We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaslamp Plaza Suites
Nearby Hotels
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$282
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$214
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$207
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$217
$199
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$206
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
227
269
82
43
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
269
82
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracemini suitecontinental breakfastone bedroom suitenoisy at nightvalet parkingsmallest roomhear noisemini kitchenwithin walking distancehigher floortwo blocksbalboa parkhomeless peoplebars and restaurantshotel is in a great locationper day
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 642 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very handy to everywhere, nice old style rooms, good full breakfast but Merry at the front desk was awesome. She entertained and helped us every time we saw her in and out of the building. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rastus_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Merry, the front desk clerk, made our stay all the better because she was friendly, helpful, and engaging. The hotel was fine: great location, reasonable price, decent breakfast, and good value for the money. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria_BCTabitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeleine k, Manager at Gaslamp Plaza Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

I appreciate your great feed back. Yes, Merry is a wonderful staff member and I will make sure to share your nice review with her.
Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms were lovely bright and well furnished and equiped. Breakfast on the roof was fun, great views. This hotel has character and is very well situated in the centre of the old gaslamp district, a great hub for nightlife and transport. All the staff we met were helpul, welcoming and friendly. Would stongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACam186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here as a get away from Indiana. We had been to San Diego two years previously and were nervous about staying in a hotel we didn't know anything about. From the moment that we checked in until we checked out the staff was full of smiles, they were extremely helpful, and nice. We had conversations with everyone!

We had a bad experience with a tour that was completely separate of the hotel and they called their contacts and had the problem fixed -- they went WAY beyond their responsibility. However, they wanted to ensure we had a good time while we were their guests.I think this says it all.

There was even DAILY maid service, this is a rare find in the hotel business these days. They didn't just make the bed, they cleaned the room. We left laptops and personal belongings in the room and nothing was touched. Another perk was that the room was completely renovated when we arrived, the pictures on the website doesn't do this place justice.

If I had to make a complaint I would say the breakfast was pretty weak, just pastries, 2 different kinds of ceral, and toast; along with juice and coffe. That said it was just enough to get us started in the morning because if you know anything about San Diego, you know that part of the experience is the restaurants. So we got up, had our breakfast on the roof (which was gorgeous and clean), and by the time we hit the day we were ready for lunch.

It is in the Gaslamp District so it is not a quiet area at night (we knew this before booking. We went to bed each night around 10 or 11 and slept just fine. There is even security stationed in the lobby at night to ensure your safety.

We were a block away from the bus stop and it cost 5 dollars a day to get anywhere. The staff can even tell you off the top of their heads what route you need if you tell them where you are going.

This hotel is a rare gem in the business these days, they are truly service oriented -- if you are thinking about it -- JUST do it! You won't regret it! When I come to San Diego again, I will stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel last weekend. It is centrally located, with plenty of restaurants, bars and clubs in the vicinity. The hotel is very clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are large and the staff was friendly. Our stay came with a daily continental breakfast, which is served on the rooftop, a very nice amenity. My only criticism of the hotel would be that the continental breakfast should have some variety. Yogurt, bagels and a better selection of fruit would be a nice addition. The lady in the breakfast room was nice, and worked hard to keep things filled, but it would be great if they had a large coffee urn, instead of air pots. My only warning would be to skip the restaurant downstairs, which is affiliated with the hotel-The Melting Pot, a fondue chain. We went for dessert fondue and it was some of the worst service we had during our trip. The waitress was obviously not happy to be there and wanted to be sure we felt as though we were putting her out just by being there. She poured wine on me, then burned herself and nearly burned one of us. That aside, I strongly recommend Gaslamp Plaza Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohriorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews