We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stayed 2-14-07” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Save
You added Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages to your Saves list
Ranked #102 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Hill, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed 2-14-07”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This was one of my all time favorite places. The view was breathtakingly Beautiful, it was totally relaxing. The cottage was so cozy, it was decorated cute and was very clean. we made a lot of wonderful memories. I hope to go back someday . ❤️ ❤️❤️

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    56
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
70
90
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acme, Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

There are no words to describe how much I enjoyed this place. From the view, comfy bed, the lovely dog, great staff there is not one thing I would change. Parking is even as good as it gets! Trust all these reviews - they are all very accurate! yes, it's a wee bit pricey but you won't care when you walk in and gaze out over the ocean. I've stayed in a lot of nice hotels but this is by far the best. Call now!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank WayneDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our first visit to San Diego.

We choose to spend a bit extra to have a cabin over the water. The staff at check-in were professional, kind and very helpful, we had arrived a bit early and they helped get us checked in very quickly. It was a beautiful spot, the rooms aren't fancy or upscale but the accommodations are clean and it was nice to have the full kitchen for our use. There was a grocery store a few blocks away that we walked to and picked up some items for in our room. The view from our private deck area was amazing, we both sat and watched the ocean while enjoying a glass of wine. The bed was quite comfortable and the pillows are good. The waves crashing in helped rock us both to sleep.

We brought our pedal cycles with us and walked them to and from our room to the front gates so as to not disturb the other guests. As bicycles and skateboards are not permitted on the pier this was the best solution. It was great to park the truck and just bike everywhere for a few days. We found that San Diego was fairly flat along the seawall for cycling however we found it difficult to get to other cycling areas of the city as they didn't seem that well connected. This may have just been an issue with us as well. There are spots along the seawall at are very congested and you need to watch for people, children and pets closely while cycling.

It was well worth the money to have the experience of staying at the Pier.

We ate at the Pacific Beach Ale House and found it quite good. We also tried Surfside Sushi and Spice Lounge. Both were good, not as good as some sushi and Indian we have had in other places but still quite good all the same. The number of restaurants within walking distance of the Pier are numerous and gave us lots of choice in the Pacific Beach area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank epd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a fantastic place to stay and enjoy San Diego - from the moment you arrive you feel yourself unwinding and falling in love with the cottages, the view, the sea and the sun. The cottage we had was beautiful and everything had been styled to compliment the view. As everyone notes the sleep you get whilst listening to the sea is the best my wife and I have had in a very long time - book early and stay a while

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maryandbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Crystal Pier is a great place to spend the Fourth of July. It is a great place for families and the beach is awesome. The cottages are among the most unique places to stay and provide a wonderful place to spend an afternoon. The staff here is wonderful and after 19 years we've always felt welcome.

Helpful?
2 Thank MetroBob
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

In Wisconsin, we call them cabins and everyone has, or knows someone who has, a cabin "up north". Crystal Pier Cottages remind me of the typical "up north' cabin. Nothing is really up to date, the cabinets and drawers don't quite close right, a little mold in the bathroom corners and a little water staining and few cracks on the ceiling somewhere. However, if you are at the lake (ocean) none of that matters! Waves crashing, birds squawking, somebody doing something on the water that is entertaining to watch. What more do you need for a relaxing, enjoyable vacation? Everything you could want was within walking distance of the Pier. Coffee shops, restaurants, groceries, and if in the mood for sushi or a tattoo or smoke shop, they had those too. I'm not sure we'll even get a car next time we come. If homeless people make you uncomfortable, you might want to re-think visiting the area. We passed a few every time we went for a stroll, and every morning there was one or 2 asleep on the beach somewhere. Not a problem for us but we were a bit surprised. The bed was too firm for my taste but not a show-stopper. We plan to be back someday.

Room Tip: The cottages farthest out on the pier have more privacy on their patios which we decided was worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmslf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It needed to be a special room as it was a weekend celebration of a milestone birthday and the Crystal Pier Hotel and Cottages delivered. The location is literally ground zero as our cottage was suspended above the Pacific Ocean below. I can't say I've ever had a better nights sleep listening to the ocean as the waves gently rocked our room. In addition to the accommodations the location, in Pacific Beach, is outstanding; plenty of coffee shops for those morning strolls along the beach, the best spicy shimp tacos I've ever tasted (Oscars on Emearld St.) and some fine late night dinning to be had along Cass Street (Enoteca Adriano & The Fishery) all within walking distance.

Room Tip: the cottages on the south side of the pier are definatly more desireable in the winter due to the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelmcguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#235 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#124 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

Property: Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Address: 4500 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2459
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Crystal Pier Hotel And Cottages
Crystal Pier San Diego
Crystal Pier Hotel San Diego
San Diego Crystal Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing