We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Da Worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #185 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Da Worst”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Find anywhere else - even a park bench -- just a horrible hotel the list is endless and looks like the hotel management has never upgraded or spent any money on repairs - you can start with the multiple tears in the carpet - the ripped and shredded curtain - the ratty bed cover and blanket also with numerous holes and rips - the bathroom floor with a pocket of mold on the tiles - no cover on an expose bathroom light fixture - numerous chips in the bathtub - and the bathroom toilet and shower are separate from the wash basin - we went screaming out of this horrible place - don't believe any pictures they must be from 20 years ago

Room Tip: try a brand name hotel - best western or ramada are near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeB8967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt_Loma2, Manager at Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We would like to say we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced staying with us. However we have a no pet policy and this room was issued because you had a pet. This hotel is an older hotel and we keep it clean and our rooms are all compliant with all safety standards. Our pictures are very accurate. We apologize again that you were given the room that we accept pets in. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    21
    16
    20
See reviews for
19
51
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have enjoyably been visiting this small family-run Inn in the sleepy Point Loma Village, for years. There have been some 'unflattering reviews' published on the property however, it has been my increasing experience the problems are most with many poorly mannered guests - not the Inn itself! Contradictory to (other) comments, the place is very nicely kept - considering it is an older bldng. The Housekeeping is spotless, the in-room amenities are basics not "4-star", but all work together well. The view of the San Diego bay and glittering skyline from the upper deck, rivals none on all of Point Loma. The Inn itself used to be a quiet place to come and rest, where most everything falls silent in the Village after dark - only the sound of the Pt.Cabrillo foghorn in the distance can be heard. The REAL problem is the increase in ill-mannered, poorly bred guests. Because the property is built around a small courtyard, all sound carries - particularly after hours. There has been an influx of annoying, rude guests running outside @ all hours to talk on their Cell phones, recent stays. Naturally, the acoustics do not support this well and many's the time I have had some moron walking about late into the night or early morning hours, speaking @ full volume as they stomp past the windows. The reception both WiFi and Cell has never posed a challenge therefore, it is simple to stay IN the room to make Cell calls. This is just an ignorant and very stupid habit many people practice nowadays, of running outside for the whole world to hear their rambling babble. I have complained many times to the Mngr. and he is quick to scold the offending guest. I recommend it has become necessary to post signs around the courtyard/common areas, reminding Guests to be courteous around the rooms & no outdoor noise after hours; the sole problematic situation I have been disturbed by. As for the rooms, heavy reno. is underway at this time, and some of the odor issues will soon be vanquished. Their parking can indeed be tight no doubt however all in all, this place still gives you the most bang for a buck, close to Shelter Island.

Room Tip: Close to Shelter Island - just across street. Restaurants, Village, & Post Office, easy walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt_Loma2, Manager at Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your honest and helpful review. We are taking many steps to improve our hotel as well as the upcoming guests. We appreciate you staying with us and being so thorough in your assessment. We hope that you will come back and stay with us as our hotel will be very different in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, OK
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Granted it was less expensive than some other offerings, but it was also Cheap!! Smelled, dirty and was an old hotel. The staff was friendly, the parking was very cramped, but it is San Diego. We needed a place to stay for our sons graduation from Marine Corps boot camp, and this did provide for that need.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkin_Hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here to catch a flight early in the morning. We were able to leave our car at the hotel and the owner drove us to and from the airport! It was extremely efficient and convenient.

Location is fantastic. There are some wonderful restaurants within short walking distance. Plus it is five minutes to the airport.

The rooms are old but clean. But everything worked and it was a nice size. A microwave and refrigerator were also in the room.

The price was great! We were able to spend the night, leave our car for 5 days and get shuttled to and from the airport for less than the price of one night at Holiday Inn express.

Overall a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbbikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I wasnt sure what to expect as there were a few negative reviews, but i found the staff very friendly. When we arrived, it was late and dan, the manager stayed up to welcome us in and was most welcoming - epsecially after a horribly long bus trip! he was a wealth of knowledge of the area, as was his daughter, who was manning the office in the morning. this family run business has the personal touch - and is well priced too. sure, it doesnt have hair dryers etc, and quite old furnishings, but is a bargain for the price and clean and comfy - great bed, nice and firm, i travel alot, and of the last 3 hotels i have stayed at, that were all francieses, didnt compare with the hospitaliy here, and that goes a long wayin my eyes! - it was like a home away from home - will definately be back!! - Deborah

Room Tip: stay on 4th floor, has great view of san diego and harbour, which is 10 minutes walk away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The service was good. Granted we woke the guy up at 1:30 for a room he almost just about scratched his lower area in front of us while waking up to check us in. Parking is awful!! I'm not sure that the walls even count as walls. I bet if you numbed one they'd all down or you'd fall through! And the bed was totally horriable. I could have slept on the floor for the same amount of comfort. And if anyone sneezes you can hear it through the walls! AND for being one of the higher priced places with all this!!! They should really lower their prices so you can get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I only booked here because it was still cheaper than in other hotels in San Diego, it's just ok, nothing fancy and even and the price doesn't match what you get, the whole bulding and the rooms are quite run-down. On the other hand, there are a microwave and a fridge in the room, the bed is comfy, service is good and the room was clean.

A few bad notes, the room had a faint smell, the parking is extremely narrow, we parked in the open parking lot on the side of the hotel and the morning after we found a flat tire, we asked a young man at the reception if he could tell us of repair store nearby, but he just didn't seem to know what we were talking about, we gave up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#141 of 278 in San Diego
1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#160 of 278 in San Diego
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
9.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport

Property: Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Address: 1150 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2660
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabrillo Inn & Suites-Airport is located in Point loma Village and Shelter island. Walking distance to bay,Sports Fishing and America's Cup Yacht Harbor.Near airport,seaworld,zoo and major attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn And Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing