We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, awesome beer selection, meh service”
Review of Neighborhood

Neighborhood
Ranked #247 of 4,773 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, awesome beer selection, meh service”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Went here on a Sunday night for dinner while in town for a conference. The inside was quite full but there was an open table out on the sidewalk so we sat there. not sure if it was because we were outside, but the service was painful outside. Took almost 20 minutes just to get a menu, then another 20+ just to get our beers after our order. But, when they came, they were wonderful.

Beer selection can be overwhemling, so it's nice that they were willing to offer a sample before I ordered the most unique beer I've tried, the Ballast Point Indra Kunindra. Really interesting spiced beer. Couldn't drink more than 1, but I was glad I tried it.

For food, I ordered a taco platter with fries that came out pretty quickly and was really good. It wasn't a ton of food, but was perfect for having with a few heavier beers.

Overall this place left me wanting to come back, hoping that the service issues we experienced were a 1-off. This place was recommended by a couple different friends of mine as a great place to go, so I'd expect that's the case. Also, the server attempted to make things right by comping part of our meal for our inconvenience, without us asking for it, which was a nice gesture.

If I'm back in San Diego, I would definitely try again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yobiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    79
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food...”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is a good place for a craft beer and some unique entrees. The Animal is a superb open faced sandwich. Cobb salad fantastic! Burgers all good. Great beer list...a bit pricey. Whiskey their thing too, but didn't try. You'll have fun in the heart of downtown!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Escape the clubs!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Best beer selection (drinks too) and most knowledgeable staff of any bar we visited during our trip to San Diego in August. We preferred the atmosphere over any of the overpriced clubs in the Gaslamp Quarter as well. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gas Lamp district”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

There are a lot of restaurants, clubs and shops in this area. I've been there on the Halloween week-end. There was Bush party all night all over the street. Everybody were dressed for the party, the whole area looked like one big party. It was amazing! I loved the shops too, not very expensive, a lot of choice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elenpower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A Fun Place for a Late Night Meal”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Transport yourself to a small, hip cafe/bar/restaurant in the East Village in New York City and that is Neighborhood in San Diego. It feels a little bit out of place. Almost like it was imported to the downtown San Diego core to provide a little east coast raw hip to the environs.

The food is pub fare with a twist; but don't stop there. It is more than just burgers and sausage - there are some really great salads (our table had the house and endive salads) and fantastic string fries. They also have an amazing array of draught beers.

We arrived early on a Sunday evening and had to wait for a table - no more than 20-minutes. We sat at a communal table at the bar and had a couple of drinks and our first plate of fries. All the while we had a couple of staccato, but very interesting, conversations with folks sitting in close proximity - and, that may be the best part of the Neighborhood restaurant . . . the really interesting and eclectic patrons who eat at the establishment. So - go for the great food, amazing assortment of draught beers and the really interesting "people watching." It is worth it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neighborhood also viewed

 

Been to Neighborhood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing