We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First went for the decor, but will return for the FOOD!”
Review of Vintage Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vintage Sol
Ranked #15 of 34 San Diego B&B and Inns
Washington DC & San Diego CA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“First went for the decor, but will return for the FOOD!”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed with Paisley at Vintage Sol for two nights in August 2010.
THINGS WE LOVED ABOUT VINTAGE SOL:
1) The food. WOW, is she a great cook! If you like tamales, be sure to ask for her homemade ones! Best I've EVER had, and I've had plenty.
2) The decor. Those who said it was cluttered must be neat freaks. The place was spotlessly clean and very attractively decorated. The website gives you a good idea of what the decor is like, so if that isn't your cup of tea then don't book here! (Weve stayed at many B&Bs throughout the world: most B&Bs have similar amounts of brick-a-brack.) The floor of the guest room is amazing, beautifully tiled with lovely mosaics.
3) Thoughtfully appointed! The bed is really comfortable, the patio is lovely (with a tinkly fountain too!), and the room has everything you could need (refrigerator, TV, plates, silverware, etc). It is indeed a small room but not as small as the proprietess publicizes: we were a bit nervous about that but then pleasantly surprised.
4) Location location location! Not close to the beaches, but very centrally located with easy freeway access from 805 and 8. (Im a native San Diegan and wanted something close to visit family---and there are precious few good hotels east of Mission Valley.) The neighborhood is fantastic---lots within walking distance, very artsy, good restaurants and a couple of great wine bars.
5) Paisley is a great hostess! Very friendly, totally helpful, very accommodating. Even gave me her tamale recipe! And we encouraged visits from Lucy the bulldog too, who is just adorable. If you don't like dogs, Paisley is careful to keep Lucy away from guest areas---but if you do like dogs, Lucy is delightful!
6) Free parking, and plenty of it, right in front of the house! You'll be the only guest (since there is only one room) so there is plenty of privacy, too.
7) Did I mention THE FOOD? Paisley also gave us lots of fresh fruit, and all of it was perfectly ripe and sweet and delicious. Attractively and whimsically presented, too! Warning---the breakfasts are HUGE, so if you don't eat a lot you need to ask her to go easy on you. But not if she is serving those tamales! If you can't eat them all just take them with you for lunch, because you won't find anything better at ANY restaurant!

THINGS WE DIDN'T LOVE ABOUT VINTAGE SOL:
Nothing! We will very likely stay here again. We recommend it unreservedly to anyone looking for a nice B&B away from the beach/downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roeslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
40
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Vintage Sol for 3 nights. This was truly one of the best parts of our trip. We had such a delightful time there. The place is so charming and private. It was so convenient, and we loved the room. The bed is absolutely heavenly! We were honestly sad to leave it. And the food was just outstanding! I am an avid cook and I have to say, Paisley's food was spot-on. She even had the room stocked with snacks and drinks. Finally, Paisley herself is so kind. She was always helpful and accommodating, and has fantastic recommendations. We debated between Vintage Sol vs. a 4- or 5-star hotel, and we are SO glad we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pre84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Loved this place,truly a hidden gem.
Paisley has great notebooks filled with everything, menus
directions, very helpful.
Breakfast..what can I say..great
Knowing that there was a double bed I was reluctant.
But after reading previous reviews we had to stay here.
To our surprise...queen bed and it was one of our best nights sleep
on our 2 week vacation.
Do yourself a favor and stay here...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed here, it was our first trip to San Diego. It was great, we just felt welcomed from the minute we pulled in. Paisly really does know her way around, and she even has everything mapped out and organized in binders in the room. The patio was amazing, the food that she cooks in the morning is to die for. And a huge plus is that you really are only like 5 mins away from everything. Balboa park was ridiculously close. We will definitely stay again and would recommend it. Thanks for a memorable trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pci1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2009

PROS
- Paisley, the hostess, is exceptionally informative and very hospitable! We always felt taken care of. And she always had great suggestions for what to do in the city.
- In the room you'll find very helpful binders with maps, local restaurant and store reviews, and great ideas of what to do over your stay in San Diego.
- Beautiful private courtyard with candles, birds, fountain and relaxing music.
- Best of all would have to be the amazing breakfast!!! We did a lot of expensive fine dining in San Diego. But nothing came close to Paisley's cooking!!!
- The sweet and helpful hostess. I just had to say that again. Really!

CONS
- Our only constructive critique is that the eclectic decor is a bit cluttered. Paisley is obviously an avid collector which makes the room memorable, fun, and unfortunately a bit cramped. But all the pros obviously outway this setback.

We highly recommend Vintage Sol to anyone who wants to have an eclectic adventure in San Diego!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megibben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new yor
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed at vintage sol for three days and it was an amazing vacation. As you enter you are amazed at all the decorations and accommodations that Paisley herself arranged. It's filled with one of a kind artsy decor that makes you feel special to be there. The room is cozy and you could feel the love that Paisley had put into it. She has all the information you could ever need about San Diego. The refrigerator is filled with ice pops and refreshments. She also has all different kinds of teas and coffee. The place also has an excellent selection of cds and dvds. She even had a first-aid kit. This is a spectacular place and highly recommended! I wish I could give it more stars.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I returned last week from our annual trip out west and stayed at the Vintage Sol while in San Diego. We were so happy with our stay at Vintage Sol! It was incredible! Loved the private courtyard and the entire feel of the B & B. Paisley is quite a phenomenal chef and had true authentic dishes for us out in the courtyard every morning. Delicious! Vintage Sol is a "little slice of heaven." We have stayed at B & B's all over the country and have experienced some great stays, but I have got to say, Vintage Sol is at the very top of our list. Thanks Paisley for such a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#33 of 278 in San Diego
2,158 reviews
Berkshire Motor Hotel
#186 of 278 in San Diego
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Park
#125 of 278 in San Diego
553 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Sol

Property: Vintage Sol
Address: 3606 Felton St, San Diego, CA 92104-3811
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Sol is a unique artsy Spanish Bed and Breakfast. A fresh new approach to the traditional B&B. Stay in your private tiny Casita filled with Mexican handcrafts, revolving vintage collections and local artists work. Eat alfresco in the color drenched courtyard with fountains, herbs and fruits. We use organic cage free eggs and organic herbs in our dishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing