We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refugee camp on the Bay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campland on the Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Refugee camp on the Bay!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We couldn't understand why the charge per night was $150. We thought maybe because it was a nice place. When we got there it was all downhill. The guy directing the checkins was rude. It wasn't until we sat in the RV for 20 minutes that we asked and found out we had to get out and checkin. Then when we got to our premium site we found out it was like a parking lot. No room to open up the awning!!! We asked our neighbors why they like it here. They said they could relax in the RV while the kids could run around. And they did! It was mobbed with kids running into people on their bikes. You could barely walk down the road without getting run over. The tent area was so packed it looked like a refugee camp. It was dirty and awful. Not worth it!!!

Room Tip: Across the water is Mission Bay RV site. It has no amenities but it was clean and the RV sites were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SJCorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    69
    33
    25
    32
See reviews for
127
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our 2nd year going to Campland and will continue to come back for many years. Campland is one of the most kid friendly vacation spots ever and has everything you need on site (pool, beach, activities, marina, store, restaurant, etc). This is not the place to go to get away from people, but to bring families and people together. The 11pm noise policy is enforced extremely well and it's amazing how quit the campground gets afterwards. I'm also amazed how clean Campland is considering the amount of campers. From the amazing cover bands (Rolling Stones, Dave Mathews Band, etc), to the multiple daily scheduled kids activities (soccer, sand castle building contest, dodgeball, etc), Campland has it all! The staff at Campland, in particular the recreational staff (Brian, Greg, KJ) are all rock stars and my kids can't stop talking about how fun they were. In summary, if you are looking for a great location for a family vacation experience where lifelong memories are made, then Campland is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmason22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you have kids and you are taking a vacation primarily for your kids, this is a great spot... Lots of activities. On the downside, the spaces are very small for the price and there is a lot of dirt/dust. Also, this is not the place to go for a peaceful low key camping experience... it can be very busy and noisy, even late at night (depends upon who is camping nearby). If you know these things going into it, and you want a place where your kids can play while you enjoy some time with the grown ups, this is a great spot! And the beach/bay is a wonderful, safe spot for everyone to swim and enjoy water sports.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquieterplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our 1st time actually getting a camper of our own at Campland and we will continue this for years to come! If you like the ocean and all that comes with it you will love it here!!!! There is something for all ages and Our trailer was more than comfortable!!! The restrooms were cleaned frequently and never had a problem with hot showers!!! The activities are great and it gives the kids tons of things to do, in turn gives mom n dad actual time for R&R!!!! All in all can't wait for our next trip!!!! Note: if you are going with other families call way in advance to get your sites together. Either way I can't say enough good things about this place!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and i can't understand why so many people like this place. There are a lot of people there....it is pretty noisy until 11 p.m. at night....the campsites are so small.....the the spots cost at least $100 per night.

The good.....the pool and not tubs are very nice to hang out at. They have a lot of things to do there like the bay. Magic Mountain and the San Diego zoo are very close by.

We will not be going back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilly4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Over 5 nights we had 2 neighbors both with over 10+ people(were talking parked next to us within a few feet - Very Small parking Spots! ) All were Loud & out of control. Even after talking to the so called security who did nothing & non existent in the park. We have camped All over the U.S. & have never had a worse experience.. would have been better off at a Walmart parking lot 40miles away. Won't be back..that's for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camper0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Was with a group who were in different locations on the camp grounds. At check out the attendant was very rude. Seems they stacked some charges on our credit card which we were not advised of and when ask to speak with a supervisor, told they would be in at 10AM. Come 10 AM, No supervisor. Told that they would be in at Noon. Returned at 1245, no supervisor. Was told they would be there at 2. Upon return at 3, told they left already. NOW, these charges are above 100.00 just for our site and out of four groups, two others had " charges" tacked on. I plan on calling Monday AM and if no results, contacting Sheriffs Office and file complaint along with my Credit card company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FriendlytheWolf, Marketing Manager at Campland on the Bay, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Michael,
I do apologize for the experience you had at Campland on the Bay. We never charge guests for extras without their permission, so it is possible that this was a misunderstanding. I have privately messaged you my contact information so that we can work out your issue and refund you what you were incorrectly charged. We apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you.
Sincerely,
Netanya Gelfand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#147 of 279 in San Diego
3,223 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
878 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campland on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campland on the Bay

Property: Campland on the Bay
Address: 2211 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 65 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 568
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campland on the Bay is San Diego's premiere campground. Dig your toes in the sand on our private beach. Catch some sun and fun on a sailboat from our marina. Enjoy one of dozens of activities and amenities for kids and adults that make Campland everyone's favorite campground. You'll find hookups for RVs, spaces for tent camping and luxury amenities. With so much to do and enjoy, you may never want to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campland On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Campland Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing