We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: Dirty, depressing, boring, overpriced, rude staff, awful place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Bay RV Resort
Ranked #183 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warning: Dirty, depressing, boring, overpriced, rude staff, awful place”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

If you desire a nice vacation, DON"T GO HERE !!!!!! Save yourself from a boatload of nightmares and go to Campland instead! Go anywhere instead of here! Nothing to do except rot like the old mobile homes you are surrounded by! Awful, awful, place!
Nothing but a dirty empty parking lot that they call a "resort". ACK!!!

Room Tip: Stay home or visit your Aunt Hazel instead! Don't visit here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
temecula. ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

it is a giant black-top, but that was ok.. you can just walk to the bay, but the way they have the rows set up with no walk-ways - people just walk through your sight. that's ok too.. it was the neighbor totally cranking up his leveling blocks and moving everything around and shining all his lights at 3:10.. I think if you weren't near this space you probably had a nice time, but I paid extra for bay view, strain your neck.. they said quiet time was 11 pm.. the people moving and making a huge racket.. hooking up and all that is not a sleepy time thing. so from 3:10 to 4:30 we had that going on, and then everybody else woke up at 6:30.. not a relaxing time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank numberonerep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brawley, ca
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

First of all let me say that this is my 3rd consecutive year staying here.

On the good side, it is a great place if you have children. The property is (mostly) fenced in and children of all ages ride around on bikes, skateboards, scooters and anything else they can find. The mgmt. shows movies on Saturday nights. The beach area is waveless and safe. It is a much quieter place than Campland on the Bay which is close by and can be heard across the water at night.

The negatives are that the property is basically a giant asphalt parking lot with very little distance between spaces and no privacy. Because the area is safe, many parents let their kids run wild and more than once I've had to tell children that my campsite is not their play area.

The mgmt. advertises internet access. It is poor at best. Each year they claim it's new and improved and each year it is crappy.

They also claim to have cable tv. Of the 18 or so channels listed as available, I get 6 and most are the quality of an old school aerial antenna.

The previous 2 years, I had a spot on the entrance road of the facility. The adults were noisier than the kids late at night. This year I moved over the southernmost row and have found it quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Reasonable rates; friendly, helpful staff; beautiful location; will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabfam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is a great place, very clean and safe. WiFi seems excellent ( Im on it now writing review) Extra large paved campsites which makes it great to spread out. Will add this to our regular campground spots

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulsalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Internet service is very poor. It will boot you off continuously and very slow as well. Interference with cell phones was also an issue. Both my husband and I had issues with our cell phones where the other person on the call couldn't hear us about a minute into the call. That was very frustrating. We would walk around trying to see if other locations were better but same results everywhere in the complex. Working from my computer/phone wasn't even an option and my job is a work from home type of job. They won't let you leave early due to this either which sucked for us.

The mobile home park next to the entry is very dilapidated and worn down and we're quite surprised some of them are still standing. Asphalt can also be too hot for pets to walk/lay on and there's little strips of grass that are in between rows, but not convenient to get too.

The price is high for the location and amenities especially when you can't use the wifi or talk on your phone. Probably worth a weekend retreat but not an extended stay.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salem30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We had stayed in this rv park several years ago, and while it isn't very glamorous, we did enjoy being right next to the water, could sit by the big windows & see all the water birds in the morning. It cost a little more, but we felt it was worth it.
Here's what you should check out ahead of time. When I called back about a month ago to reserve a spot for next winter, we were told we could not, under any circumstances, pull our motor home into a "bay view" space - had to back in. This would put our bedroom next to the bay - not much view there. We should pay extra for that?????? Found another park next to the water that is more flexible. And, for a 5th wheel it would probably be fine.
The best thing about it is the location in relation to all the attractions in San Diego. Very east to get to anything.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wintertraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Rodeway Inn San Diego Beach SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#112 of 278 in San Diego
594 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Bay RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Bay RV Resort

Property: Mission Bay RV Resort
Address: 2727 De Anza Rd, San Diego, CA 92109-6808
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Rv Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing