We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #180 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here to catch a flight early in the morning. We were able to leave our car at the hotel and the owner drove us to and from the airport! It was extremely efficient and convenient.

Location is fantastic. There are some wonderful restaurants within short walking distance. Plus it is five minutes to the airport.

The rooms are old but clean. But everything worked and it was a nice size. A microwave and refrigerator were also in the room.

The price was great! We were able to spend the night, leave our car for 5 days and get shuttled to and from the airport for less than the price of one night at Holiday Inn express.

Overall a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtbbikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

I wasnt sure what to expect as there were a few negative reviews, but i found the staff very friendly. When we arrived, it was late and dan, the manager stayed up to welcome us in and was most welcoming - epsecially after a horribly long bus trip! he was a wealth of knowledge of the area, as was his daughter, who was manning the office in the morning. this family run business has the personal touch - and is well priced too. sure, it doesnt have hair dryers etc, and quite old furnishings, but is a bargain for the price and clean and comfy - great bed, nice and firm, i travel alot, and of the last 3 hotels i have stayed at, that were all francieses, didnt compare with the hospitaliy here, and that goes a long wayin my eyes! - it was like a home away from home - will definately be back!! - Deborah

Room Tip: stay on 4th floor, has great view of san diego and harbour, which is 10 minutes walk away!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deborah911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The service was good. Granted we woke the guy up at 1:30 for a room he almost just about scratched his lower area in front of us while waking up to check us in. Parking is awful!! I'm not sure that the walls even count as walls. I bet if you numbed one they'd all down or you'd fall through! And the bed was totally horriable. I could have slept on the floor for the same amount of comfort. And if anyone sneezes you can hear it through the walls! AND for being one of the higher priced places with all this!!! They should really lower their prices so you can get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I only booked here because it was still cheaper than in other hotels in San Diego, it's just ok, nothing fancy and even and the price doesn't match what you get, the whole bulding and the rooms are quite run-down. On the other hand, there are a microwave and a fridge in the room, the bed is comfy, service is good and the room was clean.

A few bad notes, the room had a faint smell, the parking is extremely narrow, we parked in the open parking lot on the side of the hotel and the morning after we found a flat tire, we asked a young man at the reception if he could tell us of repair store nearby, but he just didn't seem to know what we were talking about, we gave up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I love this little hidden find, across the street from beautiful Shelter Island. The place is family-owned and I discovered the property quite by accident, several years ago. I have continued to visit ever since. Contrary to some of the previous 'negatives', I would like to highlight the positives only; the biggest being - QUIET & no families w/ noisey, little kids running loose, infants squealing or otherwise causing a disturbance! That unto itself, is worth the price of admission. As a frequent Traveller, it is next to IMpossible, to locate 'modestly-priced' hotels, where families w/ small kids do not dominate. I think it is because the bed situation at the Cabrillo is not conduscive to other than Couple or Singles (no twins). I appreciate this feature and makes my stays so much more enjoyable for the peace of mind. Add to that, the beds (mattresses) are wonderful @ this place!! Firm - if you have Orthopedic issues. Also, the views from the top floor deck are priceless of the S.D. Bay and main port of entry; many times you can look out and see Cruise-liners leaving or coming back in - not to mention all the Navy ship activity. A true boat-enthusiast's dream!! Prices very reasonable during the week and everything is w/in walking-distance to the main Village, a plethora of interesting restaurants, and of course, Shelter Island. I recommend the place very highly. I like to take the good with the bad - and there is definately more 'good' here to be experienced....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The owners were nice enough when booking the reservation. However, we needed to sleep becasue we'd had a long day and were going to have to catch an early flight the next morning.
The walls were paper-thin and we could hear our neighbours as though they were in our room.

As we were turning in, there was a huge clamour in the hall--there were several rooms checking in and making tons of noise--they meant well the rooms have no sound-proofing. I asked to owners to be moved to another room. They said there were no other rooms. I then asked for a refund as we needed to be able to sleep. The said "no refund" and became nasty. I wasn't impressed. We left, found another quiet room and on our return home, disputed our credit charge which we won and received ourt refund. I mentioned to the owners of Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport that I'd make sure others would avoid this situation by writing this review, so here you go: if you need a quiet room, AVOID THIS ESTABLISHMENT.
Helmut

Room Tip: Don't patronize this establishment if you want a quiet room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helmut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This inn has a very pleasant staff! Especially, the manager, Dan, was most accomodating. I recommend this inn, if you want a good price and to be close to Shelter Island. It's walking distance to almost anything you need, and near bars/restaurants, where the locals frequent. I stay in the area, often, and give this Inn 5 stars, for the location, value and hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ScarlettHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#143 of 278 in San Diego
1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#36 of 278 in San Diego
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#161 of 278 in San Diego
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 1150 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabrillo Inn & Suites-Airport is located in Point loma Village and Shelter island. Walking distance to bay,Sports Fishing and America's Cup Yacht Harbor.Near airport,seaworld,zoo and major attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn And Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing