We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $125.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $42.00
More Info
from $59.99
More Info
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
960
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
960
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup captain lynn san diego bay grinder racing yacht entire crew friendly crew great boat great afternoon bucket list unique experience once in a lifetime three hours shelter island coronado bridge helm knots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very unique opportunity, cool and historic experience, crew members were all engaging and helpful, friendly too. Our trip included pictures and video at no additional cost, you never see that. Fully interactive as much as you want to participate and you don’t really feel much in terms of motion, it cuts through nicely. Very happy and the crew made it even better, highly recommend.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank mapmaker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the nice review! I hope you will have a lasting memory of sailing Stars & Stripes USA-11. Our boat was built to be raced right here in San Diego, more specifically in our light to moderate winds. We feel fortunate to be able to share the hands on experience with guests like you! Again, thanks for taking the time to write the review. Gratefully, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful and awesome experience. The captain and crew are perfect: fun, salty and experienced. We also enjoyed the historical briefing beforehand - made us appreciate everything much more.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank kim32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the positive review! We're so glad you enjoyed sailing with us aboard Stars & Stripes USA-11. Next time you're in town, we hope you'll once again join us! Gratefully, Lynn Hanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

FANTASTIC experience put together by a dedicated crew on an amazing, sunny day on the San Diego bay. Experience a part of American history and have an opportunity to actively participate as a member of the crew. If you're in San Diego, this is an activity you ABSOLUTELY must put on your list.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank anilk506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so very much for the great review! I'm glad you had a wonderful time on our authentic America's Cup boat Stars & Stripes USA-11. Back in 1992, San Diego, Stars & Stripes was a new design for the America's Cup. Actually, the yacht was designed to be raced here in San Diego. Today, with San Diego's amazing weather, we are able to take guests out, like yourself, year round. Hope to see you again soon.
Gratefully, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed a great afternoon with Stars and Stripes and the crew. Started off with a history of the America's cup and US-11. The Owners enjoyed entertaining and they took lots of pictures. The guests were allowed time on the wheel and grinding the winches. The afternoon also included history and information of San Diego Bay. Great for team building and families but would not recommend for children younger than 7-8 years old as the boat does rock and heel. Great fun and a great memory. Will do it again if in the area. Bob - NC

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bob, thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review! As you gathered, we feel so fortunate to be able to share the experience of Stars & Stripes which includes raising and trimming sails and of course taking the helm. We are also glad to share knowledge of the America's Cup history, so guests have an idea of the boat's historical significance.Glad you had a great afternoon. Sincerely, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

What a great team building event! The entire crew was fun, personable and engaging. Everyone got a chance to helm and work the grinders. Fun for the entire team. Thank you Stars & Stripes!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Coastal47569359854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Thanks so much for the positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your team building event, and I'll pass on your compliments to our crew. By the way, we’ve recently added IL Moro Di Venezia ITA 16, another 1992 America’s Cup racing sailboat to our business. Next time, if you'd like, we could match race our two America’s Cup boats against each other! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Gratefully, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Thanks Captain Lynn!
My second experience aboard of one of the most famous America’s Cup sailing boat in San Diego bay.
Very friendly crew to share a memorable time.
A must for sailors !

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Sylvainenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

It was great seeing you again! And we were so glad our crew member Pierre was able to join us, he enjoyed meeting and getting to know you.
Thank you for writing such a nice review, and thank you for letting us be part of your memories here in San Diego. As you gathered, we feel so fortunate to be able to share the experience of Stars & Stripes which includes raising and trimming sails and of course taking the helm. We look forward to you joining us a 3rd time on your next visit to San Diego. Gratefully, Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews