We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight Sporting Event of San Diego”

Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Sail Stars and Stripes America's Cup Racing Yacht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Public and private 3 hour sails aboard Stars & Stripes USA-11, the authentic 1992 America's Cup racing yacht sailed by Dennis Conner. Take the helm, grind the winches, or just hang on as this amazing high performance racer zips around San Diego Bay at twice the speed of the average sailboat. A truly unique and memorable experience. Soft drinks, water, peanuts, & pretzels are provided at no cost. You are welcome to bring your own camera, but a crew member will be taking complimentary photos & videos of all the action on board as well as the sights of San Diego Bay. After the sail, complimentary refreshments are served while viewing the days activities on our flat screen TV. The photos & videos will then be posted on Google Web Albums for free access and use. The total cost (no additional taxes or fees) of $125 for adults & $75 for children (5-18) is the best value and most exciting venue on San Diego Bay.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed February 1, 2017

This experience far surpassed my expectations and they were pretty high! Took my husband as a special treat as he is a sailor on the East Coast. We wanted something different than his usual experience in a J-22 sailboat and the opportunity to sail in an America's Cup Yacht was too hard to pass up. The entire tour is well organized and run from beginning to end thanks to owners Lynn and Bee who are so personable and accommodating. Is it more expensive than those other tours - yes. Is it worth twice the cost - yes. This is why - it's much more than a sail -it's an educational hands-on experience on a historic yacht!! Arrive 30 minutes early and owner Bee gives you an amazing presentation on the history of the America's Cup and Dennis Conner's background in San Diego and major contribution to the sport. She is a wealth of knowledge and her presentation was interesting for even "non sailors" like myself. Once you are underway on the boat - which is super spacious and comfortable - each person interested was allowed a turn at the wheel and other sailing tasks as often as they wished. Tour itself on water was about 2.5 hrs. and you had a fabulous view of gorgeous San Diego downtown, Coronado and Point Loma to enjoy from the water. Another bonus was that Bee took hundreds of photos of all of us while onboard and sent us a link - FREE!! - immediately after the tour. I would say this is appropriate for ages 7-80? You need to be comfortable getting onto a large sailboat and the movement it involves. Our group was age range 40-75? When we got back we had an impromptu cocktail hour in the office area while enjoying the recent photo show of us all! Lynn and Bee - great job and thanks for a wonderful day on the water and lifetime memory:)

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank bellgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain_Lynn, Owner at Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Thanks for such a fantastic review. You covered everything better than any advertisement we could have written. We hope you'll be able to come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"america's cup"
in 147 reviews
"captain lynn"
in 66 reviews
"san diego bay"
in 104 reviews
"grinder"
in 46 reviews
"racing yacht"
in 21 reviews
"photos and videos"
in 17 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 16 reviews
"great boat"
in 19 reviews
"bucket list"
in 29 reviews
"unique experience"
in 25 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 25 reviews
"three hours"
in 20 reviews
"shelter island"
in 15 reviews
"coronado bridge"
in 13 reviews
"sea lions"
in 11 reviews
"helm"
in 136 reviews
"knots"
in 54 reviews
Filter

103 - 107 of 937 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

We had a great time sailing. The owners, the crew were outstanding. So much fun!!!
Winds picked up, sailed through two races and a fishing tournament with out a hitch.
Great people and a great memory of our visit to San Diego

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Adventure274876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017

My first experience under sail and it was sensational, this is a must do if you are visiting San Diego weather a novice like me or an experienced sailor, its an amazing trip, with a lovely crew who took lots of time to explain everything and everyone got to help and take the helm.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank markI35EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

If you love sailing then you will love this, if you are merely interested then this is probably the single best opportunity in the world to have an intro to the world of yachting. You can participate in the crewing of the boat as much or as little as you like.

The owners and crew are knowledgeable about the Americas Cup, their boat, San Diego, the Navy; they instruct and encourage as necessary

Safety is fine, I have skippered more corporate days than I can remember and you have no worries in that are. If you are getting on a bit and not so agile any more then you should not worry - there is a spot just aft of the wheel which will suit you ideally.

Give it a go, you will love it.
C

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank muscleslindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Ever think you'd actually be on an America's Cup yacht, much less the famous Stars & Stripes? AND get to have your hands on the wheel and drive her? Yes, under guidance, but who cares! What a thrill. I was entranced, even hypnotized! What a birthday present form my wife! Lovely day, very friendly and helpful crew! Superb!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 also viewed

 

Been to Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing