We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Taco Surf

Taco Surf
Ranked #186 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Maybe my expectations were too high considering all the great reviews I heard. I had fish tacos and they were nothing to write home about. They were decent but that's all I can say; I found them bland and I've had much better for the same price. I'd eat here again I guess but wouldn't be my first choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarolee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    55
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You just GOTTA go for breakfast”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed across the street from this place back in 2000 at a little hotel (I think it was called Sand and Sea) that isn't there anymore. BUT , every morning, my husband would walk across the street and get us the most DELICIOUS breakfast burritoes. He STILL talks about that place. We'll go back for sure, if we ever visit my sister in San DIego again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Best shrimp tacos you will ever have. There were 10 shrimp in the taco. They were about $3.75. The fish tacos were excellent as well. They also have breakfast. Great atmosphere. Surf videos play while you eat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pseudomonas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Delicious!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Not only was this place affordable but it was delicious. I came here for at least one meal every day during my trip

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sscimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay was hoping for better”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Read the tripadvisor reviews and was excited to visit. Big fish taco fan and am always looking for new places. Ordered the 2 taco special. Service was good and quick. Fish was tasteless but sauce and cabbage was excellent. Tortillas just okay. All in all a decent meal for the price but not the Fish Taco Mecca I was hoping for. Very inexpensive place and quick service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djhnsn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Surf also viewed

 

Been to Taco Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing