We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $125.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $42.00
More Info
from $59.99
More Info
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
960
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
960
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup captain lynn san diego bay grinder racing yacht entire crew friendly crew great boat great afternoon bucket list unique experience once in a lifetime three hours shelter island coronado bridge helm knots
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 986 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Don't expect to be allowed to grind the winches if you are female. The men got to do it and a few of the women got a brief chance. I suppose the men have better money or something. It was a huge disappointment. I even asked a crew member when the women would get a turn and was told "later". I guess later hasn't happened yet. The only appeal of this was the promise that EVERYONE could be a part. If we had wanted to just ride around, we could have found a much cheaper boat.
As far as the promised snacks...they did pass around a large container of pretzels and a large container of peanuts. The drawback was that everyone was reaching into the same container. That's okay...I suppose...if you want everyone else's germs.
Women did get a chance to take the helm for a few minutes. Of course the men got to do that, also, when they weren't busy doing more fun things. I would rate this right up there with driving antique cars at an amusement park.
This could have been enjoyable if they had let everyone participate. Since they don't, I would recommend a much cheaper boat if you just want to ride around the harbor a bit.
The free photos were nice. That is really the only good thing about this. Ladies, don't waste your money! This was a huge disappointment. It has been a long time since I have experienced such blatant discrimination.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank mysticshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thanks for your review and we apologize for your experience. We will take your advice and make sure that everyone gets a fair chance to participate in the full experience of our venue in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017

I love the water but have alsways been intimidated by sailing so we weren't sure what to expect on our trip on the Stars and Stripes. It was AWESOME! We had 8 teenagers with us and the crew encouraged them to grind and participate, It was unbelievable. They start you out slower to get you used to the ship with some zig zag lines and then all of a sudden you are going 10-12 knots and the boat is at an incredible angle all while being very safe and having tons of fun.

You can tell by my use of non-sailing terms that I am a real novice, but this was an excellent trip and well worth the money. The experience of the actual sailing, seeing the harbor, the battleships, navy seals in training, helicopters, massive yachts, and sea lions all on a beautiful afternoon- there is nothing better.

The crew was fantastic and made us all feel so welcome. The 3 hours flew by. This is a great family activity to enjoy together.... really great stuff

PS- get there early so that you can learn some of the history. It's really interesting and the way Bee explains it keeps the attention of everyone!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank akigujit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

We had a day stopover in San Diego and were very keen to experience this. Unfortunately the times advertised did not fit in with us so after contacting them and explaining our situation they were more than happy to accomodate us and change the time. The owners and staff were amazing!! The experience of sailing on the harbour on the Stars & Stipes USA-11 was one of the best things we have ever done, awsome!!! Thank you sooo much Stars & Strips.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank CazMac_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

It is impossible to overstate how much we enjoyed our multi-generational family (ages 12 - 67) experience on the Stars and Stripes. San Diego Bay is the perfect place to sail - warm sun, cool breeze, beautiful setting with the SD skyline, sea lions, military bases, and historical ships as a backdrop. The captain and crew are smart, interesting, friendly and provide just the right amount of instruction and interaction while giving you the space to enjoy the ride. We loved being engaged in the sailing adventure - steering, grinding, hoisting the sails. The complimentary photos are spectacular. Thank you!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank JGBR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

The boat is beautiful and the crew friendly and enthusiastic. We tacked up and down the harbor making 10 knots in light wind with coaching and commentary from the skipper. The shore team were extraordinarily helpful, tracking us down from photographs to return binoculars we left.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Ned_June2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews