We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great way to spend an evening in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Globe Theatre

Old Globe Theatre
Ranked #34 of 406 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the nation's top regional theaters, the Old Globe continues to draw more than 300,000 people annually.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an evening in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Always a great performance - wonderful cast and production of Richard III this year

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    81
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shakespeare Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Summer isn't summer without going to the outdoor Shakespeare festival at the Lowell Davies Theater at the Old Globe. Wonderful adaptations of the Bard's greatest hits. I remember my first time and seeing Henry II with John Goodman. Always fabulous sets and costuming. It is outside so bring layers-they will rent blankets-but I always bring my own- and there is a little cafe for dinner before the show and it is reasonable and pretty good but a better bet is the sculpture garden down the street (check if it is open for dinner). Come early and walk around the historical park a bit (built for the World's Fair in the 30's) and find it easier to park. For 10.00 you can get Valet parking in front of the Fine Art Museum-well worth it! Come even earlier and take in the Fine Art Gallery, Timken Gallery, and the Mingei Gallery-all in the same area and wonderful eye candy for art lovers. Look on-line for coupons or days they are less expensive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaines2cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top notch productions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Professional productions, nice theaters (there are three of them in all), good sets, a mixure of types and styles of plays, and pretty reasonable prices. Recommended. We often have season tickets.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pbridge1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like going back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

It's outside theatre be sure to wear something warm it does cool down at night. They do provide blankets for you. The bar is ok Would be nice if they allowed you take a drink with you. After all some of the more prestigious theatres in London allow a cocktail during the show. We really enjoyed the show and will go back next summer.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best theatres in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Have seen several productions there and the theatres (there are three I believe in the complex) are all excellant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Globe Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Old Globe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing