We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save room for dessert”
Review of Cowboy Star

Cowboy Star
Reserve with OpenTable
Cowboy Star is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #247 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $14 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Market and G Street
Transit: San Diego Trolley Blue Line and Orange Line: exit "Park and Market" Public Buses 5, 901, and 929 stop half a block from our front door on 10th Avenue.
Description: Cowboy Star is the first restaurant in San Diego’s East Village to serve up a unique dining experience by combining contemporary American cuisine with a western flare. Winner of the 2008 Orchid Award for Interior Design, the restaurant features exposed beam ceilings‚ cowboy accents‚ and classic landscape photography giving Cowboy Star a welcoming atmosphere where locals gravitate.A stunning display kitchen is the focal point of Cowboy Star, offering an insiders view of the action. The bar at Cowboy Star offers a stylish and cozy environment complete with large leather booths, a fireplace and hand-crafted cocktails. The Old West ambiance provides a laid-back and stylish background perfect for private parties and special events.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful prime steaks cooked just right. Good appetizers and sides. My husband ordered roasted bone marrow with his steak and was in heaven. I have not seen it on another menu.
The chocolate bread pudding is their signature dessert and really fabulous. Not too rich or sweet but soooo good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    77
    24
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow, what a terrific place to eat”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled extensively and have had some really fine dining experience s and this was one of the best. The staff was very professional and I can't say enough about the best steak I probably have ever had. The restaurant has a great relaxing atmosphere perfect for a special night out. The Cowboy Star has made it to my must visit list whenever I come to San Diego.
BTW, the chocolate bead pudding is amazing. Enough to share.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerryDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Friendly and they have kids meals that are just as tasty - sat us quickly even without a reservation

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank grad818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“meat heaven of the beaten track”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

i falled in love with san diego on a vacation 2 years ago, so i wanted to return which took place in april 2013. priceline directed me in the hotel indigo on the edge of gaslamp quarter. after a shopping trip we felt tired but hungry to go for dinner. we checked the tripadvisor app using local gps search and found the cowboy star restaurant beeing around the corner and highly recommended. open table.com worked best to make a reservation and when we popped in 30 minutes later we have been already awaited.
quick and pure, the meal was simply delicious, with attentive service. i liked the open kitchen and the atmosphaere in general. its not cheap to visit this gem which is little bit hidden north of the gaslamp quarter, but i enjoyed it very much.
will visit again when in san diego. don't forget to have look at the butcher store as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank munichflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food with a trendy vibe!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first trip to Cowboy Star was for dining for life, kudos and thank to C-* for their support. The service stellar, the steak cooked perfectly, the mashed potatoes oddly awesome, kitchen staff accommodating with our desired vegetable change ( 30% of the world will always find asparagus bitter and yucky but the green beans were perfect! The only negatives, the wine list did not impress me, relied too heavily on young wines from the northwest and frankly just over marked up. Restaurants that realize they will sell more of the higher priced bottles if they do not try double or triple the cost of bottle of wine that retails for $75-100 are my heroes. C-Star would do well do reevaluate pricing. Also consider adding more non seafood apps!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mopsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowboy Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing