We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Sail Stars & Stripes
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveler rating
1,043
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,043
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup captain lynn san diego bay grinder racing yacht photos and videos volunteer crew entire crew friendly crew great afternoon bucket list spend an afternoon awesome experience helm boat grinding winch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018

For a non-sailor this is a fun activity sailing around San Diego bay. One couple on my trip had sailed the previous day and came back for more. However, for a sailor this is a chance to sail a 20-year old light-wind Ferrari. We only had half-a-dozen customers so I got a long turn at the helm. After sailing downwind I had the helm to beat our way back to where we started. I got to sail it on the edge of pointing as high as I could while dealing with slightly variable and slightly shifting winds. I was making 10 knots while close hauled in a roughly 12-knot breeze. It doesn't get more fun for a sailor. You are at the helm of a 78-foot boat carrying 4000 square feet of sail. I passed some boats like they were standing still. I smile just remembering it.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank renbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

Wonderful experience. Very nice and knowledgeable team. They let everyone to take part, according to their wish and ability.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Yifat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

It was a pleasure having a fellow skipper join us for a sail aboard Stars & Stripes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018

A wonderful experience! If you get a chance to sail the Stars & Stripes.. do it! What a thrill to "grind" and be part of the team. It was so fun to sail FAST with an experienced crew dedicated to making your experience super special!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JaneSanDieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Went here with several guys from a retreat. Most from the Midwest. I sail sometimes and don’t enjoy it. This was great! Super views, boat was very stable and fast. Fun to steer (they let you). You get to grind and help out. The captain and owners and crew could not be nicer!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Thanks for the nice words and happy to hear even a non-sailor had fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Such a great day out on the water throughout San Diego Bay. And they put you to work (if you want to!) - grinding, steering the racing boat. The crew was so knowledgeable about all the surroundings in particular the military boats. Highly recommend for a family activity. Do bring layers. In April it was breezy and quite cool.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank VivaciousVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews