We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true sailing experience”

Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Sail Stars and Stripes America's Cup Racing Yacht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Public and private 3 hour sails aboard Stars & Stripes USA-11, the authentic 1992 America's Cup racing yacht sailed by Dennis Conner. Take the helm, grind the winches, or just hang on as this amazing high performance racer zips around San Diego Bay at twice the speed of the average sailboat. A truly unique and memorable experience. Soft drinks, water, peanuts, & pretzels are provided at no cost. You are welcome to bring your own camera, but a crew member will be taking complimentary photos & videos of all the action on board as well as the sights of San Diego Bay. After the sail, complimentary refreshments are served while viewing the days activities on our flat screen TV. The photos & videos will then be posted on Google Web Albums for free access and use. The total cost (no additional taxes or fees) of $125 for adults & $75 for children (5-18) is the best value and most exciting venue on San Diego Bay.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is what bucket list's are made of. Sailing at it's finest on a perfect sunny day with just the right amount of wind in San Diego Bay. Beautifully maintained sailboat by a professional and personal crew. They even let me sail It !

Date of experience: June 2011
Thank mauibali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"america's cup"
in 147 reviews
"captain lynn"
in 66 reviews
"san diego bay"
in 104 reviews
"grinder"
in 46 reviews
"racing yacht"
in 21 reviews
"photos and videos"
in 17 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 16 reviews
"great boat"
in 19 reviews
"bucket list"
in 29 reviews
"unique experience"
in 25 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 25 reviews
"three hours"
in 20 reviews
"shelter island"
in 15 reviews
"coronado bridge"
in 13 reviews
"helm"
in 136 reviews
"knots"
in 54 reviews
"grinding"
in 70 reviews
Filter

767 - 771 of 937 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

I decided to take the splurge after reading all the great reviews. I thought if the trip could be half as great as all the reviews it would be worth it, was I wrong. It was better than all the reviews. and more than we could have imagined. I am 51 and had never sailed before and neither had any of my children, ages 25,23,and 19.
We ALL and I mean ALL could not stop smiling and saying this will be a day that will always be remembered. The boat is super clean, the staff treat you like royalty. The views, the snacks, drinks, and the trivia history on everything we saw was beyond top notch. I also need to add that I sent the captain an email at 10:00pm asking if by chance he had an opening for the next day. I told him to call asap so we could make other plans. Much to my surprise he called me within 10 minutes and said he wasn't planning on going out tom. I understood and he asked if we could go the following day. Unfortunately I told him we were leaving and could not. He told me to give him some time to see if he could round up a crew. 15 minutes later he called and said we were own for one the next day. A couple of minutes later I was reading a detail emailed with directions etc. This boat is huge and takes at least 7 to operate. The crew went out of their way to explain everything and we all had fun helping. The crew are all professionals that LOVE sailing. My youngest boy,19, told the captain anytime (early or not) he needed an extra gopher or scrubber to call him and he would do just about anything for a chance to ride again.He lives in Pacific Beach. Again this is a teenager willing to wake up early and work for free, scrubbing decks, just for a chance to sail again-this should say it all.
This is one thing you need to do. I am a public school teacher and have a tight budget and this was splurge, hence the 10 pm email .I had spent three hours reading every review I could find on the boat. It was worth 3x the price and the many memories are priceless. Just do it! We bounded together as a family. This is great for people of all ages. Don't worry about getting seasick it is so smooth sailing. The only thing that would have made it better was being able to stay and do it again.

Date of experience: June 2011
1  Thank pecanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I had a great time on the Stars and Stripes USA-11. The sail was very relaxing, even when we were going 11knots. We saw the beautiful city of San Diego and sailed under the Coronado Bridge. We all had a chance at the helm and the skipper was very patient with us. After the three hour sail we watched pics and videos of the trip with a drink in hand and smiles on our faces. Thank you Lynn and crew!!!

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank laura_larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I just had the most extraordinary sailing experience among Stars & Stripes USA11 for Memorial Day Weekend '11. Lynn Hanna, Captain, is such a kind, sweet gentleman who let everyone practice in helming the boat & a native of Bastrop, TX! If you're wanting to learn sailing & actually help out the crew, than this is the experience for you! The crew that I met, Marnie & Mario were absolutely polite & courteous & happy to have you on board! As a beginner sailor, this experience has taught me simple sailing basics & techniques. If you're used to driving w/the tiller like me, this would be great for you because Lynn will let you practice on steering the helm & preparing to tack when changing your course of direction! I have a passion for the water, and this experience exceeded all my expectations & more. Thank all of you guys among Stars & Stripes USA11 for the highlight of my first San Diego trip!!

~Noelle A. Muñoz

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank Noelle1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The three hours on the Stars and Stripes in San Diego bay is a wonderful experience even for those who have never been on a sailing vessel. The boat is stable and safe and well crewed. The volunteer crew members explain what and why things are done to make the boat go through the many tacks and jibes. The passengers get a chance to participate, in grinding the winches and steering the boat. In addition, the knowledgable crew describe points of interest and features of the bay and the shore line. For the price and the length of the cruise it is indeed the best bargain on the bay.

Date of experience: May 2011
1  Thank Saxman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11 also viewed

 

Been to Sail Stars & Stripes USA-11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing