We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $27.00
More Info
from $88.99
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
913
20
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
913
20
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews america's cup captain lynn san diego bay grinder racing yacht photos and videos friendly crew great boat bucket list unique experience highlight of our trip three hours shelter island coronado bridge sea lions helm knots
Filter
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 937 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

No better way to spend an afternoon in San Diego than cruising around the bay in this racing machine. Gracious hosts Lynn, Bev and crew made sure everyone on board had an opportunity to grind the winches and take a turn at the helm if they wanted.

Date of experience: October 2011
Thank RipFritzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We sail regularly in San Diego Bay and for years have seen the Stars & Stripes in the bay. We finally decided to book seats on it. It was one of the most fun things we've done. I can't praise the captain and co-owner, Lynn and Mark, or their fantastic volunteer crew enough. The boat is really well maintained and sails beautifully. Lynn encourages passengers to help out, both driving and grinding, and everyone gets into the fun. The crew are great--friendly, warm, competent, and helpful. Lynn's attitude is great, and he's a pleasure to deal with. The whole operation is professional but very relaxed. This is a great ship, great owners, and great crew. We'll definitely do this again,

Date of experience: October 2011
2  Thank ZenTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Something most of us don't get to do ..... go sailing on an America's Cup racing yacht. Blasting down the San Diego harbor on a picture perfect afternoon; bright sunshine, burning blue sky, wind out of the west at 15 knots. When the sails go up and the boat starts to heal over a bit, you know that you are in for an awesome afternoon!! The crew is great; you can help or just relax. Totally recommend it!!

Date of experience: October 2011
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is my second sail on an Americas cup boat and by far the most fun. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2011
Thank Thanos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Awesome sailing Sat! People on boats we passed (and on shore) were taking pics of us - and waiving! Felt like being on a red carpet. This pristine yacht has an incredible history and a really fun crew. The trip is well worth it - whether you are an avid sailor or have never sailed at all. The crew and captain adapt nicely to your expectations. You can take the helm, help with grinding or just sit and relax on the water. (And no worries about the boom when tacking - a unique boom-vang keeps it over head.) There is easy parking and dock access. Check out their web site.

John M

Date of experience: October 2011
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews