternoon/evening from all the maintenance and cleaning staff. The rooftop terrace was superb, spent a couple of hours there each afternoon.

We stayed over the Labour Day weekend and yes the area was noisy but hey, you were right in the middle of the action.

Thanks to all who made it such a memorable experience.

Already booked a return stay with friends for 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
What a wonderful review to start my day with. Thank you so very much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay here. I will make sure to share your review with all of the departments and Welcome Back next year.
Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham Harbour Lights
Wyndham Harbour Lights
#130 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslamp Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslamp Plaza Suites

Property: Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Address: 520 E St, San Diego, CA 92101-6206
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#80 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslamp Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gaslamp Plaza Suites is a historical, European style hotel built in 1913. The original architectural aspects are still evident such as original marble on walls and stairways and brass elevator doors. All are preserved meticulously in keeping with our status of being listed in the National Registry of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaslamp Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslamp Plaza Hotel San Diego
Gaslamp Plaza San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing