We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for Kids and "base camp"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campland on the Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campland on the Bay
Save
You added Campland on the Bay to your Saves list
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great for Kids and "base camp"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Campland the last week of July with our six year old boys and had a blast. The park includes both tent and RV camping spots with full hook ups for RV's. Restrooms and showers are available for tent campers. A private beach, boat ramp, and toy rentals including wave runners are available. A store, laundry mat, and ice cream shop are onsite. Some sites are pretty small, some research on the park map for good sites at low cost is well worth it. Security is good, Rangers were always patrolling but not heavy handed. Our kids were free to ride their scooters around the park and we always felt secure that they would be OK with the extra freedom. A great view of the fireworks from Sea World every evening is a plus. Note this isn't the Hilton or plush resort, don't come expecting that. We will be back regularly.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    62
    32
    25
    32
See reviews for
122
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is our third year coming to Campland & we are already planning our trip for next year. Excellent RV campground for families with kids of all ages. Love the fact that it is a private beach with fireworks from Seaworld nightly. Beach is clean & water is warm being on the bay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriBisgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California, Usa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Being an annual attender of Campland on the bay for vacations is a real treat. With a beautiful sandy beach, plenty of activities such as: horse shoes, basketball, volleyball, bike trails, swimming pool, spa, planned activities through the park like flag football, concerts, and numerous other activities. Make sure to bring your pets along too!!!

Room Tip: Get your reservations in ASAP after deciding to come here!!! We book our spot (K2) a year + in advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I've been coming to Campland since I was 10 years old. Every year we get campsites on the bay with friends. Lots of fun for kids. Plenty to do and plenty of things to spend money on at the Marina. The beach area sites get a little loud on summer weekends, but they are good about enforcing quiet time at 11pm. Premium sites are not cheap, but what a view!

Is it for adults? Yes, if you bring your own toys (watercraft).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank misterjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was my second year experiencing Campland on the Bay. Pitched a tent this year instead of renting a trailer. Still a very crowded campground with lots of offerings on-site: beach, boat ramp, aquatic rentals, restaurant, game room, laundry facilities, dog parks, basketball/dodgeball, swimming pool(not very clean), and concerts in the park. Credit to the custodial staff for keeping the bathrooms clean and stocked with TP.
Rangers diligent about quiet hours in the park after 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Very big park that is definitely for campers with children. Not an adult park. There were plenty of activities for everyone each day. The sites are very small for motorhomes and the hook ups are not the best. Too long to check in as we waited an hour in line. The beach is great and there is a lot of water toys to rent. We were able to ride our bikes around Mission Bay. We have a 32 foot motorhome with two dogs. The dog park was a long walk for us but it was leash free.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Every place has its pro’s and con’s and this place was no different. However, in my opinion this campground had many more pro’s than con’s.
This is a family campground and it IS packed!! But I for one liked it. There were kids EVERYWHERE on scooters, bikes, skateboards – what a great sight it was to see kids out in the sun playing, running and giggling OUTDOORS. I just loved it and my kids had a blast.
The campground has a quiet time and they do well at enforcing the rules so that night time and early morning allows for some relaxation time.
There is a game room, huge playground, ice cream parlor, grill, laundry mat, gym (little one), a market and a full list of activities throughout the day. They also have a large dog run (I think there might have been more but we only went to one). The kids sometime used it for skating but the dogs did rule when they came through the gates. It’s very nicely shaded, lots of trees and benches to sit and watch your pups play.
Now for the con’s …
The people at the rental place for watersports were pretty grumpy and seemed annoyed with the guests. We went several times to rent different things and each time the customer service was awful (but we didn’t let it ruin our vacation). Side note: the rest of the staff through the campground were all very nice and great customer service. It was only the rental place that seemed to hate their jobs.
The place boost about “dog friendly” but really the only place you can bring your dog is outdoors your RV, on walks or at the dog park. Nothing inside and not on the beach so that kind of put restrictions on our activities. I think if it’s a dog friendly place than you should do a little more to include the family pet.
Lastly, the beach area is VERY small so just plan to get to it early to get a spot (like 5:45AM early).
Overall this is still my favorite campground!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetTea81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campland on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campland on the Bay

Property: Campland on the Bay
Address: 2211 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 568
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campland on the Bay is San Diego's premiere campground. Dig your toes in the sand on our private beach. Catch some sun and fun on a sailboat from our marina. Enjoy one of dozens of activities and amenities for kids and adults that make Campland everyone's favorite campground. You'll find hookups for RVs, spaces for tent camping and luxury amenities. With so much to do and enjoy, you may never want to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campland On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Campland Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing