We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $45.00
More Info
from $94.00
More Info
from $102.65
More Info
from $21.00
More Info
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
914
20
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
20
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup captain lynn san diego bay grinder racing yacht photos and videos friendly crew great boat bucket list unique experience highlight of our trip three hours shelter island coronado bridge helm knots grinding
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 938 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2018

I took my brothers, niece and her boyfriend on the Stars and Stripes just before Christmas. Everyone thought it was just the best adventure. The history discussion of the America's Cup before the sail was very interesting. The sail was well organized and fun; everyone got to be at the helm. The photos, which are included in the price, were excellent. What a great day!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

We had the best time on this sailboat. The crew and weather was amazing. It was fun to steer and “grind” to control the sails. Free snacks and drinks. A must do if you visit San Diego.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Tigger3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

When I told my husband we could sail on Stars and Stripes he was so excited! It was my first time on any kind of sail boat and we both loved this trip. We had a beautiful afternoon for it, and there was a really nice balance between enjoying the bay and experiencing sailing. The crew were wonderful. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Djc005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

You can sit back or participate. Everyone had a turn or two driving the boat. We had 8 to 12 knots of wind and up to 13 knots boat speed. Fun! The boat is huge and very dry. It is close to original so it is meant to sail and you just sit in the cockpit. The owners, skipper and crew were very nice. They even provided complimentary pictures and videos after the sail. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

The sail was a birthday gift from my son who accompanied me on the outing. I found the captain and crew to be first rate and extremely friendly and knowledgeable, which contributed to making my sailing experience truly outstanding! The weather was perfect and the boat extremely comfortable during the three hour cruise. Everyone associated with the Stars & Stripes organization was very helpful in answering questions and making the ride so enjoyable. Being able to steer the boat was much easier than I expected, and with the captain and crews help a pleasant experience!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank cdwineland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews