We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character!”

Old Town San Diego State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.95*
and up
San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley
More Info
$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
More Info
$77.98*
and up
San Diego and Tijuana Combo Tour with Optional Harbor Cruise
Ranked #23 of 438 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Historic site in downtown San Diego that recreates life in the Mexican and early American periods of 1821 to 1872.
Spain ...... but Scottish
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Full of character!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Many interesting historical buildings, shops, restaurants & bars.
Loved the Wells Fargo museum. Mostly mexican restaurants. Lovely to walk around and soak up the atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,026
    1,587
    561
    110
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ham Lake
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“California Adventure”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Take time and step back in time to relax and learn about the beginnings of San Diego by visiting Old Town. My husband and I enjoy San Diego so much. Each time we visit, we always stop at Old Town. I love the watercolor paintings, Reyes outdoor cafe, musicians, historical buildings, tours, shops Shops, SHOPS!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FollysJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great with the family”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Good place to see some old buildings and antiques. Plenty of restaurants and stores to check out. Musicians and artists in different areas. I would definitively go check it out again, specially if its not too hot outside.

Helpful?
Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic and historical.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A great way to spend a few hours or a whole day. Lots to see do in the free or inexpensive museums and attractions. Good choice of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wingman_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to start your exploring”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our family arrived Saturday afternoon and wanted somewhere to walk around after a 6 hour plane ride. Old Town San Diego was the perfect location. We enjoyed getting an opportunity to see and learn about the history of San Diego. The children enjoyed the "hands on" exhibits which were spread around the park. After leaving the State Park we enjoyed Cafe Coyote just outside the Park area. It was a fun way to start our vacation and end our first day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nanasp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town San Diego State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Town San Diego State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing