We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $125.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
San Diego Zoo
160 Reviews
from $54.00
More Info
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveler rating
957
20
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
957
20
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup san diego bay grinder racing yacht captain and crew great boat great afternoon bucket list unique experience once in a lifetime three hours shelter island coronado bridge lynn helm knots grinding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 983 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

This was the best birthday gift my wife has given me in years. This is a gottadothis for all sailing addicts and wannabes.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank 924chipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

Really a nice take in. If you like sailing at all it's a must do Really friendly crew. Everyone sails, three hours fly by. San Diego harbor is the perfect venue for this

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank U5615HVstephenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

If you're a sailor (or not), this is a fun way to spend a few hours on beautiful San Diego Bay. So much going on out there. The crew sails this hot-rod boat with ease and lets us do as much or little as we want. They go where-ever the wind is and always try to go fast! Out to the ocean with it's big blue swells and then chasing (and passing) other fast sailboats in the bay, watching planes take off from North Island, subs at the Navy sub base, sea lions, surfers, etc, etc. All while cruising at 12.9 knots upwind in about that much breeze! And then, to top it all off they have a crew member just taking pictures and, in a really first class move, they post them on line for FREE. Nice! Oh, and I forgot, the very interesting (and intense) America's Cup history talk we got just before going out. Everyone so down to earth and helpful. And if you're a sailor, they instantly pick up on that and tailor your experience. I got to do a big 150 degree tack right at the rocky shore to put the boat in take-down position before going in. Fun to feel that big, fast boat spin on it's keel like a dinghy.

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank Mike-J-7B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

My wife and I went out for a beautiful, sunny Valentine's Day sail (mid-70's on Valentines Day!). The crew was great -- super friendly, very knowledgeable and made sure that everyone had a great time. The boat was very comfortable and, yes, very fast. This is a very unique and fun experience for anyone who loves sailing, the water or even if you've just seen or heard about the America's Cup and want to see what the boat is like first hand. Captain Lynn and the rest of the crew do a great job of talking about the history of the America's Cup, the Naval base and ships nearby, as well as teaching you a little about sailing as well. We had a decent breeze but the trip was smooth all the way. Everyone got a chance to steer and, if you want, to work the grinders and help with the tacking. It really is fun to steer as the boat is pretty responsive, keels over enough so you can feel it, and you get a really good sense of what it can do. Just as much fun to lean back, relax, and enjoy the ride, too! A great day! Thanks again to the whole crew!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank jr1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

The whole afternoon was amazing. I can't believe I actually steered this magnificent yacht across the harbour. The Captain and crew are so professional and do all they can to give you the chance of a lifetime.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews