We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great History”

Old Town San Diego State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.95*
and up
San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley
Ranked #23 of 426 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Historic site in downtown San Diego that recreates life in the Mexican and early American periods of 1821 to 1872.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Most enjoyed going through the old historical buildings and getting a sense of the origin of San Diego. There is too much tourist/commercial type activities mixed in with the old structures, but if you ignore them it makes the visit extremely worthwhile. It is easy to spenf 3 hours or more just absorbing the history contained in Old Town San Diego.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drichabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,857
    1,480
    520
    101
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good place to discovery and history lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

First time I visited this place... have many historic buildings to exploring ....Very nice Victorian Home located @ Pioneer Heritage Park :-)..Good for the whole Family and friends to enjoy outdoor and can learn something about San Diego in the Past and don't forget to check out Mormon Battalion Museum..you can have picture taken back to 1842 pioneer time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fun history lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We took the trolley tour (fee involved) through Old Town as well as walking through and really enjoyed learning some San Diego history. Also enjoyed exploring the historic buildings. We stayed in Old Town for dinner as well as there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaJa903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Educational and Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our family enjoys visiting Old Town on our annual trip to San Diego. The children love exploring the historic buildings! This year we visited the Seeley Stable Museum, La Casa De Estudillo, the First San Diego Courthouse, and the Commercial Restaurant. The costumed interpreters at some of the sites were very informative and helped us to understand about Mexico becoming independent of Spain and then about the US-Mexican war in 1842. The Seeley Stable Museum is full of carriages and wagons and other interesting artifacts from the Old West. I highly recommend a visit! Make sure to check the hours of when the buildings are open to visit before you go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“You Will Have Fun Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit Old Town during our 3 day visit to San Diego. We had a rental car and found it easy to get to from the Marina/Airport area of the city which is about 15 - 20 minutes away. On a Friday morning we had no trouble finding street parking about a block off the main street passing through town (near the Mormon Brigade Exhibit).

After parking the car we walked across the street to the Victorian homes that were saved from the wrecking ball and restored to their former condition by the Historical Society. There are videos and self guided tours in this section of Old Town.

As I mentioned, there is an attraction called the Mormon Brigade Building which is worth a visit. I didn't know that Mormons who in the 1800's were living in Ohio that were asked by the President to volunteer to fight in the Mexican American War. It is the story of their travel to California to secure the territory for the US. The guides are dressed in period costumes and take you on a 15 minute journey with a free picture of you in the brigade at the end. You also get a chance to pan for gold.

Down the street on the right is the center of Old Town. It is filled with small shops, cantinas, etc.. A visit to the stage coach exhibit located in the stable was really interesting and worth a see.

The Coyote Grill was recommended to us for good Mexican food at reasonable prices. It did not disappoint. The burritos and tacos were some of the best I've had. It's located on the far end of the main street. They even have a sidewalk take out where the tacos are made in front of you.


All in all a great way to spend 3 - 4 hrs. on your visit to San Diego.



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town San Diego State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Town San Diego State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing