We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #185 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Using trip advisor recommendations, we stayed here one night on our way to Ensenada Mexico. Very dingy front lobby area, and our room was pretty run down. There was a tile
loose in the bathroom, the furnishings all outdated and shabby. Lots of traffic noise from
the street, too. Breakfast is non existent - a coffee urn and some dried out pastry. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. However, we stayed at the Best Western Lamplighter on the way home, and for only an extra $10 - and there were 4 of us, not 2! - we had a much
nicer room, very modern, and a super breakfast. Would never recommend the Cabrillo or stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momma6Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    21
    16
    20
See reviews for
19
51
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clanwilliam, Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Our last visit to Point Loma was two years ago when we stayed at the Dolphin. This time we needed a place that was pet friendly so we thought we would try the Cabrillo.
The hotel is an odd building from an architectural perspective. The basement is the indoor parking area. The office is on the first floor but there are no rooms there. The second floor is numbered as the third and the third floor is numbered as the fourth floor. The rooms all face toward the inside of the hotel which is actually hollow with a void that opens to the sky on the two floors with rooms. The rooms on the south side of the hotel have views out onto south Point Loma whereas the rooms on the north side have views of the void.The front of the building opens out onto busy Rosecrans St. with a bit of a view of the harbour. This is the smoking area but also makes a sort of private deck, nice if its sunny and warm.
The continental breakfast is a bit skimpy, coffee and strudel. Fortunately, this area of Point Loma is very visitor friendly and if you so desire all sorts of cuisine is within easy walking distance, as are banks, laundromat, general store, pharmacy, post office, liquor stores etc.
Our room was on the south side on the fourth floor and was therefore a bit noisy with the sliding door open, but my wife's snoring largely drowned it out. Our room was a bit crowded as there was an extra single bed in there that we didn't need, however the fridge and microwave worked fine. The TV was a bit small but compensated by having a good selection of channels and the wifi also worked well. We originally booked for 3 nights and even took an extra night and in hindsight we should have stayed 5 nights or even longer.
Overall, we found the Cabrillo to be good value, it's well located, clean and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BHP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed for one night after flying from the UK to San Diego. Great service and pleasant clean rooms. I looking for a room later on next week and I'm hoping to return here.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planehazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I was looking for a place to stay in San Diego with price being the main concern. The queen bed room I stayed in for 2 nights was a typical inexpensive hotel room that you enter directly from an outside area. However, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it had a microwave and refigerator, and TV with HBO, free wireless internet and underground free parking; all for about $50 per night. It's a great location with plenty of stores and restaurants nearby, and although not at all fancy, it was quiet, clean, and really cheap! For the money, no complaints at all; highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_TravelerTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Very friendly, clean, excellent location. Not sure if he was owner but guy at front desk made us feel at home. Let us park my father in laws red Corvette in special place. Excellent customer service. Staying longer next time!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msbrwnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The room was basically clean (with the exception of shower curtain and bathtub drain plug). It was very tiny (barely enough room for the two beds), but had a mini-fridge and microwave (but no alarm clock). My biggest complaint was the in-room A/C unit. You had to keep the door (to the non-existent balcony) open in order for it not to generate more heat than cold (it wasn't vented, so this was the only way to vent it). So, I heard street noise, all night, while trying to sleep there (including a early morning garbage truck and all-hours sirens). Did not get a good night's sleep here, and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starshine514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

las vegas, nv
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Cabrillo Inn Point Loma for 2 nights over the 4th of July weekend. We found this hotel to be a basic older "no frills" property but clean and comfortable and it certainly met our needs while visiting San Diego. Hosts Dan and Joy were very friendly and accommodating and made us feel at home. The location is excellent !! We would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone seeking basic lodging while in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gusto777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#141 of 278 in San Diego
1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#160 of 278 in San Diego
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
9.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport

Property: Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Address: 1150 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2660
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabrillo Inn & Suites-Airport is located in Point loma Village and Shelter island. Walking distance to bay,Sports Fishing and America's Cup Yacht Harbor.Near airport,seaworld,zoo and major attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabrillo Inn And Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing