We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" An Offbeat Artistic B&B"”
Review of Vintage Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vintage Sol
Ranked #13 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In our quest to find the most unique B&B in Southern California we have found it. The art covers
every square inch both inside and outside. It's a feast for the eyes for art lovers. Very fun and
funky. Paisley is a great cook and breakfast on the patio is a great experience. The casita is
small but it was great to have a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 51 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

I feel so blessed to have been able to stay here! Paisly is truly a fantastic host. As everyone else has written, her breakfasts are to die for!! The room is soo cute and its small, but not crazy small. I mean you have your own little kitchen area, small bathroom with shower, toilet and sink as well as a queen size bed and some walking room. She provides shampoo and conditioner as well as some snacks!! This B and B is also in a really great area!!! 5-10 minutes to pretty much anywhere you'd want to go in San Diego! I can't wait to go back. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Like so many other reviewers we totally enjoyed the look of the inn and Paisely was full of information and knowledge. The food is delicious and freshly made, unique and pretty to look at as well as to eat. The courtyard with all the art and decorations is a feat for the eyes. Neighbor is great close to everything and friendly. We did find the place a little clutter and while we are both pretty small we were on an extended stay with two suitcases which we had ti keep shoving under the bed so there was room to walk around. The courtyard is at a bit cluttered and dusty a great find but if you need wide open spaces this is not your place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innkeeper2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here in February 2012 and after reading reviews from Tripadvisor we were not disappointed. The casita was small but cosy. The decor was never ending and took many pictures. The breakfast was excellent and we had everything we needed to store and cook our own food. Paisley helped us with attractions and great places to eat. We would recommend this great gem to couples wanting a change from stero type hotels. Thanks Paisley!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBFinWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Vintage Sol is a unique bed and breakfast experience! Paisley has filled this tiny guest cottage with Mexican folk art and also her own creations, creating an oasis of color and charm. The location is in a residential neighborhood with plenty of parking, and within easy walking distance of many restaurants. The tourist information provided in the room is excellent, and Paisley offered lots of interesting suggestions each morning as she served us our plentiful and delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here in September and were scheduled to stay with friends at the end of the trip up in Oceanside. One thing I can say is I wish we would have stayed here the entire time.

I cannot say enough great things about Vintage Sol! From the fantastic location, to the charm of the casita, to the hospitality of the owners! Paisley is an incredible cook and hostess! The breakfast every morning was a sheer delight. We didn't even have to eat lunch a few days. The casita has so much charm and character. We got up and saw something new every day (before we ever left). The location to many great restaurants and bars in Northpark was so easy. And the ease of getting to everywhere else in San Diego was a relief.

If you want to stay somewhere and get an authentic vibe of San Diego, I would recommend staying here. It's as if you actually are living there, even if it's only for a few days.
We loved it and cannot wait to go back!!!! It's one of our all time favorite places to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank married_n_Tortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I went to San Diego for the first time and we chose this little casita for its location and its eclectic charm ! We had a lovely time in the private garden, our room was full of colors and antiques; angels were everywhere... Our host was very friendly and helped us plan some activities. She had a lot of material on what to do in San Diego and full reviews on the best restaurants and places to hang out. WE love the casita because it has everything in it : the bed was really comfortable; it has all we need to make our own meals; her breakfast were delicious and generous. We felt welcomed and very happy.

Linda and Jean

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,096 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Sol

Address: 3606 Felton St, San Diego, CA 92104-3811
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $130 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Sol is a unique artsy Spanish Bed and Breakfast. A fresh new approach to the traditional B&B. Stay in your private tiny Casita filled with Mexican handcrafts, revolving vintage collections and local artists work. Eat alfresco in the color drenched courtyard with fountains, herbs and fruits. We use organic cage free eggs and organic herbs in our dishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing