We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $125.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $42.00
More Info
from $59.99
More Info
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
960
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
960
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup captain lynn san diego bay grinder racing yacht entire crew friendly crew great boat great afternoon bucket list unique experience once in a lifetime three hours shelter island coronado bridge helm knots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 986 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2019

What a great team building event! The entire crew was fun, personable and engaging. Everyone got a chance to helm and work the grinders. Fun for the entire team. Thank you Stars & Stripes!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Coastal47569359854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Thanks so much for the positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your team building event, and I'll pass on your compliments to our crew. By the way, we’ve recently added IL Moro Di Venezia ITA 16, another 1992 America’s Cup racing sailboat to our business. Next time, if you'd like, we could match race our two America’s Cup boats against each other! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Gratefully, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Thanks Captain Lynn!
My second experience aboard of one of the most famous America’s Cup sailing boat in San Diego bay.
Very friendly crew to share a memorable time.
A must for sailors !

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Sylvainenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

It was great seeing you again! And we were so glad our crew member Pierre was able to join us, he enjoyed meeting and getting to know you.
Thank you for writing such a nice review, and thank you for letting us be part of your memories here in San Diego. As you gathered, we feel so fortunate to be able to share the experience of Stars & Stripes which includes raising and trimming sails and of course taking the helm. We look forward to you joining us a 3rd time on your next visit to San Diego. Gratefully, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

Wonderful afternoon on San Diego Bay. The accommodations on the boat are spartan, fitting for the previous America's Cup contestant.
The experience is participatory, so be prepared to help steer and grind, though the amount of participation is up to you.
On our trip, the conditions were not ideal (too much wind!), which led to some necessary adjustments. It was very interesting to watch the crew adjust and work together to fix any problems that arose - all in a very reasonable manner. I can easily see how sailing this boat would be a great team-building exercise.
All-in-all, a great way to see the sites around the Bay and a wonderful day on the water!

Date of experience: March 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank harrypeterw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you for the great review! You're right, guests actually become part of our crew by grinding pedestals to turn the winches and take a turn at the helm of Stars & Stripes USA-11. Or, one could just sit back and enjoy the sail! We feel very fortunate to have a capable and passionate crew that can handle Stars & Stripes, with its eleven story high mast and nearly 4,000 square feet of sail area. I'm so glad you had a great day on the water! Gratefully, Lynn Hanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

I have sailed with Stars & Stripes twice. Once was a private charter for my birthday - 17 of my friends & family set out for a few hours with the crew. The 2nd time was just 2 of us on a public sail. Each time was so memorable and FUN! Each person gets an opportunity to "drive" and participte in the tasks required for sailing. Each person that was on our private charter still talks about it (5 years later) - what a perfect and fun day it was. Each crew member is very personable and enjoyable. I HIGHLY recommened this to anyone looking for something fun to do in San Diego!

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Thank you Lynn for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We appreciate that you came out sailing with us a second time and once again had fun!. As you gathered, we feel so fortunate to be able to share the experience of Stars & Stripes which includes raising and trimming sails and of course taking the helm. We hope to see you a third time! Gratefully, Lynn Hanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Our trip was arranged by a friend as a precursor to a re-union of a Navy Submarine crew and it was fantastic. The crew was friendly, informative and super pleasant. They made sure everyone had an opportunity to share in the sailing experience and in the process Hanna took a lot of very good photos and then they were sent to us. The weather turned out beautiful and overall it was fabulous.

Date of experience: April 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lloyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Lloyd, The crew and I are still talking about the great time we had getting to know you and all of your Navy Submarine crew. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're glad you had a good time, and we hope next time you're planning a trip to San Diego you'll come sailing once again with us! Sincerely, Lynn Hanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews