We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $125.00
More Info
from $28.00
More Info
from $42.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
995
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
995
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup captain lynn san diego bay grinder racing yacht photos and videos entire crew friendly crew great afternoon bucket list spend an afternoon crew members once in a lifetime three hours an amazing experience shelter island coronado bridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

Thanks to the whole team! We had a great time, were very comfortable, and they made us feel right at home. Beautiful views from the boat, just enough of a thrill, and even got to take part in the sailing with everyone given the opportunity to steer the boat and help with the winches. And the fact that we didn’t have to worry about taking pictures because they had one of the crew taking photos the whole time, made it so easy and stress-free. Definitely worth the money and the time, highly recommend!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank melaniek972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Melanie for the positive and concise review! We enjoy sharing the "hands on" experience of sailing our retired America's Cup race boat with guests like you. We're also glad you enjoyed the complimentary photos & videos. Again, thank you for writing the review. Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

Couldn't have been better. What a great way to spend an afternoon. The crew was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The photographer, Bee, did a fantastic job. Not only was the sail fantastic, but it was a great way to see San Diego Bay. They pointed out so many of the interesting features along the way and provided pictures as well.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank JimK8222019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jim, Thank you for the nice review. We're now in our thirteenth year of business and still find sailing Stars & Stripes USA-11 exciting! With an eleven story high mast and nearly 4,000 square feet of sail area, we not only tower above average sailboats, but we're able to pass them at twice their speed. It's a great way to tour San Diego Bay. I'm glad you had fun! Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

If you know nothing about America's Cup, don't let that stop you from choosing this absolutely perfect half day adventure in San Diego. We were a party of 8, and just had a great time and learned a lot from people who are passionate about their boat and sport. The Stars and Stripes is immaculate, beautiful, comfortable and FAST! The captain and crew are amazing and freely share their knowledge about the history of the Cup, San Diego, the Bay, the Navy, etc. Best day of our trip, which included the Zoo, Embarcadero, La Jolla, Balboa Park....

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dawn, I'm so glad all of you had a great time sailing aboard Stars & Stripes! As you gathered, we feel so fortunate to be able to share the experience of Stars & Stripes which includes raising and trimming sails and of course taking the helm. We are also glad to share knowledge of the America's Cup history, so guests have an idea of the boat's historical significance. Sailing on San Diego's busy bay almost always offers plenty to see. Glad you had fun, and hope to see you again soon. And thank you for taking the time to write the great review! Gratefully, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

If you do only one thing in San Diego, go sail with the Stars and Stripes. The owners, Bee and Captain Lynn, and are so warm and welcoming. They are passionate about sailing and it shows with the experience that they provide and their ownership of the Stars and Stripes. The crew members are full of information about what you are seeing on the shorelines. But we were there for the experience of sailing on a racing yacht! It was a beautiful day and we sailed up the bay to downtown San Diego and back. We got to steer the boat which was amazing because the boat is so responsive! We cannot say enough positive things about this experience! We would do it again if we were staying in San Diego long enough. LOVED THIS EXPERIENCE! It was more than we expected and we were so delighted that we are still smiling the next day!!! Just AWESOME!! Thank you so much!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Deana, Thank you so much for the great review! And yes, all of us aboard Stars & Stripes USA 11 are still passionate about sailing this famous race boat. We've been doing this for nearly 13 years, and we never tire of sailing this majestic yacht. Eleven stories high with 4,000 square feet of sail area, we tower above average sailboats and smoothly pass them at twice their speed. Again thanks for the great review, I'll pass on your compliments to our crew. Hope to see you again soon! Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

What a sailor’s dream to sail aboard the magnificent Stars & Stripes America’s Cup yacht. Beautiful San Diego day, terrific professional and personable crew. Great complimentary photos and videos. Bee gave an very interesting talk on the history of the Cup as well as the boats. She also provided fascinating running commentary about the other boats on the bay as well as the history of San Doego Bay. All in all, a great afternoon. Well worth the cost. Suitable for adults anc children

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank JimReily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Jim, Thanks for the great review! As you gathered, we feel so fortunate to be able to share the experience of Stars & Stripes which includes raising and trimming sails and of course taking the helm. We are also glad to share knowledge of the America's Cup history, so guests have an idea of the boat's historical significance. Sailing on San Diego's busy bay almost always offers plenty to see. Glad you had fun. Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews