We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Family friendly and fun for everyone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campland on the Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campland on the Bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly and fun for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a camp ground that is one of the cleanest I've seen. The ice cream store/mini restaurant needs some help but the whole camping experience is great. Bathrooms are cleaned several times a day, and staff on site is so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fullerfab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    32
    25
    32
See reviews for
124
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my wife have camped and bag rolled on holidays for many years, last year we slept on the desert floor in a canvas sleeping roll with the stars for company, and my wife and I loved it.

About five years ago we slept in a dovecott in france with spiders dropping onto us all night followed by a few nights in a tent with mice running under the groundsheet at night, this we had little of no worries about.

Therefore when I tell you my wife burst into tears at the thought of the four nights I had booked for us here you will have some idea how bad it is.

We were in an RV and pushed onto a site covered in ants, which unfortunaley were not put off by the litter and discarded nappies that had not been cleaned up by the wardens or the previous occupants.

I read before booking of another British family who thought this was a disgusting site, but I was swayed by the years of holidaying here by more local members.

I can only say that British and American levels of quality may differ.

The beach was a great disapointment, and the only food bar and shop close at 7.00.

We did get to switch sites, but no cleaning was done until we were about to leave.

The facilities were always dirty, apart from the laundry (which was the highlight of the stay)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beachboy190928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

You are going to be given a tiny patch of dirt with no shade on top of your neighbors. You will have to fit both your car and your tent into this spot. Our neighbors were big families of 6-8 people camping in several tents and having a huge truck, so when in the morning I was leaving my tent I was bumping into their tale gate. No privacy WHATSOEVER. Terrible experience. Loved San Diego though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
367 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very popular RV park for the young crowd...fueled by beer, this RV park becomes a loud and rowdy place. The park staff encourage this, so if you are camping as a family, and you do not like to party hearty, avoid this place.

The park spaces are not all that great either. They have 50 amps but most are narrow and dirt. Most are too short for a large motor home. Prices are high as well.

Would not recommend this spot any time of year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a urban campground, with lots of activities, were you can set up a tent or rv, on dirt right next to someone else. It is crowded, noise all around, But most of the families that come here know that, and the kids and teens have fun! So if you want solitude, woods, stars, ect, head inland and go to a campground in the woods. But if you want to swim in a pool, dance to a band on a fri or sat. night, drink a cold one, get on your pc, drive over to sea world next door, roast a marsh mellow with a few hundred other people... this is fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed there a week in late July 2012 while in town for a family wedding. It was a great location, but it's a big noisy, crowded parking lot. The bathrooms are fairly clean considering the amount of people. They seriously enforce the 11 pm noise curfew which was good. Unsupervised kids are running, biking, and skateboarding everywhere. The private beach was so crowded we didn't even attempt to use it. Beware if you want to bring a pitbull or rotweiler or even a mixed pit or rottie. It doesn't matter how well behaved your dog is, they don't allow these breeds in their park. However, they do allow poorly behaved dogs of all other breeds. We wouldn't ever return to this park.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ditto the English man's review. Much better for RV people than tenters, but it is the only place in San diego to take tents and it is close to everything. He got a tent site for 50, I paid 75, +10 for an extra person. Hmmm.

Room Tip: Pick loop D by the dog walk for a quieter area tenters. It backs to open space, less campers around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Mission Bay RV Resort
Mission Bay RV Resort
#193 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campland on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campland on the Bay

Property: Campland on the Bay
Address: 2211 Pacific Beach Dr, San Diego, CA 92109-5699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 568
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campland on the Bay is San Diego's premiere campground. Dig your toes in the sand on our private beach. Catch some sun and fun on a sailboat from our marina. Enjoy one of dozens of activities and amenities for kids and adults that make Campland everyone's favorite campground. You'll find hookups for RVs, spaces for tent camping and luxury amenities. With so much to do and enjoy, you may never want to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campland On The Bay Hotel San Diego
Campland Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing