We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay for a night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport to your Saves list
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA CA 92106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It was okay for a night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Don't come here if you're put off by outdated and worn carpets, drapes and bedding. This place is kind of a dump. On the upside, it's in a safe area, has covered parking under the building, and was quiet. The next nicest hotel in the area was $20 more per night and we just needed a place to rest our heads before we headed out to the airport the next day. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but we had no trouble sleeping. The hotel is on a busy road but once the traffic calmed down in the evening it was quiet and didn't disturb my sleep. I rated it average for the value I got compared to the money I paid for the room. I found a discounted price on Priceline.com, then called and asked the manager if I could have the Priceline.com from them directly. I saved $15 by going that route.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 86flowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    15
    16
    18
See reviews for
14
46
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a stinky hotel. from the minute you step into the lobby to the time you leave. It either smells like cigarettes or Indian food or farts in the elevator. The rooms are dated, they are broken down and the beds are hard as a rock. The towels are tiny but they do however supply you with ketchup packets of shampoo and conditioner. The wifi is almost non-existent and the free breakfast is day old costco pastry. The upside is, it is in Point Loma, a couple blocks from the harbor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieGearhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Arizona, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Granted it's not the marriot but its also no pay by the hour motel. I am from Arizona and work in the resort industry, and I loved it! The location can't be beat and the rooms wile not the most modern are comfortable and do the job. After all I booked this hotel with the intention of not spending a lot of time in it. The parking gradge offered a safe plase for me to leave my car, and I felt comfortable to walk around the neighborhood at any time of day. I enjoied drinking my complimentary coffie with my sub way sandwich (store is within walking distance of the hotel) on the communal balcony every morning. As a report employee I would happily stay here for another 10 nights anytime. The staff are wonderful and just as a side note there is a farmers market every Sunday that is just splendid. All I have to say to you is stop reading and book it already!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I booked this hotel online with a car and boy do I regret it. Looking at the pictures online, you would not think this place was such a dump! I immediately walked into smelling an Indian market. They were still using paper to complete the hotel forms! I had a 3rd floor room with view of the "courtyard". So basically i could see all the hotel family members going back and forth to their rooms.

It is close to things which was great. I needed that because i only stayed one night and im sure thats all I could stomach. The redeeming quality to this hotel is that the owners and family are all really nice, BUT thats not worth wondering if you're contracting a disease while you sleep. Slept fully clothed and still barely slept a wink.

If you can do better, please do!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tequila82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I walked in to a tiny and extremely dirty lobby, that reeked of curry. Every time I stay at an Indian owned facility, I notice they seem to actually take pride in filth.

The room size was adequate with bright walls, which made it kind of cheerful. Hard mattress, box spring is torn to shreds, stained quilt, nasty stained chair, no coffee pot (spring for a Mr. Coffee Junior wouldja!) old lamps, broken fridge (looks like they took their furniture from a dumpster), however, the carpet looks to be new. Mold around the shower faucet and shower head. Weak water pressure. I invested in my own pillow and a can of disinfectant. It should be about $40 a night, maximum, not $62. I don't stay in the room very much, as I'm always out and about in such a great location. Their wifi connection didn't work, but I connected to someone else's and it's strong, so I didn't bother to mention it to them.

The personnel is fairly sweet, and that is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I can't say for sure if I was bitten by bugs on the bed, but the carpet and room smelled old and mould and the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired.

Pros: in parking expensive city like San Diego, the free parking us a godsend

Look for some place else if you have a choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. When first checking in, we were greeted by the owner, Dan and he immediately made us feel welcome. He had some larger rooms that were available for our stay and upgraded us to a larger one.
Room was on the 4th floor overlooking the Bay, Shelter Island was just a couple blocks away and the downtown city lights were a fantastic view from the large common patio/balcony on each floor!
Dan was very helpful recommending places to go with regard to what we were interested in.
There is a liquor/grocery store right across the street as well as the Harbor Pub next to it. Plenty of breakfast cafes or restaurants to walk to in the morning.
I would definitely stay here again. The place was recommended to me by a friend of mine who lives in the SD area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#128 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#160 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
2.7 mi away
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#145 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn and Suites San Diego Near Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport

Property: Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Address: 1150 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabrillo Inn & Suites-Airport is located in Point loma Village and Shelter island. Walking distance to bay,Sports Fishing and America's Cup Yacht Harbor.Near airport,seaworld,zoo and major attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport Hotel San Diego
Cabrillo Inn And Suites Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing