We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best theatre venue in all of San Diego!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Globe Theatre

Old Globe Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Balboa Park Highlights Small-Group Walking Tour
Ranked #48 of 426 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tony Award-winning Old Globe is one of the country’s leading professional regional theatres and has stood as San Diego’s flagship arts institution for over 80 years. Under the leadership of Erna Finci Viterbi Artistic Director Barry Edelstein, The Old Globe produces a year-round season of 15 productions of classic, contemporary, and new works on its three Balboa Park stages: the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the 600-seat Old Globe Theatre and the 250-seat Sheryl and Harvey White Theatre, both part of The Old Globe’s Conrad Prebys Theatre Center, and the 605-seat outdoor Lowell Davies Festival Theatre, home of its internationally renowned Shakespeare Festival. More than 250,000 people attend Globe productions annually and participate in the theatre’s education and community programs. Numerous world premieres such as the 2014 Tony Award winner for Best Musical, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, Bright Star, Allegiance, The Full Monty, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels,and the annual holiday musical Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas! have been developed at The Old Globe and have gone on to enjoy highly successful runs on Broadway and at regional theatres across the country.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best theatre venue in all of San Diego!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This complex of three stages is not only beautiful but historically significant in that it has risen from the flames like the Phoenix many years ago and has evolved through the years into one of San Diego's most important theatre venues - a Tony Award winning theatre that always pleases its subscribers as well as visitors.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    84
    16
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Professional Plays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love watching Shakespeare come alive at the Old Globe Theatre, and it is the main reason I watch plays at this venue. The Globe has the most talented actors and directors, and I especially love their $20 under 30 program. I honestly have no complaints about this venue at all since going there always makes my night so much better. Venue is ideal for dates.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yasi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Bad Seat in the House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We went and saw Bethany at the Old Globe. We were actually in the Sheryl & Harvey White Theatre which was a little disappointing because I didn't realize that there were different theatre's at Old Globe. So we were not officially in the "Old Globe". But regardless, this theatre was round and we paid for the "cheap seats" as opposed to the more expensive ones. That being said, I believe that it really didn't matter, the theatre is so small and intimate that there is no bad seat in the house. The show was great and I wished that I lived locally so I could go and see more. The walk to the theatre was nice too – through Balboa Park. Just a quick hint though – if you wanted to grab a quick dessert or something before you went into the theater – for some reason why sell out quick so don’t place your heart on anything in particular unless you get there early. They advise you get there an hour in advance – we did and still missed out on the “good desserts”. But that really isn’t the point of the experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank seoul1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter's Tale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We caught a production in February 2014. I really enjoyed the seating - we had a balcony spot. There was food & drink available just outside the theatre which is located in lovely Balboa Park. The only down side is that it's a bit out of the way, which means public transportation can be a challenge so plan accordingly. Enjoy the show!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank christa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

All seats are excellent. The play was on the dark side, but the theater experience was top-notch. Highly recommended..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Old Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing