We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Outing for the Family”

Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Sail Stars and Stripes America's Cup Racing Yacht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Public and private 3 hour sails aboard Stars & Stripes USA-11, the authentic 1992 America's Cup racing yacht sailed by Dennis Conner. Take the helm, grind the winches, or just hang on as this amazing high performance racer zips around San Diego Bay at twice the speed of the average sailboat. A truly unique and memorable experience. Soft drinks, water, peanuts, & pretzels are provided at no cost. You are welcome to bring your own camera, but a crew member will be taking complimentary photos & videos of all the action on board as well as the sights of San Diego Bay. After the sail, complimentary refreshments are served while viewing the days activities on our flat screen TV. The photos & videos will then be posted on Google Web Albums for free access and use. The total cost (no additional taxes or fees) of $125 for adults & $75 for children (5-18) is the best value and most exciting venue on San Diego Bay.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed June 16, 2016

We had one of the most memorable days that we have ever had as a family on board Bee and Lynn's "Stars & Stripes." From the moment we arrived, they had an exceptional seminar that outlines the history of racing sail boats and the incredible science behind the boats. Then, a crew of incredibly talented sailors takes you on board and continues the educational process. Everyone can participate (or just sit and relax ... it is up to you). They photograph the entire event and provide you with the images at no cost. It is the best 3 hour adventure. This is a great event for locals, for those traveling and for corporate parties. The entire outing is truly exceptional.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank robynhussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"america's cup"
in 147 reviews
"captain lynn"
in 66 reviews
"san diego bay"
in 104 reviews
"grinder"
in 46 reviews
"racing yacht"
in 21 reviews
"photos and videos"
in 17 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 16 reviews
"great boat"
in 19 reviews
"bucket list"
in 29 reviews
"unique experience"
in 25 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 25 reviews
"three hours"
in 20 reviews
"shelter island"
in 15 reviews
"coronado bridge"
in 13 reviews
"sea lions"
in 11 reviews
"helm"
in 136 reviews
"knots"
in 54 reviews
Filter

176 - 180 of 937 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2016

We booked online. Everything is very clear on their website. We arrived 30 minutes prior to departure. There is easy parking available. Before we sailed, we got a great history lesson of the America's cup from Bee. We set sail right on time. There were pretzels and peanuts for a snack and water, soda, wine and beer to drink. My kids were able to have as much as they wanted. Everyone in our family got a chance to take the helm and help out on the boat. You can also sit and enjoy whenever you want. Bee took tons of photos and I ended up not using my camera. After the sail you get to see all the photos back at the office and they e-mail you a link to get all of your photos. It was so awesome to be able to fully participate in the sail and not have to worry about missing any special photo moment because Bee got it for you. If were able to make it back to San Diego, we will definitely sail with them again.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank akjone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Having owned my own sail boat, this by far the best afternoon sailing excursion I have ever had. The crew treated you better than family, they treated like friends. :-) When you arrive at the office you were warmly greeted and given a very informative history lesson of the America's Cup and the history of the boat you are about to go out on.
My son was a little intimidated by the fact he may be asked to help to assist in crewing on the trip, but he wanted me to say that it was unfounded. The crew's supervision in assisting you was off the hook and made you feel very comfortable when you took part in crewing with them. I Highly Recommend this sailing trip to all.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank gearyxxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016

A day of sailing is always nice. A day on the actual Stars and Stripes is as good as it gets. Fantastic, attentive, learned crew helped make the experience so great. You can do as much or as little as you like while one of the crew will take very nice photos and videos (at no cost) for you. Very classy and most memorable. Thank you!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank markskidmore2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

My wife and daughter enjoyed our 3 hour sail in the bay immensely. The 30 minute preamble at the departure site was extremely informative and enhanced the whole experience. I can't say enough positive things about everyone we met that day especially the all volunteer crew. (Tips welcome).
If you have the time and resources, please avail yourself to this once in a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank vikingshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 also viewed

 

Been to Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing