We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $27.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
San Diego Zoo
149 Reviews
from $54.00
More Info
from $21.00
More Info
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveler rating
953
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
953
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup san diego bay grinder racing yacht captain and crew great boat great afternoon bucket list unique experience once in a lifetime three hours shelter island coronado bridge lynn helm knots grinding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 979 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2017

I took my daughter in law's father and sister out for what I hoped would be a unique San Diego experience. Boy, did we hit the bulls eye! Great weather, great scenery, great company, and USA 11 is the fastest boat on the bay by far. Don't be afraid to drive or grind the winches because the captain and crew are excellent instructors. A really big plus is one of the crew will take lots of pictures of you and what's going on so you so you can concentrate on enjoying the action.The pictures are free and will be sent to your E-mail address. Allow the whole afternoon for this super fun event.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank surfd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

We appreciate your review and are happy to be able to provide one of the top things to do in San Diego. We hope you will come back again soon for another sail on beautiful San Diego Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Sailing on the Stars & Stripes USA 11 was an unforgettable experience and so much fun!! It began with a great presentation on the development of these boats up to this boat, an Americas Cup winner. Then it was time to sail around the San Diego Bay! The weather and the wind were perfect! It was amazing to watch the crew work together to raise and lower the sails and how knowledgeable they were of the sights seen. Lots of pictures were taken and everyone seemed to have a good time. This is definitely a worthwhile adventure!!!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank psmith2857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

We appreciate your review and are happy to provide a memorable sailing experience for your trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

This wasn't on our itinerary when we came to San Diego, but ended up being one of the highlights of our trip. Pleasant sail around the bay where everyone had a chance to steer the boat and grind the winches. Crew was friendly and informative. Learned a lot about America's Cup history, the boat, and how sails are made. Fun afternoon on a sunny day.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank GoodFoodAndTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thanks for your excellent review and are glad to hear you enjoyed our America's Cup sailing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Sailing the Stars and Stripes was a thrill! You get to experience the joy of sailing on an historical boat that goes fast but feels very stable and safe. Even if one is not an experienced sailor, this is the thing to do in San Diego! The crew was amazing, including Bee, who pointed out all of the interesting sites in the bay and gave a history of this marvelous vessel. This is joy ride you will not want to miss!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank LeighB295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to let future travelers know about our sailing experience and that is the thing to do in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

Sailing the Stars and Stripes is magical on many levels. You are sailing on a historical boat on a beautiful bay. Luckily our day was brightly sunny and we sailed by the Maritime Museum of San Diego, almost under the prow of the USS Midway, past the skyline of San Diego, and the US Navy fleet with dolphins and seals playing around us. Our hosts kept up a commentary on what we were seeing. I've sailed from small to large sailboats but the Stars and Stripes was not only the fastest but the most well-mannered and easy to sail. We each got a period to sail her ourselves. It was a totally delightful afternoon.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank RPWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Manager at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Thanks for such a great review and we always enjoy having sailors on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews