We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful Holidays Over The Waves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Save
You added Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages to your Saves list
Ranked #103 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful Holidays Over The Waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Book early to avid disappointment - We stayed on the pier with some friends as 2 families in April. We had to book 6 months in advance to get 2 cottages side by side.
Well appointed cottages located on a 1920's Pier on Pacific Beach. Close to many restaurants, the Hotel offers real peace and tranquility - The manager couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant experience. If you want to have a different place to stay that offers well appointed rooms at a reasonable price, you won't go far wrong with the Crystal Pier.

Room Tip: The pier faces slightly South of due West, so a room on the North Side of the Pier will get you view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastsussextravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    56
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
70
90
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Cottage 12, big, comfortable, complete amenities. Comfortable linens, enough towels, tissue paper, pots and pans, plates, utensils, knives all you need to prepare your food. There's a microwave, stove top,refrigerator, coffee maker, binoculars too. It was a great spot because we were near the exit area and the surf was high so we did not feel "danger. I guess if there is a high surf warning, our place was the perfect place to be.The veranda is great for relaxation and BBQ with chairs and lounge chairs for all. The view is great from this side also. Just a very short walk and you will be down the beach and you can walk to your cottage without any problems. One of a kind vertigo kind of feeling when the waves hit the pier. It is a complete comfort to have your car in front of your cottage too.
Stayed April 1-3, 2012. It was cold(bring sweaters if you come April) and the end of the pier was closed due to high surf but it turned out to be a very good advantage because we did not have people walking in and out of the pier. Only the residents can come and go. Loved the place! Will definitely come back! It is difficult to book because only a few rooms are available and you have to call to book. No online booking.I was lucky to get a booking 2 months before my visit but they say it is good to book 1 yr ahead. To save more, just bring food to cook, all the things you need will be in the cottage. Ask for a bbq grill when you arrive. Bring your own charcoal. It was like home away from home. A bit pricey $235/night weekdays for a 1 bedroom cottage but if you prepare your food there, you don't have to spend more. Great walking area around the place so bring your rubber shoes. Close to ralphs, 7-11 for all your needs.

Room Tip: Go get the cottages near the office if you are not sure if you want to feel the waves too much. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Arawatbuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I had talked about this for years as we have lived in SD since 1991, but my birthday this March was it. Arriving Friday at 2:00 p.m., we enjoyed the sunshine and the wind, and immediately headed for the deck and a couple of beers to relax, take in the views, walk to the end of the pier, and back for more beer. Cottage D on the north side had great views of the beach, surfers, paddle boarders, and kite surfers. Cottage was great, neat and clean - separate living area and kitchen from the bedroom. Watched the sunset Fri. night, then to local bar (710 Beach Club & Sports Bar) in front of the hotel's entrance for burgers. Unbeknownst to me, it was a Chicago sports themed place, with banners from all recent championships. And I'm from Chicago, so that was excellent. Friday night we fell asleep to the sound and feel of the waves breaking under us! The place actually shook. Saturday we awoke and had coffee and coffee cake on the deck, and read. Then, Saturday afternoon delight, and some time on the beach before my birthday dinner at "JRDN" only a half block down the beach! Superb. (Interestingly enough for htis Chicagoan, JRDN's had a large white "23" on the side of the building. Hmmm). Sunday morning more coffee and treats on the deck before departure. A great weekend, but rooms a little steep at $275/nt - but have to pay for something that unique! Check that off the bucket list!

Room Tip: I would think the further out toward the ocean you can get would be best. But, those are the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bwilbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in the hotel, upstairs in an one bedroom appartment on 21st March 2012. It was really nice, very clean; the kitchen was fully equipped, had all the stuff, even the washing up liquid.

You may get a bit of noice from a bar next door, but we stayed during the week so it was ok. The cottages on the peir booked about 7 month in advance so almost no chance there. The owners of the place very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: the cottages need to be booked well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coollondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at Crystal Pier last week for only 3 nights, and then went up to coast a bit for a few more days. If I had known (and if there was vacancies) I would have stayed all week! It was awesome...Nothing like it!
I stayed in Cottage D, which was over the water even at low tide. When the tide was up, you could see surfers riding waves right by your room as you sat in the living room.
The sound and feel of the waves crashing beneath you are just the coolest most relaxing thing ever.
When I do return, I will want that same cottage. A&B are the 2 on the end, but you get more privacy from the public pier on the end.
Another great feature is your car is parked right alongside your cottage (easy for loading/unloading!)
The staff was amazingly friendly, and has your safety and privacy priority!
Thankyou Randy for all your helpful tips on tours, eateries, and directions. I will look fwd to becoming a regular here as I know many people have!

Room Tip: As you see above I loved Cottage D, especially because it looked North, which I think was more sceni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phillymikeb52s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have stayed at the Crystal Pier in both the cottages and “motel” suites over the past ten years. This week, we stayed in cottage # 8 having taken advance of an off-season rate of $175.00 per night. There is no place like it – the cottages sit over the ocean, you hear the sound of the surf (what a pleasant way to go to sleep) and have a nice outside space with a table, four chairs, umbrella and two lounge chairs, overlooking the beach. The bed is comfortable, but I did not like the pillows so if you are driving in, you may want to bring a pillow you like. The views from your cottage or motel room are fantastic, but if you stay in one of the motel rooms, consider bringing ear plugs to cope with the noise level from the boardwalk, especially on summer weekends. Each cottage has a basic kitchen (refrigerator, oven with stove top and microwave – it didn’t have a revolving tray) and is stocked with Ikea glasses, plates, flatware, cooking utensils, pots and pans, off-brand toaster and coffee maker (my wife doesn’t like the coffee it makes). You have a parking space too (no extra charge). Kono’s (great breakfast place) is just outside the gate to the Crystal Pier and there is a CVS and Ralph’s grocery store within walking distance. You are just steps away from the beach and Mission bay. If you want modern appliances, flat-screen TVs or fancy bathrooms with rain showers or tubs, this is not the place for you. The cottages are showing their age – the plumbing fixtures were basic to begin with and now need to be replaced. For example, the shower head in # 8 could not be adjusted because of accumulated hard-water deposits and it was very difficult to adjust the temperature of the water. Also, it is apparent that the wrong shower stall was installed in # 8 (it should have been reversed to place the molded seat at the end opposite the shower head). There are no drawers in the bathroom vanity, but fortunately there is a dresser in the bedroom where you can put your cosmetics, etc. The TV in # 8 is a TV/DVD player combo unit that is no more than 19 inches and definitely not HD. While free wifi is offered, reception is problematic – neither of our iPad2’s could connect, but my laptop could. Still a wonderful place to stay, but don’t except luxurious appointments even though in-season rates are premium prices, just basic beach appointments and be sure to pet the pier dog.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage over the "motel room" if you can. The motel rooms are over the boardwalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SOCIAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I will definitely stay here again! The cottages are on a pier stretching into the ocean. Every night you can hear the waves crashing against the pier and it is, honest to God, the most beautiful lullaby.

Our cottage was a one bedroom with a living room and kitchen and we could sit on the sofa and look out the patio door onto the ocean and even see the surfers! It was clean and nicely appointed with the decor keeping with the quaintness of the entire place. Although the pier opens to the public during the day, we had a privacy fence and felt entirely safe and secluded.

In the evenings, after the pier is closed to the public, there is a wonderful security guard and gates that makes the entire place feel safe.

LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Get the rooms at the end of the pier. They're always in the water, even when the tide is low
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiscMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#235 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#122 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages

Property: Crystal Pier Hotel & Cottages
Address: 4500 Ocean Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2459
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Diego
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Crystal Pier Hotel And Cottages
Crystal Pier San Diego
Crystal Pier Hotel San Diego
San Diego Crystal Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing