We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican Tacos”
Review of Rubio's

Rubio's
Ranked #865 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Tacos”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is a very good place to eat tacos mainly in California. They use to serve you in plastic dishes and you had to use plastic silverware, like a typical fast food place.
A short time ago they were bought by an american food chain ($80 million), and they have been able to keep their quality and to add several new options in the menu.
An important change: No more plastic. They are trying to make you feel that you are in a fast food restaurant no more.
I like that as long that their quality and prices stay the same.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMareyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“always outstanding”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

always delicious, tasty, friendly and quick. my favorite mexican fast food place, bar none. the chicken baja burrito is my personal favorite, but i've never had anything that wasn't delicous. it's the staple of my dining experience every time i visit southern california. not to be missed!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoTravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fashion Valley Rubios's top notch.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I ate at the Rubios at Fashion Valley Mall. I was so impressed I ate two more meals there.
I had never heard of fish tacos so tried two kinds initially and loved them. One meal I had soup, and a black bean salad. Delicious! Third meal I had an Orange, Chipolte, Shrimp salad. It was a great choice.
I was impressed even though it was a food court, servers were very courteous and freindly. One server even remembered I had been there previously.
As Canadian, I was impressed with how every item on the menu had a calorie rating so was able to gage myself accordingly. I wish I had decent mexican food up here. For sure I will be trying to experiment and create my own.
Also loved the salsa bar. Again wish I could find the pickled peppers and carrots here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rangerpippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Pretty Good and Good for you”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This place is known for the fish tacos, but personally I love the salads and street tacos. You can get carne asada, chicken or steak... all very yummy. So don't think that all you can get are fish tacos. Salsa bar is fantastic. Service is always very good. They usually have a special going so be sure to check it out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Locally grown company for fish tacos. There is the traditional batter fried fish and now salmon and ono non-fried varieties.
Always cooked fresh. May take a little bit longer but well worth the wait.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing